We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE!!!! Don't let the views fool you!”
Review of Windjammer Suites

Windjammer Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Windjammer Suites
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!!!! Don't let the views fool you!”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Where do I start??? Check in time is 11:00 and we were not able to check in until 11:30 because our room was still occupied so we wasted half a day driving back and forth to see if our room was ready yet. As soon as you walk in the office you can tell it is old and dirty. Our room was on the 2nd floor which can only be accessed by the back of the building which you cannot park in the back sooo you have to lug all of your suitcases up the stairs and across the back of the building. No elevators. The room was spacious but it was old, smelled musty, and looked it hadn't been touched since the 1960's. All furniture was mismatched, table was an old wood table with 4 metal folding chairs, the couch was so nasty with stains from who knows what we had to put the extra comforter from the closet over it so we could sit on it. The kitchen is not "furnished". It had 2 tiny skillets which we had to call the front desk to replace because I wouldn't have fed my dog out of them, a pack of paper plates & a few pieces of miss matched silverware, a luke warm refrigerator, and 2 cups. Appliance were the yellow ones from the 60's with yellow torn linoleum to match. We bought some carpet freshner for the carpet and a candle because the smell was so musty I lost my appetite to even eat. Just when I thought it could get no worse something told me before I laid down to look at my pillows. The pillows had no cover on them and they were all yellow and stained from so many people slobbing all over them and never being changed. I thought I was going to throw up. Needless to say, we woke the owners @ 12:30am and demanded new pillows and told them we would be cancelling our week stay and would be checking out the next morning. They gave us some new pillows and we slept on top of the covers because after seeing the pillows I do not want to know what was on the mattresses. We woke up early the next day and went looking for a different place to stay. Thank god we found one and it wasn't cheap but I was not going to spend another night in that rat hole. The owners should be ashamed of themselves even advertising that place. Health Dept. needs to shut them down and it needs to be condemned. Do not let the views fool you! Keep driving!

Room Tip: There is no good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 55Renee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
1
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Good location to all Homer has to offer. Nice view from the second floor window suites. Full kitchen with separate bedroom. Slightly worn, but good value at $110 a night considering other places with less features, further out of town started at $130. Comfy bed and new carpets made me happy. Private balcony on upstairs suites. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room 20, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4squaretires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The hotel sits on a hill all the rooms have oceanview and the best view is from upstairs rooms.
The rooms are a little older and used but very clean and comfortable.
The view compensates for the older looking rooms.
I stay here for long term like a month or longer when i am working on my boat it really works out well for that type of lodging...

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have a very good view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaskan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2006

I stayed at the Windjammer Suites on the night of Sept 11th. I had planned to stay at the Ocean Shores, but they were fully booked for the night. Hadn/t expected that so I pulled in to the Windjammer. This would be a good place for a family or a small group traveling together. Was too much space for me, but was very clean and had a nice view of the bay.

  • Liked — View of the bay
  • Disliked — Difficulty in climbing to room on second floor
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank suitcase_packed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2006

This motel is billed as reasonably priced, and it was. It's an older property (although no motels in Alaska are really OLD). The kitchen was dated, and not very well equipped.

The suite had lots of room for our family of four to spread out. There was a separate bedroom with a comfortable bed, bathroom with tub/shower, and the rest of the suite was one large room. There was also a balcony with a nice view of Kachemak Bay (see picture) although it was several blocks from the water.

Coin-op laundry on-site was handy. Walking distance to a couple coffee places and the Pratt Museum, plus some art galleries. We drove to restaurants and grocery stores.

Helpful?
9 Thank meginoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.2 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.3 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Suites

Property: Windjammer Suites
Address: 320 W Pioneer Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7528
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Windjammer Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Windjammer Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Suites Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing