We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing solace in Homer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Beautiful views of Kachemak Bay and mountains... rooms were dead quiet. Breakfast was locally owned bakery fresh. Literally around the corner from the Spit. Lori is a wonderfully friendly and engaging host. Will definitely recommend to friends!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Warmth, hospitability, cleanliness and lots more qualities, all rated in the superlative.
Human nature at its best, surrounded by Alaska nature on all sides. Fantastic views.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ilan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We spent two nights here and they home was just beautiful. It was kind of them to let us use the washer/dryer for just $5.00. It saved us from going to the laundry mat. Breakfast was great and even though Laurie had been having back issues, she still made sure everything was running smooth....The only negative things I can say about this place was that you could hear everything that was going on in the rooms around you. Felt bad because my husband is a horrible snorer. Also, the bed was really uncomfortable. We never could figure out why so maybe it was just us. But the view made the two minor complaints mean nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank redberry59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

What a wonderful place. We stayed in 5 different B&Bs in Alaska ant this was the best. Nicest people. Great location with great views. Great breakfast with very nice people. Laurie is so helpful and friendly. Don't stay anywhere else in Homer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CobblerRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We booked the suite. It was wonderfull. Lori was very nice and helpfull. We loved staying here and we loved the bear excursion with K-bay air.

Pos.
- location
- cleanliness
- quiet, private room and house
- hottub
- parking

Neg.
- none

Room Tip: Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We went to Homer, Alaska for our destination wedding. It was FABULOUS, thanks in no small part to Lori at the Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast. The main house and other houses on the property are lovely, quiet, and clean. Our room was perfect, and very comfortable. Lori makes a delicious breakfast, and is a wonderful hostess. The views are beautiful of the spit and the bay, and Lori always has great ideas if you're looking to get out in Homer and explore. If you just want to stay in and chat, Lori has some great stories, too.

She went above and beyond what I ever expected, from accepting packages from my mom and I early in the week before we arrived, to arranging a small, delicious post-wedding brunch for guests staying with her, and some who stayed in other inns. Lori helped with all the small details of the day, like pressing my dress, and was a calming presence in the hectic few days before the wedding. She was always excited to see us and hear about our day, and I am so glad that we got to share this important time with someone who felt from the first like a friend, and who now IS.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spunkytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Lori Mikols hosted our family and friends in July 2010 while we were in Homer for the wedding of our daughter.

She welcomed us into her Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast, as if we were family, for several days before and after the wedding weekend.

The accommodations were wonderful, but even more important, was how Lori went above and beyond the call of duty in making sure our time in Homer was everything and more than we had hoped for.

Our family and guests gathered every morning in her kitchen/great room and shared delicious, homemade breakfasts with all the fixings (prepared by our hostess) and great conversation, as we mingled with other guests from around the world. In the evenings we gathered for last-minute wedding planning and winding down before bed.
Lori went the extra mile and prepared a lovely brunch the morning after the wedding for all to enjoy.

She not only shared her home with us, but saw to it that our every need was met, including information about the Homer area (and Alaska in general). She even saw to it that we had a clothes steamer for the wedding dress when the dry cleaners fell through at the last minute.

Lori's "participation" in our wedding began long before we actually arrived in Homer because we had been seeking out her help/advice from the day we booked our reservations many months before. She was always willing to help!

The B & B, scenery and surrounding area were beautiful and Lori was a delightful, knowledgeable hostess. We are so glad we chose the Bay Avenue for our Alaskan wedding celebration/vacation and hope to return someday soon. We truly were sad to leave!

THANKS LORI FOR SHARING YOUR LIFE AND HOME WITH US!

Steve and Theresa and the Fam

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tgwchicklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.2 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Crane's Rest B&B
Crane's Rest B&B
#1 of 40 in Homer
126 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
4.1 mi away
Juneberry Lodge
Juneberry Lodge
#5 of 40 in Homer
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1393 Bay Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: £141 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Avenue Bed And Breakfast Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing