We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brigitte's was a bit of heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 41 Homer B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
State College, PA
1 review
“Brigitte's was a bit of heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stayed with Brigette and Willie for six days in July 09. The cabin that we stayed in was lovingly built and decorated. It was comfortable and spotless. The property is surrounded by beautiful gardens and has a breathtaking view of a blue glacier and the Homer Spit. Breakfast was always a treat with everything homemade, smoked Salmon, that Willie, smokes in a smokehouse on their property, homemade breads and jams, delicious eggs from their very own chickens. Willie and Bridgette were excellent hosts with interesting conversation, stories to tell, and local information. they made us feel very much at home without being at all intrusive. One of my very favorite B&B's.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morereading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmer, AK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Nestled atop the beautiful Homer hillside is this great getaway for a overnight or weekly stay, for business or pleasure. My friend and I had a wonderful time. The cabin was clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities one would want with a country atmosphere. The view was to 'die for", with sweeping views of mountain and ocean. One could relax on the front porch with total privacy, reading a book, or just breathing in the fresh mountain air. The daily breakfast was served with that personal homemade touch, with all our favorites kept in mind. We highly recommend Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast as a top destination when visiting Homer, Alaska.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kodiaksgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oak park, il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

I stayed one night here with my brother. We were on a whirlwind trip of Alaska. It was a rainy day but as we came around the bend and saw the mountains and water of Homer, I was sold. This place was magical. As we climbed the road to BBBB, we looked back over the spit of Homer and the twinlkling lights of the boats. Our room was perfect for my brother and me. There was one bed and then another one around the corner and up a step. I felt like i was in a treehouse, the room was spotless and the beds very comfortable, nice big bathroom. breakfast was a yummy feast. i am returning with my fiancee and another couple next year and will spend all of my time in Homer. i really loved the little I saw. We had a great dinner at cafe cups, and the town had a funky artsy feel. Stay here, you'll love it!!!!

Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 4estflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

Certainly off the beaten path. Just start up the hill and continue until the road ends! But worth the trip. Like staying on a small farm with warm inviting hosts. Our granddaughter (10) enjoyed gathering eggs, the friendly cats, incubated chicks and the moose family she encountered on the property. Willi provided not only scrumptious breakfasts but engaging conversation. Brigitte was charming and helpful. After the drive up the hill and seeing the rustic appearance, I was a little taken back. But, Willi pitched in with the luggage, showed us a room with a view(!) and offered a warm Swiss welcome. We were sold. Would love to return. Will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EarlBastrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

Of all the places we could have chosen to stay at in Homer, Alaska we were lucky to have picked Brigtte's Bavarian B&B. From the time we made our reservations till we checked out we could not have dealt with nicer people. The room was clean, large and with a huge bathroom. All the buildings and furniture were made by the owners Brigitte and Willie. Since Homer is the halibut capital of Alaska we had to get our share and when it was brought back to the B&B they were only too glad to prepare it for us 3 different ways. The true test is when we ask ourselves after our stay - would we go back? The answer is a resounding YES. The same was felt by friends we recommended stay there 2 months later.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halibutman424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Even though we are from Hawaii, we decided back in May 1997 to get married in Ninilchik and found Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast. If we hadn't already made other arrangements, we would have spent our entire honeymoon there. It was wonderful and the hosts so incredibly friendly and interesting. For our wedding night, we got a knock on the door and one of their twins delivering flowers and homemade wine. The surroundings were beautiful and clean. Willie and Brigitte even showed us how to shuck and clean all the razor clams we collected clam digging in Ninilchik. The restaurants were incredible in Homer. Plus our hosts' breakfasts were delicious and accompanied with lively conversation with this very interesting European couple. There was even a mother moose with twins who came to feed right outside their fence. We have some incredible photos but they were taken before we got a digital camera.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aokic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Brigitte and Willie were wonderful hosts. They have three rooms, one in the main house and two in a separate building. We were in the separate building, which overlooks Homer. They built the place themselves. Brigitte has a beautiful garden as well. The room was warm and cozy, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. They were wonderful hosts - recommended places to eat, had a nice conversation, and a wonderful breakfast of smoked salmon (Willie smokes himself) and fruit one day and waffles with raspberry compote and whipped cream the second day. They had baby chickens in the kitchen that had hatched and were getting ready to put in their outdoor chicken coop. We only stayed two nights, but wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxBoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
4.1 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
3.6 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.4 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Juneberry Lodge
Juneberry Lodge
#5 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Spyglass Inn B&B
The Spyglass Inn B&B
#11 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast
Address: P O Box 2391, Homer, AK 99603-2391
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brigitte's overlooks Kachemak Bay, the Kenai mountains and their glaciers. It is quiet here, at the end of the road. All rooms have a nice view from outside and within, private entry/porch and bath. Each contains a queen size bed and a twin. Books on Alaska are in each and there a fossils from the area. Walkways lead into the gardens. Hiking trails start from right outside the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brigitte's Bavarian Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brigitte's Bavarian Bed And Breakfast Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing