We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing Experience!!!Two thumbs up!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Ranked #4 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing Experience!!!Two thumbs up!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I took my family for a 8 day trip to Alaska and we stayed at Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn. It turned out to be the best travel experience of our life.

From the moment we walked into the house, we were amazed by this carefully decorated house with all-season indoor plants; beautiful flooring; breath-taking view to the snowy mountains, homer spit harbor, the ocean…etc. The house is perfectly situated on a hill facing the homer bay; it’s one of the largest houses in the area with almost 6000 SQ of living space; and it has large deck all around the house with different elevations and different views, there’re chairs everywhere on the deck for the guests to sit down and relax; the large lawn area in the yard provide perfects place for relaxation, my kids had a lot of fun jumping up and down there; all different kids of flowers and plants surround the house.

The bedrooms are very very clean and perfectly decorated; the beds are so conformable that it’s hard for us to get out the bed in the morning. Sitting by the fireplace, watching the Alaska travel attraction DVD, listening to the soft music, looking out of the window to the beautiful view and enjoying the best breakfast in town; it makes you feel like in heaven. When I say it’s the best breakfast in town, I really mean it: fresh fruit, coffee, waffle, halibut tartar, sausage…etc. the list goes on and on; and everyday they serve something different, which always turned out to be a pleasant surprise to the guest. The hosts are so friendly that they make you feel like you’re part of the family throughout the stay. Even the dog Jalar is one of the most beautiful and friendly dog that I’ve even seen.

The entire staying experience is 5 star. I would recommend Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn to anyone at any time. This will be your best choice for staying if you ever go to Homer, Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    13
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
104
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hosts of Halcyon Heights, Juxia and Stephen, were gracious and accomodating. They are very knowledgable about Homer and Alaska and were eager to share their advice, which was beneficial to us during our stay there and allowed us to make the most of our Alaska vacation experience. Halcyon Heights has very spacious accomodations (ours was like a small apartment) and the rooms were immaculate. The breakfasts were delicious and each morning featured a different entree. The setting of Halcyon Heights is very peaceful and relaxing, and the view from the property is absolutely gorgeous! I highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Steve and his wife, Juxia, were warm and helpful owners. The property was away from the hustle and bustle of Homer, but you could get into town very quickly. The property had a nice view of the mountains and Homer Spit. Our room was clean, spacious and had a good size bathroom. Breakfast was very good. Every morning Juxia would make home baked goods, and flavorful egg dishes or french toast. One member of our party had numerous food allergies, and Juxia made sure there was plenty of things for her to eat. Steve was very knowledgeable about the area and the restaurants,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

The drive up to Mission Road provides a beautiful view of the mountains and the Homer area. It introduced an excellent stay at Halcyon Heights B & B. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and well decorated. The window coverings made it possible to get a good night's sleep in the land of the midnight sun. Breakfasts were excellent. Juxia and Steve are driven to assure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. They really went out of their way to help. They provided many excellent recommendations for meals and activities. We stayed for 5 nights at Halcyon Heights and can give it our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCGCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

The drive up to Halcyon Heights is a trip in itself... but once you turn onto Mission Road - the view is breathtaking! Overlooking the 'Spit' in Homer and the Glacier across the bay... we LOVED it! Our room was private and very comfortable and our hosts were so accomodating, the food was amazing - every morning was something different. Their information about the area and where to go to see what we wanted was superb! The view from the hot tub is amazing and so relaxing! Thanks again for our amazing trip!

Room Tip: book early! we had a private entrance (basically an apartment) with our own bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffanddee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Our suite was incredible. Every detail of decor was perfect. The owners made us feel like family and were eager to help make our time in Homer wonderful. The accommodations were above and beyond anything we could have imagined. The pictures we saw on line gave us the general idea, but actually being there and enjoying every perfect touch was even more special. The view from our room and from other parts of the house was spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, AZ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

My wife, son, and I stayed 2 nights June 19-20 at this unique and comfortable B&B. Juxia and Stephen are wonderful hosts. Stephen is a wealth of knowledge about the Homer area and loves to share with you things to do and see & if you stay here don't go without seeing Stephen's video on the Wrangell-St. Elias National Park--we really enjoyed it! Juxia and her nephew Mike prepared a delicious breakfast both days--baked french toast the first day & an egg casserole dish the 2nd, along with fruit, coffee, tea. We found the food yummy. The only suggestion would be to offer a little larger breakfast--as it was on the lighter side. Nonetheless, we enjoyed our stay in the Quarterdeck room. The bath area was wonderful with a tiled walk-in double shower and dressing area. Also, Juxia will help you with booking other travel needs throughout Alaska! She save us over $80 on a rental car at the Anchorage Airport. Before you make all your plans, be sure to check wih Juxia. We felt welcome in their home & hope to return some day. Homer is a very beautiful & interesting part of Alaska not everyone thinks about going to see. The salmon and halibut is to die for at Captain Pattie's on the Home Spit also!! Juxia and Stephen will make sure you enjoy your stay. We certainly did!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
2.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#5 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn

Property: Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Address: 1200 Mission Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on East Hill in Homer, Alaska, only 6 minutes to downtown, this proud Alaska Bed and Breakfast/Inn will thrill you with its spectacular views of the famous Homer Spit & Kachemak Bay, the Grewingk Glacier & the Kenai Mountains, Homer itself, and more! If you've never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast lodging before, Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn is the place to start. Recommended by National Geographic Adventures, Best Places Alaska, Moon. Close to Wynn Nature Center and winter ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing