We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight in Homer, AK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Ranked #4 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight in Homer, AK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

As new residents to Anchorage, my husband and I decided to make our first long weekend trip to Homer in September. We were delighted with our stay at the Halcyon Heights B&B. We stayed two nights and were blown away not only by our host's knowledge of the area and ability to hone in on places we would be interested in, but also by going the extra mile to make arrangements for us at local restaurants and water taxi's without our even having to ask! Upon our arrival, Juxia immediately made us feel entirely at home. The beautiful plants in the main part of the house were especially notable, the view overlooking the Spit was incredible, and our room was extremely comfortable and immaculate. We especially appreciated being able to relax after a day's hike in a room where we could read with excellent lighting, something we often find lacking when we travel. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our breakfasts were delicious and plentiful, and Juxia worked our dietary preferences into the menu. Halcyon Heights B&B is just a few minutes from downtown, and we were very glad to be in a quiet section of town. All in all, we highly recommend Halcyon for anyone looking for a wonderful experience in Homer.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    13
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
104
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at Halcyon Heights for 3 nights near the end of the tourist season in September. Juxia was the most helpful host we have ever met. She spoke with us numerous times via phone in the months preceding our trip and helped us arrange a bear watching trip. She advised us to schedule an additional day in Homer as weather was very hard to predict in September and we are very glad we listened to her. If we had not changed our schedule we would not have been able to make the flight to Brooks River to see the grizzlies - a trip highlight. She was a joy to speak with, the room was exceptionally comfortable and the breakfasts were large and delicious. I highly recommend Halcyon Heights to all.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We stayed here two nights and the breakfast was really good. The hosts were very helpful and they were able to help us with all of our requests and needs. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters which was the right size room for our group.

Juxia helped us with a fishing trip and also made us lunch to take on the boat which was really great.

The had board games, video's and lots of other things available to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

The view from the deck was incredible. The hot tub was in a great location and it was pretty easy to locate the property.

They even helped us locate some great dining options every night. Overall a good place to stay and a good value compared to some of the other places we looked at staying.

Room Tip: Ask Juxia, the host and she will put you in the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treese0140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My family took a short trip to Homer for one day and stayed in Haylcyon Heights B&B. The host, Juxia, was really nice to give us very detailed driving instructions. We arrived earlier than the check in time, Juxia let us stay in the living room, turned on TV for my 3-yr girl, welcomed us with cookies and snacks. We felt at home. She gave us comprehensive introduction on Homer and suggested nice places that suitable for a family with kid. We really appreciated that. It was raining heavily when we arrived. However, the sky cleared up later and we were absolutely stunned by the pananomic view from this B&B. We stayed in the Captain's Quarters. Very nice suite, perfect for our family of 5 with 3 generation. Comfort beds, nice kitchen, etc. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and more than you can eat. We really loved the staying and will come back to stay in the future!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhongren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

I took my family for a 8 day trip to Alaska and we stayed at Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn. It turned out to be the best travel experience of our life.

From the moment we walked into the house, we were amazed by this carefully decorated house with all-season indoor plants; beautiful flooring; breath-taking view to the snowy mountains, homer spit harbor, the ocean…etc. The house is perfectly situated on a hill facing the homer bay; it’s one of the largest houses in the area with almost 6000 SQ of living space; and it has large deck all around the house with different elevations and different views, there’re chairs everywhere on the deck for the guests to sit down and relax; the large lawn area in the yard provide perfects place for relaxation, my kids had a lot of fun jumping up and down there; all different kids of flowers and plants surround the house.

The bedrooms are very very clean and perfectly decorated; the beds are so conformable that it’s hard for us to get out the bed in the morning. Sitting by the fireplace, watching the Alaska travel attraction DVD, listening to the soft music, looking out of the window to the beautiful view and enjoying the best breakfast in town; it makes you feel like in heaven. When I say it’s the best breakfast in town, I really mean it: fresh fruit, coffee, waffle, halibut tartar, sausage…etc. the list goes on and on; and everyday they serve something different, which always turned out to be a pleasant surprise to the guest. The hosts are so friendly that they make you feel like you’re part of the family throughout the stay. Even the dog Jalar is one of the most beautiful and friendly dog that I’ve even seen.

The entire staying experience is 5 star. I would recommend Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn to anyone at any time. This will be your best choice for staying if you ever go to Homer, Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hosts of Halcyon Heights, Juxia and Stephen, were gracious and accomodating. They are very knowledgable about Homer and Alaska and were eager to share their advice, which was beneficial to us during our stay there and allowed us to make the most of our Alaska vacation experience. Halcyon Heights has very spacious accomodations (ours was like a small apartment) and the rooms were immaculate. The breakfasts were delicious and each morning featured a different entree. The setting of Halcyon Heights is very peaceful and relaxing, and the view from the property is absolutely gorgeous! I highly recommend staying there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Steve and his wife, Juxia, were warm and helpful owners. The property was away from the hustle and bustle of Homer, but you could get into town very quickly. The property had a nice view of the mountains and Homer Spit. Our room was clean, spacious and had a good size bathroom. Breakfast was very good. Every morning Juxia would make home baked goods, and flavorful egg dishes or french toast. One member of our party had numerous food allergies, and Juxia made sure there was plenty of things for her to eat. Steve was very knowledgeable about the area and the restaurants,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
2.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#5 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn

Property: Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Address: 1200 Mission Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9376
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on East Hill in Homer, Alaska, only 6 minutes to downtown, this proud Alaska Bed and Breakfast/Inn will thrill you with its spectacular views of the famous Homer Spit & Kachemak Bay, the Grewingk Glacier & the Kenai Mountains, Homer itself, and more! If you've never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast lodging before, Halcyon Heights B&B/Inn is the place to start. Recommended by National Geographic Adventures, Best Places Alaska, Moon. Close to Wynn Nature Center and winter ski trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing