We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great Stay No Problems, Room were clean and comfortable. Great place to base a fishing trip out of, only caution I would offer is that there is no elevator so if you have anyone in your party that has issues with stairs you will want to request a first floor room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, General Manager at Best Western Bidarka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and I hope you enjoyed your time in Homer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

The people are extremely nice at Bidarka Inn, I have been coming to Homer twice a year for 6 years and never stay anywhere else. Recently remolded room and now have 60inch? flat screen TV, wow at a Best western!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, General Manager at Best Western Bidarka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for you continued business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Downstairs the view is mostly blocked by vegetation, but this is a motel, folks, not a Hyatt. And a very good motel it is, with extremely friendly staff, a hot breakfast with a good variety of foods and a comfortable bed in a clean, pleasant room with some kitchen facilities. Breakfast is on the 2nd floor, with very good views of the sea and mountains. I would definitely stay there again. Staff had good recommendations for restaurants and various sightseeing. The Bidarka, which translates to a kayak, is on the main highway to both Old Town, and the Spit, where most of the action is. One can find a small fishing area on the left coming onto the Spit where one can rent a pole and fish for salmon from the shore.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BaronofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, General Manager at Best Western Bidarka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you staying with us. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Homer. We hope to see you on your next visit to Homer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel on July 19th. We were supposed to go halibut fishing on the 20th, but our charter was cancelled due to weather (high wind and waves). Since we couldn't fish on the 20th, we had nothing else to do in Homer so they allowed us to check out a day early without penalty. This hotel is clean, our room was very nice and the breakfast is very good. This hotel is located about as far away from the Homer Spit as you can get (about 8 miles), so if you are looking for location to the spit, this is not your hotel. The bar was okay. Some of the hotel staff was very helpufl and friendly and some were the most disinterested we have ever come across.

All in all, we would stay at this hotel again if ever back in Homer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mn_karen1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, General Manager at Best Western Bidarka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. Most of our rooms do not offer a view. I hope, though, that the weather was nice enough that you were able to get out and enjoy all the sights and sounds that our beautiful countryside has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Accommodations themselves were decent (beds were comfortable, everything in working order), but this property offers no view of the beautiful countryside in Homer. Our ground-level room window opened to the parking lot, causing considerable disturbance when people walked by or cars arrived or departed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, General Manager at Best Western Bidarka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us. I hope you were able to get out and enjoy all that homer has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Let's be honest. The rooms are ok, but the breakfast is pretty much like that in a typical Days Inn. Why none of the chain motels can figure out that scrambled eggs out of a box just are not real tasty is beyond me. It is not that hard to fix eggs from scratch, especially when you have multiple breakfast help like this place does. Bedrooms are good, but the bathrooms need a makeover. And the monster armoire has to go. Take a pass unless the humdrum suits you.....
Ps: the on site bar was good...as was the front desk service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, General Manager at Best Western Bidarka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. I will use your recommendations to improve the quality of our accommodations for future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed one night while on a land tour. Hotel was excellent, large rooms, very clean and a great breakfast. Staff was very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel and don't understand the bad reviews. It is certainly not a 5* hotel but I don't believe you will find one in Homer. I would def. stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to stay in main bldg....more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JodyMc14679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas J, General Manager at Best Western Bidarka Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your business. I hope you were able to enjoy our beautiful city by the bay. We hope to see you on your next visit to Homer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.4 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
330 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bidarka Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bidarka Inn

Address: 575 Sterling Hwy, Homer, AK 99603-7447
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range: £80 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bidarka Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Bidarka Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bidarka Hotel Homer
Best Western Homer
Homer Best Western
Best Western Bidarka Inn Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing