We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY SPENDY but delicious food and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Mermaid

Little Mermaid
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Little Mermaid, we handcraft our food daily, using the best in fresh local fish, meats, and produce. Our professional staff is extremely knowledgable about the ingredients, final preparation, wine and beer offerings.
Nikiski, Alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“VERY SPENDY but delicious food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Centrally located off of Main Street in Homer. They have gourmet chefs who have unique daily menus and the presentation is WoW. The prices are high. You can expect to pay at least $50-$100 for 2 people if you add drinks and desserts and wine, etc. of course it goes up. There are seafood specialties and fresh local veggies are used. It's all organic. You will probably go back if you can afford too. It's a great place to celebrate a special occasion. Though Wassabis' in nearby Kachemack City is also a great place for that too.
I don't think that eating there for lunch would be a relief on your pocket book. Homer is SMALL and everything is expensive. There is a 7% sales tax there compared to Anchorage and Fairbanks, AK's 0% sales tax and more to do...However, Homer is BEAUTIFUL. You will love the scenery, I promise you. But do take some of your own food along when you go or you will be broke in a few days eating out and shopping in Homer.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    61
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Mermaid Cafe is sure to please! Very flavorful and creative meals. My personal favorite is the pizza :) Down side, it can be a little noisy as it is a rather small dining area. Quaint little building with a unique book store attached. I'm a big fan!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homerite12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Minnesota
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent, creative food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

We were only in Homer for 2 nights and the food was so good that we wanted to return to have a second meal there! (Even in the summer, they are only open on certain days.)

The menu is creative (with daily specials) and tastes fresh. We had scallops with wasabi oil and seaweed, mostly because we were curious what it would taste like. I was skeptical, but they were delicious, and unlike anything I have ever had before! The lamb sausage pizza was also delicious, with the sausage made in-house. It's a small place with a fun atmosphere. Prices seemed high, but then we went to other places around Homer, and realized that the prices were comparable to other restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small (8 tables) Great Menu (Great Chef or two) and Fantistic Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is the place you want to go to. Try the Rockfish sandwich if available! You will love this place as much as we did. All this adds up to the number one place to eat!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voglco, Owner at Little Mermaid, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you so much for your great review. We work very hard to provide the best seafood available locally. The Rockfish is one of our favs too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“so super terrific!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I love this restaurant I don't know how they come up with the flavors but no matter what I have ordered it is always to die for!!! I send all my guests here and they love it too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank flatfish334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voglco, Owner at Little Mermaid, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for noticing our efforts in keeping our flavors fresh and delicious. We appreciate you sending your guests here as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Mermaid also viewed

 

Been to Little Mermaid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing