We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the cabin at Bear Creek Winery”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bear Creek Winery and Lodging
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Loved the cabin at Bear Creek Winery”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent couple nights at the winery and loved the little cabin. We used the hot tub and sauna and the view from the tub is AMAZING. Mountains and glaciers perfect view. Walked around the gardens, visited the tasting room and got special tour of the winery. Fascinating! Especially loved the halibut appetizer and house wine provided our first night. The staff were so friendly and accomodating that we felt like family. We picked up some salmon and used the grill to prepare romantic dinner. Very nice! Will be back if ever in Homer again. View is priceless!

Room Tip: Go off season for best prices! The weather was perfect Fall temps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Very charming and romantic- We spent our wedding night here I couldn't have asked for anything more. The staff has thought of every detail in these beautiful rooms (I was really excited when I found popcorn, since I had hardly even eaten at the wedding!) The grounds are pristine, the hot tub toasty, and the wine delicious. Bill and Dorothy's special touches made our night and morning exceptionally special. Thank you guys!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearCreekLodging, Manager at Bear Creek Winery and Lodging, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We are happy you had such a special stay. These kind of reviews make it worth all of the time we put in to ensure that our guests leave feeling like they are friends and family. Knowing that you had such a memorable and special experience makes us love our job.

Cheers,
Louie and the Bear Creek Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Alaska is expensive; Homer is no different. The hospitality at the bear Creek winery makes the cost much more palatable. Your choices are to spend this much money and enjoy a wonderful place, or spend half the amount at the equivalent of a Motel 6 in the lower 48. If you have means, stay at the winery. They go out of their way to treat you as someone special. If you have expectations for a luxury five-star hotel just because of the price, that is your own fault. The price is just what it is in Alaska, they are not ripping you off.
For those in the military, it is nice to go to Alaska and truly be appreciated for what you do. The people there have strong support for us and the sacrifices we make. The Bear Creek staff were very supportive of us and the limited time my wife and I get to spend together. They made our short vacation together memorable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearCreekLodging, Manager at Bear Creek Winery and Lodging, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We here at Bear Creek Winery and Lodging are happy that you enjoyed your "Bear Creek experience". As our mission statement says we strive to make our guests feel like they are friends and family. We hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Louie and the Bear Creek Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Everything about the Bear Creek Winery and Lodging was perfect! The owners definitely pay attention to detail - from the beautifully appointed cabin to the landscaped gardens to the notebook full of EVERYTHING a traveller needs to know about Homer. We enjoyed the hot tub, the steam room, the tasting room, and even the exceptionally nice folks who work there. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LittleGreyKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was first introduced to Bear Creek wines when I found a bottle of their Black Raspberry blend at a friend's and tried some. It was the first time drinking any wine where I instantly wanted to drink a whole bottle of it by myself, without sharing. (before then I didn't really enjoy drinking because I hadn't found anything I liked) This past weekend, my sister in law and I popped in at Bear Creek Winery and did some tasting. It was awesome! We both got to try 2 oz samples of 6 different wines. (you get to choose which wines you try) My favorites were the Peach Apricot, one of Bear Creek's seasonal summer wines, and the Pomegranate. Both were insanely delicious! (and for $15 a bottle, not horribly expensive) The wine tasting costs $5 per person, but then is credited towards your purchase of a bottle of wine. I definitely plan to return,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akgrowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearCreekLodging, Manager at Bear Creek Winery and Lodging, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We are glad that you had such a great time in our tasting room. The motivation for making our wines is to see them enjoyed so your comments are greatly appreciated. I will keep making them if you keep enjoying them.

Cheers,
Louis the winemaker at Bear Creek Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I visited the winery on the Homer Fermentation Tour - it was definitely the best stop. They have a large selection of wines to try, we had little snacks and the wines were GREAT! While not the cheapest wine, it was well worth the price. If I'm ever in Homer again, I'll definitely return - and I'm not really a wine drinker!

We didn't stay at the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearCreekLodging, Manager at Bear Creek Winery and Lodging, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
We are glad that you had such a great time in our tasting room. We pride ourselves on providing the best experience that we can for all of our guests so your comments are appreciated. We make about 20 different wines including our seasonal wines ranging from dry to sweet. With so many wines to choose from there is a wine to suit any ones pallet. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers,
Louis the winemaker at Bear Creek Winery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Located a few miles away from Homer, we spent two nights in Bear Creek Lodging during our honey moon trip in Alaska.

The team, very nice, made themselves available to make our stay perfect. Our room was very spacious and nice, with a wonderful view on the landscape...and mooses ! The hot tub is a must in the evening to enjoy the sunset...This place is also well know for wine, do not hesitate to taste the Strawberry Rhubarb !

We definitely had a wonderful time there and recommend this place if you want to enjoy a few days in Homer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aude O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BearCreekLodging, Manager at Bear Creek Winery and Lodging, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
We are really glad that you had such a memorable experience during your stay with us. The romantic get away is our specialty. We hope you enjoyed your complimentory honey moon wine.

Happy trails,
The staff at Bear Creek Winery and Lodging
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
3.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
3.3 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
5.0 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
745 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Creek Winery and Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Winery and Lodging

Property: Bear Creek Winery and Lodging
Address: 60203 Bear Creek Dr, PO Box 164, Homer, AK 99603-9440
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Homer
#1 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our suites are luxurious and elegant. They were designed with the romantic couples retreat in mind using essential oils in the paints, luxurious queen size beds, complimentary truffles and a complimentary bottle of wine. Each room has a private entrance and private bathroom. To help people relax and enjoy their stay there is a koi pond, water fall, steam bath, cedar hot tub, and views of breathtaking Kathemak Bay and Grewingk Glacier. Guests can also stretch their legs on our nature trail, play a round of horse shoes, or enjoy the fire pit. Wine tastings at the near by winery are also complimentary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Winery And Lodging Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing