We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in lovely Hope”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Kent, Melanie and Annie (dog) are wonderful. Our cabin #5 was the perfect size for two, cozy and rustic, located right next to the bathhouse and sauna. The mattress could be a bit more comfortable, but that is our one and only reccomendation. Five course meal was delicious and excellent, one of the best meals had in Alaska. Will certainly be back. Thanks for a memorable and relaxing 4th of July.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yssa912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2011

My adult sons and I stayed at Bowman's before a backpacking trip on the Resurrection Pass Trail. Ken was a very genuine, warm host who bent over backwards to accommodate us. All week long on the trail, the boys were talking about how delicious our evening meal was thanks to Melanie's culinary expertise. We must have mentioned there Pepper Jelly a dozen times.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobEWashington_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We were going to eat dinner and stay here at the hotel but we were treated poorly from the time we entered the restaurant. We were wearing jeans and a fleece jacket so maybe our attire was a turn off. We were greeted with a chill and then asked if they had internet service. He said yes and we got our computer and opened it up to check emails since we had not been in contact for awhile. A nasty remark was said to us about opening up an office and then that this was a dinner house. Apparently we had mistaken what he said was the business has internet. Not for use by patrons. My husband said he felt insulted and talked down to. We packed up and asked them to cancel our meal. Then he got mad and said are you going to stick me with the rib eyes. I said no. But we are not going to be insulted. He said fine just leave and we did. I am so glad they are doing well enough that they can pick and choose how they treat patrons. Their rooms were $150 per night and we were going to pay that. I am so glad I did not. I found something better for $99 that has a bathroom IN THE ROOM and I do not have to share it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank Sailing_Sweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

At Bowman's Bearcreek Dinner House you won't have to worry about the folks at the next table talking on their cell phone, setting up a laptop, or texting during dinner. Conversation is encouraged here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We were very surprised to find that there was no bathroom in the cabin - rather, there was a bathhouse "down the way." It was clean enough...if you go for that kind of thing. You could lock the door and be the only one in there. The location is pretty off the beaten track. Nothing much in the town of Hope, although we did see a moose and her baby crossing the road into town. But the cabin area is very sweet with a nice running creek, a small pond with a paddle boat and a place for a bonfire. The cabins were very cute, but our bed was the pitts (headache all the next day). The Bowmans were both very hospitable and their restaurant was great. Five star offerings.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne62035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Bowmans' Bearcreek Lodge now offers the "Bearcreek Cottage" with full ensuite bathroom and kitchen facilities. See this beautiful one bedroom cottage on our website!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2009

This is the one time I felt I was just part of the Alaska crowd and not a tourist. Hope itself is a cooky, quiant little town of no more then 50 people but it was warm and wonderful. The best part was staying in great little cabins at Bear Creek Lodge. It was so peaceful that the one morning I floated on the canoe and my friend just sat and read versus going on the hike we had planned. It was just the nicest little place with a restaurant right there. Wonderful hosts with lots of ideas on how to spend your day. Add a day to your trip and just relax away from the rest of the crowds in hope.
Tip: Cabin 3 was built by draft horses and is the most "rustic". We had it and loved it. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyraonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge is the perfect base for sights in the northern Kenai Peninsula with Lovely cabins set around a small pond. The food is outstanding and Kent and Melanie are gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyJE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

If you're for charming hosts and "free spirit canoes", then take a 16 mile turn via a great asphalt road off the Seward Highway to Hope, Alaska. Kent and Melanie ... the hosts and owners at Bowmans both wear eternal smiles on their faces ... and the quality of their small resort reflects their joy with life. They also run a small cafe with phenomenal food which is alone worth the trip to Hope. My wife, and middle son who had just graduated from college spent three nights at Bowman's Bear Creak Lodge. They have a number of small log cabins which reflect the spirit and beauty of Alaska. In front of the cabins is a small pond with a free spirit canoe (i.e. never tie the canoe up with your done ... Kent want's the boat to drift where it may!). Behind the cabins is a beautiful small mountain stream. The only possible issue some folks might have with Bowman's is the need to use a central shower / toilet building. Your cabin will not have plumbing, but it's a very short walk to the very clean bath house. We spent three great nights here ... enjoying using Hope as a base to do a day trip to Seward and explore Hope (hike from the camp ground and fishing for Silver Salmon in Hope's river).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichHoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 147, Hope, AK 99605-0147
Region: United States > Alaska > Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Hope
Price Range: £90 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge Hope, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing