We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Anchorage, and close to our hearts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
482 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Close to Anchorage, and close to our hearts”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

If there is a better place in Alaska, then I am not as well travelled as I think. This is the place you want to own if you have an artistic flare and desire to work constantly at making a beautiful natural setting even nicer. The owners care and it shows. Very kid friendly, very adult friendly, very rustic.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    2
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a gem in a small, out-of-the-way place, one well worth making a side trip to stay. Hope and Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge are in a beautiful setting--but then many places in Alaska fit that description. What makes this place special is the hospitality, the obvious love that owners Kent and Melanie have for this remote spot, and the food. First, the food: a 5 course gourmet meal is served each night in the small dining room, which is also open to the public by reservation. There is a choice of entrees, and I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this quality dining in an intimate, relaxing setting. Unfortunately no breakfast, but good coffee.

Our cabin was small and rustic, next to the very welcome sauna. As is clear on the website, there is no indoor plumbing, but there is electricity, including electric heat, and a wood stove to boot; I'm sure that stove is welcome in the winter! The nearby bath house is clean and well-fitted; we didn't find it a problem to go there. The cabin itself was attractive, although the small porch only had one chair--and you couldn't sit on it (broken).

Melanie and Kent are free spirits, who enjoy what they do. The canoe and the paddleboat on the small pond are also allowed to be free spirits: never tied up but allowed to float where they wish. It's the kind of restful environment which we rarely get to enjoy these days.

There are plenty of activities for children on the Lodge property, with hiking and fishing for all nearby.

This lodge is reason enough to visit Hope, but the town itself, though tiny, is an interesting place. The museum is quirky, filled with memorabilia, and best of all the local volunteer staff are full of interesting stories and talk. We also enjoyed time at the local hangout and bar. It's obviously a community center and provided us an entertaining evening.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSN_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chugiak, Alaska, USA
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge. It is the perfect get-away with an easy drive from the Anchorage area. Our kids enjoyed the paddle boat, gold panning and relaxing. Melanie is a wonderful cook and her and Kent presented the most delicious dinner. It was great way to spend a couple of days in Hope.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MartinyMemoryMakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with our experience at Bowman's Bear Creek cabins. Kent & Melanie were so welcoming, our girls LOVED paddling on the pond, and the setting was fantastic with an icy creek running through the area. We're not foodies but the dinner was spectacular with shrimp & rockfish from Whittier and several other delicious dishes. Even the shared bathhouse was clean, cute and well supplied. Hope was charming and had plenty to do (gold panning, hiking, and watching the bore tide). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texasmom_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Kent, Melanie and Annie (dog) are wonderful. Our cabin #5 was the perfect size for two, cozy and rustic, located right next to the bathhouse and sauna. The mattress could be a bit more comfortable, but that is our one and only reccomendation. Five course meal was delicious and excellent, one of the best meals had in Alaska. Will certainly be back. Thanks for a memorable and relaxing 4th of July.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yssa912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My adult sons and I stayed at Bowman's before a backpacking trip on the Resurrection Pass Trail. Ken was a very genuine, warm host who bent over backwards to accommodate us. All week long on the trail, the boys were talking about how delicious our evening meal was thanks to Melanie's culinary expertise. We must have mentioned there Pepper Jelly a dozen times.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobEWashington_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
268 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We were going to eat dinner and stay here at the hotel but we were treated poorly from the time we entered the restaurant. We were wearing jeans and a fleece jacket so maybe our attire was a turn off. We were greeted with a chill and then asked if they had internet service. He said yes and we got our computer and opened it up to check emails since we had not been in contact for awhile. A nasty remark was said to us about opening up an office and then that this was a dinner house. Apparently we had mistaken what he said was the business has internet. Not for use by patrons. My husband said he felt insulted and talked down to. We packed up and asked them to cancel our meal. Then he got mad and said are you going to stick me with the rib eyes. I said no. But we are not going to be insulted. He said fine just leave and we did. I am so glad they are doing well enough that they can pick and choose how they treat patrons. Their rooms were $150 per night and we were going to pay that. I am so glad I did not. I found something better for $99 that has a bathroom IN THE ROOM and I do not have to share it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sailing_Sweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2010
At Bowman's Bearcreek Dinner House you won't have to worry about the folks at the next table talking on their cell phone, setting up a laptop, or texting during dinner. Conversation is encouraged here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
16.7 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Summit Lake Lodge
Summit Lake Lodge
#1 of 2 in Moose Pass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
15.5 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge

Property: Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 147, Hope, AK 99605-0147
Region: United States > Alaska > Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge Hope, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing