We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little spot of ideal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You have to see this place to believe it. Cozy little log cabins surrounding a small little pond with a free floating canoe (because the canoe has a free spirit too, after all!) We were assigned cabin #3. So rustic and original that you had to duck to enter the short door. Two beds and a wood burning stove is all there is room for inside. It really couldn't be any more charming. Beware that most cabins are without a bathroom so you share the community bath house with showers, sinks and a toilet. We spent one night there with two young kids and we survived it just fine. Out dinner at the Dinner House was one the best we had in our two weeks in Alaska. But for breakfast, you have to head into Hope after you have your cup of coffee with the other guests on the front deck. We had a hard time tearing our 6 year old away from the canoe that he could paddle as long as he wanted all on his own. If you're in Hope, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieMColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We traveled to Alaska from Wisconsin by car via the Alcan Higway and experienced a variety of accommodations along the way. We were in between reservations and needed a three day stay. After searching the map, Hope looked like a far from the madding crowd spot. It is, and Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge turned out to be serendipity. We stayed in Cabin 4. It was clean and cozy. The food is excellent...five stars for sure! We'd stay there again, just for the five course dinner. Hope will remain one of our favorite places in Alaska, thanks to Melanie and Kent. We loved the peace and quiet, the rush of the creek behind the cabin. It was perfect.

Room Tip: They do have one cabin with its own bathroom, but using the bath house is not at all an inconvenienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Possibly the best find in Alaska. We expected nothing more than remote cabins and a bit of roughing it. Instead, comfy cozy cabins with wood burning stoves and a gourmet five course meal included with the room. The owner, Kent, even took us fly fishing and instructed us at a local stream. Though it was our first time fishing my wife and I both caught salmon. It was quite a thrill. While we have stayed at first class hotels through our trip in Alaska this is the place that will stay in our memories,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hkavet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had just spent the night in our car in an RV park and were tired and sore when we happened upon Bowman's. We stayed in the "The Hobit House" and found it to be cozy and delightfuly quaint. Although i was a little worried about having to share bathing quarters with the rest of the guest there as i have never stayed anywhere you did not have your own bathroom in your room. It turned out to be not so bad ad the bathrooms were always clean, warm and free whenever we needed to use them.. The Bowman's have created a welcoming, warm, family friendly place & the meal they served was 5 star quailty!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

If there is a better place in Alaska, then I am not as well travelled as I think. This is the place you want to own if you have an artistic flare and desire to work constantly at making a beautiful natural setting even nicer. The owners care and it shows. Very kid friendly, very adult friendly, very rustic.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a gem in a small, out-of-the-way place, one well worth making a side trip to stay. Hope and Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge are in a beautiful setting--but then many places in Alaska fit that description. What makes this place special is the hospitality, the obvious love that owners Kent and Melanie have for this remote spot, and the food. First, the food: a 5 course gourmet meal is served each night in the small dining room, which is also open to the public by reservation. There is a choice of entrees, and I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this quality dining in an intimate, relaxing setting. Unfortunately no breakfast, but good coffee.

Our cabin was small and rustic, next to the very welcome sauna. As is clear on the website, there is no indoor plumbing, but there is electricity, including electric heat, and a wood stove to boot; I'm sure that stove is welcome in the winter! The nearby bath house is clean and well-fitted; we didn't find it a problem to go there. The cabin itself was attractive, although the small porch only had one chair--and you couldn't sit on it (broken).

Melanie and Kent are free spirits, who enjoy what they do. The canoe and the paddleboat on the small pond are also allowed to be free spirits: never tied up but allowed to float where they wish. It's the kind of restful environment which we rarely get to enjoy these days.

There are plenty of activities for children on the Lodge property, with hiking and fishing for all nearby.

This lodge is reason enough to visit Hope, but the town itself, though tiny, is an interesting place. The museum is quirky, filled with memorabilia, and best of all the local volunteer staff are full of interesting stories and talk. We also enjoyed time at the local hangout and bar. It's obviously a community center and provided us an entertaining evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSN_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our family had a wonderful time at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge. It is the perfect get-away with an easy drive from the Anchorage area. Our kids enjoyed the paddle boat, gold panning and relaxing. Melanie is a wonderful cook and her and Kent presented the most delicious dinner. It was great way to spend a couple of days in Hope.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank MartinyMemoryMakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 147, Hope, AK 99605-0147
Region: United States > Alaska > Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Hope
Price Range: £95 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge Hope, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing