We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dimond Center Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Inn(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
US$183
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anchorage Midtown(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$130
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$124
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
35
2
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
2
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbear creek lodgecourse dinnergourmet dinnerfridge and microwavefire pitwood stovemelaniekentpondbowmanpropertylogflowersstreamalaskabirthdaytoilets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved our rustic little cabin! No TV, NO internet, no radio ... Just lots of R & R while listening to the fire crackle and the babbling brook behind the cabin. Truly pure relaxation!

Dinner which was served up by Kent and Melanie was OUTSTANDING! Multiple courses were served, all cooked fresh by Melanie. She is most definitely a gifted chef!

The grounds are well taken care of and the shower house is clean.

Can't say enough about this great placed to stay!

Room Tip: We were in the rustic cabin #3, but I think if I were to book again I'd request cabin 4. Seemed a little more spacious and had a nice deck on the back as well as the front. But loved our cozy little cabin regardless!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is classic backwoods Alaska with all the comforts. Cozy log cabins with wood stoves nestled around a pond with a canoe and paddleboat next to a creek and waterfall. It is a short walk to clean family style restrooms and showers. Morning coffee was on the porch, but instead of breakfast your room comes with a first class 7:00 PM dinner prepared by Melanie and served by Kent. It is a 20 minute walk into very funky and unpolished "downtown" Hope with its packed Seaview Café and nightly (?) live music.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OregonDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Not only are the cabins homey and comfortable, with wood burning stoves; but the hosts, Melanie and Kent are a pleasure to interact with, and are always happy to provide tips about local attractions and services like white-water rafting companies and fishing guides. What's more, the price a a room also gets you a near gourmet 4 course dinner. For breakfast, don't miss the little cafe down the road and their 3 berry pancakes!

Room Tip: Cabins each offer individual touches, like porches front and/or back; so if more than one is open, ask to see them and choose .
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lobbyist777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You have to see this place to believe it. Cozy little log cabins surrounding a small little pond with a free floating canoe (because the canoe has a free spirit too, after all!) We were assigned cabin #3. So rustic and original that you had to duck to enter the short door. Two beds and a wood burning stove is all there is room for inside. It really couldn't be any more charming. Beware that most cabins are without a bathroom so you share the community bath house with showers, sinks and a toilet. We spent one night there with two young kids and we survived it just fine. Out dinner at the Dinner House was one the best we had in our two weeks in Alaska. But for breakfast, you have to head into Hope after you have your cup of coffee with the other guests on the front deck. We had a hard time tearing our 6 year old away from the canoe that he could paddle as long as he wanted all on his own. If you're in Hope, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieMColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We traveled to Alaska from Wisconsin by car via the Alcan Higway and experienced a variety of accommodations along the way. We were in between reservations and needed a three day stay. After searching the map, Hope looked like a far from the madding crowd spot. It is, and Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge turned out to be serendipity. We stayed in Cabin 4. It was clean and cozy. The food is excellent...five stars for sure! We'd stay there again, just for the five course dinner. Hope will remain one of our favorite places in Alaska, thanks to Melanie and Kent. We loved the peace and quiet, the rush of the creek behind the cabin. It was perfect.

Room Tip: They do have one cabin with its own bathroom, but using the bath house is not at all an inconvenience.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews