We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great small cabins, Amazing Dinner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great small cabins, Amazing Dinner”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and Daughter and I stayed in one of the Cabins at Bowmans. The cabins are small and rustic but it adds to the charm. They are located just about a mile away from Downtown Hope (which is micro tiny! but full of charm). We caught the red salmon run and did some gold panning on Resurrection Creek. The cabins include dinner in the evening and it is not to be missed! It was a culinary delight. A true 5 course meal. Salmon or pork loin was on the menu. Some of the cabins do not have bathroom/showers included. But the common shower is very nice and does the job.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank www_prodev_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    2
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
15
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The employees or owners whichever they were, gave us a bad taste in our mouth from the very start. They were rude and belittling and had no sense of customer service. We had a larger group rent the majority of the cabins onsite and paid a lot of money to do so, and in the end it just wasn't worth it. We have had first hand experience with a majority of the locals from Hope and this was not the Hope community we know. People from Hope are genuine nice caring people and this not what we expected when we returned for a visit. I don't personally recommend this establishment to anyone and I am sincerely disappointed in their service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
These folks were the most ungracious guests we have ever experienced. When they left we had broken wine glasses at the shower house, dogs in our cabins, smoking in our cabins, and drugs left behind. We do not cater to this crowd. These are the first people we have charged extra for damages in our eleven years here. Good riddance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were excited to be at the best lodge in the small town of Hope!
Beautiful setting for rustic cabin experience. The greatest food for miles and miles - worth it for that alone. Melanie is a master chef and accommodated us with wonderful gluten free organs food that tasted out of this world!
Hosts work really hard on their lovely business and area - great burled railings, sweet creek, fire pit, dry sauna, landscaping, all really nice.

but,
the premier cottage the only one with indoor private bathroom and kitchen is still not up to the quality of the rest of the lodge. I'll bet it will soon be complete with a bit of maintenance.

The hosts indeed tried to make up for the broken coffee pot by offering their own french press and having coffee available at the restaurant. We appreciated that. But the kitchen needs some utensils, a spatula..., the threshold between entrance and linoleum is not attached and could cut a foot... new carpet...

I need to mention the beds. We hope the owners can soon replace both the double in the bedroom and the futon in the living room. They are quite unacceptable for the price being asked to lodge in the cottage.

The good things are the wonderful bird feeder off the big window in the cottage living room and the great heat if needed, large space but seems to me a lot of wasted space unless you bring a pack of kids and put them down on the floor in sleeping bags. Then it makes sense. We appreciated the parking space for loading and the ramp to the entrance. Loved the front deck when we used the Alaskan Perfume - citronella for the mosquitoes:)

Alaska is a rough hewn, remote land, folks. Just expect that. Generally speaking - there might be a bit of Independent Free spirits in the population who are in "survival mode", not so keen on customer service, resentment, sarcastic, wish they didn't need to rely on tourism to make ends meet. I get that. It's a PUSH for many.
But "It's Alaksa, get used to it!"

The Bowmans are sincere, creative, kind and really nice folks. Keep up the wonderful things you do and hopefully the budget will allow the improvements. Bet it keeps evolving. Keep making great music with your home!

DO stay there for the food, the atmosphere and property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 October 2016
Thanks Sunzana! Our lodge has brand new beds throughout, and the Bearcreek Cottage is now completely remodeled and beautiful. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved our rustic little cabin! No TV, NO internet, no radio ... Just lots of R & R while listening to the fire crackle and the babbling brook behind the cabin. Truly pure relaxation!

Dinner which was served up by Kent and Melanie was OUTSTANDING! Multiple courses were served, all cooked fresh by Melanie. She is most definitely a gifted chef!

The grounds are well taken care of and the shower house is clean.

Can't say enough about this great placed to stay!

Room Tip: We were in the rustic cabin #3, but I think if I were to book again I'd request cabin 4. Seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is classic backwoods Alaska with all the comforts. Cozy log cabins with wood stoves nestled around a pond with a canoe and paddleboat next to a creek and waterfall. It is a short walk to clean family style restrooms and showers. Morning coffee was on the porch, but instead of breakfast your room comes with a first class 7:00 PM dinner prepared by Melanie and served by Kent. It is a 20 minute walk into very funky and unpolished "downtown" Hope with its packed Seaview Café and nightly (?) live music.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Not only are the cabins homey and comfortable, with wood burning stoves; but the hosts, Melanie and Kent are a pleasure to interact with, and are always happy to provide tips about local attractions and services like white-water rafting companies and fishing guides. What's more, the price a a room also gets you a near gourmet 4 course dinner. For breakfast, don't miss the little cafe down the road and their 3 berry pancakes!

Room Tip: Cabins each offer individual touches, like porches front and/or back; so if more than one is open, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lobbyist777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You have to see this place to believe it. Cozy little log cabins surrounding a small little pond with a free floating canoe (because the canoe has a free spirit too, after all!) We were assigned cabin #3. So rustic and original that you had to duck to enter the short door. Two beds and a wood burning stove is all there is room for inside. It really couldn't be any more charming. Beware that most cabins are without a bathroom so you share the community bath house with showers, sinks and a toilet. We spent one night there with two young kids and we survived it just fine. Out dinner at the Dinner House was one the best we had in our two weeks in Alaska. But for breakfast, you have to head into Hope after you have your cup of coffee with the other guests on the front deck. We had a hard time tearing our 6 year old away from the canoe that he could paddle as long as he wanted all on his own. If you're in Hope, this place is not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieMColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge

Property: Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 147, Hope, AK 99605-0147
Region: United States > Alaska > Hope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge Hope, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing