We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Dimond Center Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$142
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ski Inn(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
US$95
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)
US$183
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Anchorage Midtown(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$130
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$124
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
35
2
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
2
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbear creek lodgecourse dinnergourmet dinnerfridge and microwavefire pitwood stovemelaniekentpondbowmanpropertylogflowersstreamalaskabirthdaytoilets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed here on our last night in Alaska after an 11-day trip to Kennicott, Denali and Seward. This was the perfect spot to end our vacation. As you can see from my pictures, our two boys (and my wife) absolutely enjoyed the splashing in the pond in front of the cabins, walking up the stream, taking out the canoe and paddleboat and generally relaxing without any distractions. Annie, the lodge dog, greeted us and quietly followed us around the grounds for a bit. Sweet older dog.

The cabin was rustic, but very comfortable. This was exactly what I hoped for and it exceeded our expectations. It had a fridge and microwave and plenty of lighting. The shades kept out the ever-present summer daylight and allowed all four of us to get a very good night's sleep. There is a separate shower/bath house for cabins 1-4, and it was very clean and spacious.

The included dinner was fabulous! Melanie draws from a series of cookbooks she has accumulated over the years and Kent is ever-present for dinner - graciously serving the guests who are staying on property. When we checked in, he was just returning with fresh-caught salmon from Cripple Creek which runs through Hope - just about a mile from Bowman's. Dinner was four-courses -- ranging from crostini topped with baked brie and pepper jelly, to Prince William Sound caught shrimp (from a fisherman in Whittier), to an absolutely delicious salmon-potato chowder to smoked duck (smoked on premises) or salmon topping a salad. Dessert was blueberry-peach sorbet. Great, great dinner!

As noted in earlier reviews, Bowman's is about a mile from "downtown" Hope - which is very picturesque and probably the way Talkeetna looked 20 years ago. This place is about to be discovered - hurry up and visit before it changes forever!

Room Tip: Relax - take out the boat on the little pond. You'll smile and remember this as one of the best lodges you visited while staying in Alaska!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and Daughter and I stayed in one of the Cabins at Bowmans. The cabins are small and rustic but it adds to the charm. They are located just about a mile away from Downtown Hope (which is micro tiny! but full of charm). We caught the red salmon run and did some gold panning on Resurrection Creek. The cabins include dinner in the evening and it is not to be missed! It was a culinary delight. A true 5 course meal. Salmon or pork loin was on the menu. Some of the cabins do not have bathroom/showers included. But the common shower is very nice and does the job.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank www_prodev_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The employees or owners whichever they were, gave us a bad taste in our mouth from the very start. They were rude and belittling and had no sense of customer service. We had a larger group rent the majority of the cabins onsite and paid a lot of money to do so, and in the end it just wasn't worth it. We have had first hand experience with a majority of the locals from Hope and this was not the Hope community we know. People from Hope are genuine nice caring people and this not what we expected when we returned for a visit. I don't personally recommend this establishment to anyone and I am sincerely disappointed in their service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Jacob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

These folks were the most ungracious guests we have ever experienced. When they left we had broken wine glasses at the shower house, dogs in our cabins, smoking in our cabins, and drugs left behind. We do not cater to this crowd. These are the first people we have charged extra for damages in our eleven years here. Good riddance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were excited to be at the best lodge in the small town of Hope!
Beautiful setting for rustic cabin experience. The greatest food for miles and miles - worth it for that alone. Melanie is a master chef and accommodated us with wonderful gluten free organs food that tasted out of this world!
Hosts work really hard on their lovely business and area - great burled railings, sweet creek, fire pit, dry sauna, landscaping, all really nice.

but,
the premier cottage the only one with indoor private bathroom and kitchen is still not up to the quality of the rest of the lodge. I'll bet it will soon be complete with a bit of maintenance.

The hosts indeed tried to make up for the broken coffee pot by offering their own french press and having coffee available at the restaurant. We appreciated that. But the kitchen needs some utensils, a spatula..., the threshold between entrance and linoleum is not attached and could cut a foot... new carpet...

I need to mention the beds. We hope the owners can soon replace both the double in the bedroom and the futon in the living room. They are quite unacceptable for the price being asked to lodge in the cottage.

The good things are the wonderful bird feeder off the big window in the cottage living room and the great heat if needed, large space but seems to me a lot of wasted space unless you bring a pack of kids and put them down on the floor in sleeping bags. Then it makes sense. We appreciated the parking space for loading and the ramp to the entrance. Loved the front deck when we used the Alaskan Perfume - citronella for the mosquitoes:)

Alaska is a rough hewn, remote land, folks. Just expect that. Generally speaking - there might be a bit of Independent Free spirits in the population who are in "survival mode", not so keen on customer service, resentment, sarcastic, wish they didn't need to rely on tourism to make ends meet. I get that. It's a PUSH for many.
But "It's Alaksa, get used to it!"

The Bowmans are sincere, creative, kind and really nice folks. Keep up the wonderful things you do and hopefully the budget will allow the improvements. Bet it keeps evolving. Keep making great music with your home!

DO stay there for the food, the atmosphere and property.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentbowman, Owner at Bowman's Bear Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Thanks Sunzana! Our lodge has brand new beds throughout, and the Bearcreek Cottage is now completely remodeled and beautiful. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved our rustic little cabin! No TV, NO internet, no radio ... Just lots of R & R while listening to the fire crackle and the babbling brook behind the cabin. Truly pure relaxation!

Dinner which was served up by Kent and Melanie was OUTSTANDING! Multiple courses were served, all cooked fresh by Melanie. She is most definitely a gifted chef!

The grounds are well taken care of and the shower house is clean.

Can't say enough about this great placed to stay!

Room Tip: We were in the rustic cabin #3, but I think if I were to book again I'd request cabin 4. Seemed a little more spacious and had a nice deck on the back as well as the front. But loved our cozy little cabin regardless!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CanadaCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews