We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All day excoursion; definitely worth it”

Adventure Bound Alaska Tracy Arm Glacier Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Daily cruises to the pristine wilderness of Tracy Arm Fjord. View mountains and rock walls that are over a mile high, tumbling waterfalls, and icebergs. Two active tidewater glaciers lie at the end of Tracy Arm Fjord. Wildlife may be spotted on this cruise, though it is not the main attraction of the trip. Our skilled captains ensure the best possible viewing of the sights for our guests.
Northern California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“All day excoursion; definitely worth it”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Go - this was a highlight of our trip. Waterfalls, icebergs, two glaciers. Saw a bear, too! Excellent was to see glaciers when you are not on a "cruise".

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BirdingMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    28
    5
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Awe-Inspiring!! America at her best! A must-SEe”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Tracy Are Fjord was just amazing. The glacier was breathtaking. The tour group got to know each other over the course of the day, and this made the excursion even more fun. Captain Steve was so knowledgeable about Alaska's environment. As a school teacher I couldn't take in enough information! This is a glacier tour, and they don't guarantee seeing any wildlife, but we saw a Blackbear, an eagle, a humpback whale, and a gazillion harbor seals. This trip is expensive, but it's worth the money!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pgreene42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chimacum, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Amazing!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our Captain Steve was very funny and was genuinely happy to be out there showing us a good time. He was an incredible driver and managed to get us crazy close to huge icebergs and beautiful waterfalls! I got to touch the side of the mountain in this strange little alcove he took us to and stuck my head under the falling water! The glacier was BEAUTIFUL! So many great pictures! The noise it makes when it breaks apart and ice hits the water is unbelievable! This was seriously the best day of our vacation ever. Miss you Steve!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We took this trip on the last day of a week in Juneau. It was a brilliant trip. The crew were very knowledgable and made a real effort to show us interesting things on the way to the glacier, including two orca whales. We had plenty of time at the glacier and were able to get much closer than any other boats. The trip is very good value and the boat is nice with good outdoor viewing area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank clare265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
251 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Amazing trip!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My parents had taken this voyage in previous visits to Alaska, but this was my first time in Juneau. We took the day long trip to Tracy Fjord and scenery was absolutely stunning! We saw many waterfalls and spent a good amount of time (45 minutes or so) at the glacier. We could not get that close to it as there were a ton of icebergs, but we still managed to get within a 1/2 mile or so of the face. The cruise ships that came into the fjord could not even get close enough to get a glimpse of the glacier due to the amount of ice. While making our way through the ice, we saw lots of seals fairly close to the boat. We also saw bears, whales and lots of eagles on the trip. The boat captain was awesome as he was able to get the boat within several feet of waterfalls on the sides of the fjord and provided a bath for some of the younger people on the trip. The weather and seas were also in our favor on the day of the trip. It started out a little rainy in Juneau but was partly cloudy at the glacier. This is a trip I would recommend to anyone that has the time to take the trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adventure Bound Alaska Tracy Arm Glacier Cruise also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Bound Alaska Tracy Arm Glacier Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing