We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location Euro feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silverbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silverbow Inn
Ranked #4 of 27 Juneau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great location Euro feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

Two nights were great. Front desk is laid back and you may have to buzz the intercom to get someone as they also work over in the bakery right next door. Staff is friendly. Like any tourist town they have a few new faces who may take a bit of time to find what you need. Euro walkup style rooms were clean and well maintained, beds comfortable. AC is opening a window. (not usually an issue in Juneau) Hot tub on deck is great.
It appears two rooms have window opening onto the deck at floor level so may not be the best rooms to have.
Location is perfect to access all the Tourist type ammenities and tours. Parking is an issue downtown. We walked and took taxis so didn't figure out how to work parking.
The 5pm wine tasting is great to meet your fellow travellers and to get the inside scoop on where to eat and what to do.
Good coffee! Breakfast was toast, bagels, waffles ,cereal and quiche. there always was food available through out the day to munch on.

  • Liked — location, ambiance
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HughWhitehorseYT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    88
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
45
116
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, WI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

After reviewing hotel offerings in Juneau, I was surprised to find few decent looking hotels. There seem to be nice B&B's but not a lot of hotels. The Silverbow is a cross between a B&B and hotel. Think of it as a hotel with B&B amenities. Our room was clean with a modern decor. It was small, but we did not spend much time in it. The lobby has a dining area complete with waffle maker, fresh bagels (baked on site at the bagel/coffee shop next door), fruit, yogurt, cereal, and fritattas in the morning. The food made for a great way for our group to start the day and a way to meet other travelers.
The location was ideal in the downtown Juneau area. We could easily walk to all the downtown (tourist) shops and restaurants. We used taxis to get from the airport and Mendenhall Glacier area.
I would recommend the Silverbow and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Available food
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TiQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

Our experience at the SilverBow Inn was disappointing. Although the location is great and the purchased bakery sandwiches or breakfasts were delicious (but quite expensive), it seemed to us as if the hotel is suffering from a lack of management and staff training.

The breakfasts included in the room charge were available in an open room behind the check-in desk. These breakfasts were disappointing to the degree that we purchased our breakfasts at the bakery. As for pastries, the few bagels and slices of bread provided the days we were there were unappealingly presented and we weren't sure what was fresh and what was not, as some items seemed to be there for more than one day. Waffles can be made assuming the staff remembers to make up a batch of mix which didn't always happen. On other mornings, the refrigerator contained a bottle of apparent waffle mix of dubious age. On the plus side, the refrigerator also included various flavors of cream cheese and these were labeled with dates. Apples, bananas, coffee and a great variety of tea bags and hot and cold water were always available.

Here are a couple of examples of additional problems we encountered with the guest breakfast area: There was a half-empty bottle of skim milk in the refrigerator, which I suspect most people were afraid to drink, because four days later the bottle was still there. The frittata was made, I was told, at 3:00 AM in the bakery and sat out all morning with no attempt to keep it warm. Guests were instructed to reheat it in the microwave. Keeping an egg dish at room temperature for five or six hours or more did not seem healthy to us. In the breakfast area there was a tiny table on which to stack dirty dishes, but no attempt was made to clear these away or wipe the table all morning.

Staff attitudes varied enormously, with some being friendly and helpful and some being uncooperative bordering on hostile. There is a need for customer service training, especially in a hotel charging $200+ a day. The odds of finding someone at the front desk were probably on the order of 1 in 5. There is a "press intercom for service" system, but even then we waited at least ten minutes just to check in.

Security and privacy can be a concern with the room we stayed in. The window in our room opened on the roof patio where the hot tub is located. When we came back to our room after it was cleaned (room maintenance was excellent but sometimes didn't take place until late in the day), the windows were left wide open. Anyone could have entered the room from the roof "garden." When someone was on the patio we had to keep our shade drawn and this made the room seem even smaller than it was.

The limited parking is the main reason we never would stay at the Silverbow again. There are three parking spaces at the hotel which were shared by bakery customers. A fourth space is intended for the bakery van. We found the hotel/bakery van parked taking up two spaces on one occasion. When I asked the desk staff to at least align the van correctly, they were resentful. The basic answer you get from the staff is to park on the street. Unfortunately, Monday through Friday street parking within any reasonable distance from the hotel is limited to one hour from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM. Parking on the street across from the hotel during the night is not possible all nights due to street cleaning. The closest self-pay parking lot is three blocks away down a hill, and parking there is limited to a maximum of four hours. This restricts hotel guests’ activities if they want to explore the town due to the need to keep moving a car.

All in all, it seems a shame that a hotel which in the past has had such excellent reviews may be deteriorating in service and quality.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking and Breakfasts
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissouriTraveler25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

My husband and I stayed there for 4 nights while traveling in Alaska in 2007. Our main requirement is to have a local experience--not the cookie-cutter mentality (hey, we're from Santa Cruz!). We enjoyed our stay there. It's a charming vintage hotel, kind of a crossover with a B&B. The staff was very friendly, and the breakfasts were more than adequate. The rooms were not large, but we don't spend much time in the room, and we were happy with the value for the money. Juneau was one of the few places where we decided to rent a car and the parking was not a big deal.

  • Liked — Silverbow bakery, friendly staff, convenient location
  • Disliked — on-street parking
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mswaxcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2008

We were forced to cancel a reservation at this somwhat "haughty" hotel. Although we were well outside the cancellation deadline we were charged a fee ($10) for cancelling. This is bush league and cavalier. One of our reasons for cancelling was the lack of parking mentioned in many TripAdvisor reviews. When we discussed this with the management and asked about options they responded that the parking was for the Bakery and certainly couldn't be expected to be available to the hotel guests! "You could try to find something on the street" was their suggestion. For $200 a night we expect a better attitude and more honesty.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank kerryogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2008

This is a quaint, small, motel in the center of downtown Juneau. It's connected to their own bagel bakery and restaurant which is used to serve breakfast to guests in the mornings.

The room I stayed in was just large enough to hold the full size bed with a little extra room for a small desk along with a outdoor chair. Their wireless internet service is adequate for an email or basic web surfing only.

Although some of their rooms are larger there are more spacious and modern options in Juneau for the price. This motel is more for a short weekend get-a-way for a couple but is not suitable for business travelers.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rooms size and slow internet connection
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chase71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2007

Silverbow Inn is located in downtown Juneau, the right place for shopping and to visit Mount Robert (one of the top Juneau attractions). There are also some restaurants at the harbour opened until late hours (serving dinner until 10pm). We felt at home because the staff was very helpful and gentle and the building and its rooms are furnished as if it was your home, with family photos, books …. Moreover, you can find everything for your personal care in your room or just by requesting to the reception. Concerning to the breakfast this is another positive thing of Silverbow Inn. In fact, you have fresh bread (many types since close to the hotel there is a bakery and a restaurant), you can make your own waffles, eat several delicious cookies, among others. In the afternoon we can enjoy a happy hour, celebrating with wine and cheese. It is quite small so you have to book a room a few weeks ahead (fortunately a new section is under construction that will offer 5 additional rooms).

  • Liked — Staff was very friendly and the breakfast
  • Disliked — Didn't have an elevator
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PT_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.1 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel
Goldbelt Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverbow Inn

Property: Silverbow Inn
Address: 120 2nd St, Juneau, AK 99801-1215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historic downtown Juneau, Alaska at the Silverbow Inn. The Silverbow Inn is an 11-room boutique hotel, located steps away from the best restaurants, shopping and activities in Juneau. Hotel amenities include luxurious bedding, fluffy robes and towels; fun bath amenities such as rubber duckies, shower radios and bath salts. We offer a European-style continental breakfast complete with your favorite espresso or French Press coffee and a cocoa and cookie happy hour every day. Don’t forget a soak in our mountain-view hot tub! Book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silverbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing