We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Silverbow Inn, a Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 September 2007

Silverbow Inn is located in downtown Juneau, the right place for shopping and to visit Mount Robert (one of the top Juneau attractions). There are also some restaurants at the harbour opened until late hours (serving dinner until 10pm). We felt at home because the staff was very helpful and gentle and the building and its rooms are furnished as if it was your home, with family photos, books …. Moreover, you can find everything for your personal care in your room or just by requesting to the reception. Concerning to the breakfast this is another positive thing of Silverbow Inn. In fact, you have fresh bread (many types since close to the hotel there is a bakery and a restaurant), you can make your own waffles, eat several delicious cookies, among others. In the afternoon we can enjoy a happy hour, celebrating with wine and cheese. It is quite small so you have to book a room a few weeks ahead (fortunately a new section is under construction that will offer 5 additional rooms).

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PT_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2007

We stayed here for two nights in August 2007. It is located conveniently in the downtown area, close to shopping and good restaurants. The staff was quite friendly and helpful. It is an old historic hotel, with three stories and just a few rooms..and no elevator.....not modern, but definitely for those who want a unique experience, not just one in a "cookie-cutter" hotel. The breakfast area is in the lobby, where they serve baked goodies from the bakery next door. It was also a fun gathering spot for the wine & cheese tasting in the evenings....where we sat and visited with some of the other guests that were staying there. Great fun!!!
Nancy F., Texas

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveler0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

We (two couples) spent three nights at the Silverbow Inn. We had reserved two hill view queens; one of the rooms was actually a king. There is no view to speak of - the inn is sandwiched in between various buildings; there is a slice of a mountain view (not a big deal, as we did not intend to sit in our rooms!). The rooms are small (space for the bed and a tiny desk), but there was useful storage in drawers under the bed. The beds were very comfortable. It is an old building with the things that go along with that - stairs, creaky floors, etc.

The weather was warm while we were there and there is no a/c. Open windows helped with the temperature, but it was noisy. There is also construction going on on the deck that adjoins some of the rooms (including one of ours).

The rooms and bath were clean and tidy. The common areas are cluttered, but you sort of expect that in a place like this!

The breakfasts included a hot item (fritatta) as well as bagels and other bakery items, granola, waffles, etc. There is also fruit for the taking. Worked great for us.

In the common area there is a fridge where guests can place a few items; there is also a free computer for internet access (thanks!). The staff were uniformly helpful with restaurant reservations, getting laundry done, etc. Parking is VERY limited.

The bakery adjacent prepared 4 box lunches for us on short notice that were delicious!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TexasBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2007

First, I would like to say that the Silverbow has great food. However, they forgot the catering for a wedding event! Accidents happen, but the day before the wedding the owner expected my husband and I to be able to sit and wait for her (she had a meeting for 2 hours). Also, they wanted to charge us a very steep price for the delivery of the order. We had come to pick up the order. Because of the number of errands we needed to do we could not stop by prior to the event and pick up the order that had been forgotten. We were on a tight schedule.

We had just ordered lunch. The poor customer service we had made it next to impossible to enjoy the meal despite it being good.

It was all terribly disappointing. I recommend the Valley Breeze In. They cater and have delicious baked goods! They are well priced.

Once again, Silverbow does have good food. But, I would not recommend them, it truly was not worth the hassle.

Stayed: January 2003, travelled on business
2  Thank mountainsJuneau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2007

We were supposed to spend two nights at The Silver Bow and canceled after the first night. Why?

1. The room was exceptionally small
2. The tub had lots of rust around the spout
3. We waited 15 minutes for a plate of bagels while the hotel-owned bagel restaurant (20 feet down a hallway) was bustling and full of bagels/pastries/breads, etc.
4. We were told it would be an HOUR wait for the hot breakfast dish!!! We didn't have the time to wait for this even though it was included in the $165.00 night room rate!!!!
These issues aside, there were some positives about the hotel including a nice homey/funky, European pension feel. The pastries next door were exceptional and the staff (in general) were very helpful and nice.
All this would have made sense if the room was $80/night. But we moved to the Best Western, saved $30, and had a (cold )breakfast that we served ourselves.

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

Frankly, the Silverbow's advertising promises a totally different experience than it delivered. I booked the Silverbow (based upon its website) as as surprise for my wife...she certainly was surprised!:

1. In general, the premises appear not only very old (as expected of a 'historic' building), but it also unexpectedly lacked cleanliness in its 'public' areas (though our room and bath meet basic standards).

Almost every wall in the public areas is generally smudged and dingy, over-furnished...and appear unpainted in last 30 years. The carpet is old (historic?) and excessively worn.
2. In addition, there are piles of miscellaneous items both upstairs (fully exposed cleaning items + junk?) and especially downstairs (in office, breakfast room, and dining room/so-called "theater").
3. We showed up for the advertised 'wine tasting' and though bottles of both red and white were on the tray, it was clear only the one of our preference would be opened.
4. The upstairs floor makes loudest and the most awful noises imaginable; announcing every single person's passage over a distance of 20-25 feet (and as you would expect, some guests do arrive very late). We've been in many historic buildings, squeaky floors are repairable!
5. Our room was VERY hot, and required an open window (no air conditioning). The noise from the obviously defective air conditioner condenser next door (and just outside our window) prevented a good night's sleep.
6. To say the Silverbow is overpriced is a kindness, as no price is worthy of our experience.
7. The only positive part of our Silverbow experience was our bakery breakfast bags on our 4:30am departure to the airport.

Obviously, based upon our unsatisfactory Silverbow experience, we would not incourage anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2007

on our first trip to alaska, we decided not to stay at one of the bigger hotels, but to be at an inn where there was more of a personal touch. the silverbow was just such a place. it had old photos of early juneau, beautiful antiques and fresh bakery items 24 hours per day from the bakery right next door.

when we left, we had to get up and be at the airport by 5 a.m. The silverbow had a yummy breakfast -to- go waiting for us of fresh bagels and cream cheese, brownies and a drink. the staff was helpful and there was lots of tourist resourses available in their quaint seating area around a big wood dining room table.

the inn was centrally located in downtown juneau, close to restaurants and the wharf. we would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank repunsil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
8 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Juneau
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
7.1 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverbow Inn, a Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverbow Inn, a Boutique Hotel

Address: 120 2nd St, Juneau, AK 99801-1215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £98 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Silverbow Inn, a Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of historic downtown Juneau, Alaska at the Silverbow Inn. The Silverbow Inn is a 12-room boutique hotel, located steps away from the best restaurants, shopping and activities in Juneau. Hotel amenities include luxurious bedding, fluffy robes and towels; fun bath amenities such as rubber duckies, shower radios and bath salts. We offer a European-style continental breakfast complete with your favorite espresso or French Press coffee and a cocoa and cookie happy hour every day. Don’t forget a soak in our mountain-view hot tub! Book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silverbow Inn, a Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing