We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helicopter Flightseeing & Glacier Walkabout” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NorthStar Trekking

NorthStar Trekking
Ranked #15 of 78 Outdoor Activities in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Helicopter trekking company offering 3 levels of trekking adventures all with helicopter flight seeing included. These tours are fully outfitted with no experience necessary
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Helicopter Flightseeing & Glacier Walkabout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was the best excursion we took on our Alaskan cruise. We booked the Helicopter Flightseeing & Glacier Walkabout through Carnival. Do not be swayed by the high price tag. This tour is worth every penny! This was truly a once in a lifetime experience!

Once everyone assembled, they took us in a van to the location of the helicopter pad. It was a relatively short distance, maybe 10-15 minute drive. Upon arriving, they had a bag with each person’s name on it. Inside the bag was a red/orange jacket for each person (they said you must wear theirs for safety reasons), a pair of wind pants (to go over the pants you wore), boots, gloves, hip/fanny pack (not sure the technical name) – which included a granola bar and bottle of while for when you were on the excursion. Once everyone was suited up, they took the group outside to go over some ground rules for when the helicopters arrived.

The sights from the helicopter were AMAZING! You were literally flying right over the glaciers. You got to see forests, bodies of water, etc. Unfortunately, we didn’t see any wildlife from above. When we landed on the glacier, we were immediately greeted by our two guides who started putting the crampons on each person. Once everyone was suited up in their crampons, they guides walked us around to various areas of the glaciers showing us different things and answering any questions we had. We even got to drink glacier water straight from the glacier! After an hour of walking around, the helicopters came back to get us. Then, there was a short flight back to the heli pad, removed our gear, then shuttled back to the port. It was a perfect day in port!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    7
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Worth every penny!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This excursion was a little pricey, but after doing it, I would so do it again! It was absolutely breath-taking. Alex, the pilot was very knowledgeable & competent. The glacier guides, Grace & Makela were wonderful. It was so amazing to actually walk on this glacier. And, yes, there is always and 'easy way'!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rndoceanside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do not miss this experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

What a well done trip. From Ken, who drove us to and from to Alex and Danny who flew us to and from the glacier I cannot say enough nice things. Ken was such a pleasure to meet and to hear his knowledge of the area as he is a true Tlingit native. I could have listened to his stories for hours. Our guide on the glacier was Hank and another pleasure to meet such an attentive, knowledgable and thoughtful guide. This was a trip that defies words of description. Take this trip!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank astrosfan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmwood Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

From the office staff pilot Alex guide Doug my husband and I saw the most beautiful sights. Worth every penny. This trek to the glacier was the highlight of our trip. The beauty of the glacier and mountains were unsurpassed. Thanks to all!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I was terrified to think about flying in a helicopter and then spend 3 hours hiking on a glacier. Plus it was rather expensive. However, I must say this was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip to Alaska. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the employees of the North Star Trekking Company. Their emphasis on safety was incredible. Once in the helicopter we flew over mountains with commentary from the pilot. Once we landed we were fitted with crampons on our boots which enabled us to walk easily on the glacier. Our guides were so encouraging and patient, explaining and allowing us to practice before actually walking on uneven terrain. This company provides all of the necessary equipment, including jackets,etc. At one point our guide told us that we would be climbing a vertical wall. I told him that I just would not do this, and he replied, "Well, you paid for it." So after I watched some of the others in our group, I decided to try it. Wow, it was amazing and worth conquering your fears. I HIGHLY recommend doing this adventure on the Mendenhall Glacier!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NorthStar Trekking also viewed

 

Been to NorthStar Trekking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing