We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State Capital Building Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The State Capitol Building

The State Capitol Building
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour
Ranked #40 of 78 things to do in Juneau
Attraction details
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“State Capital Building Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was a free tour and it was excellent. Our group of 6 independent travelers were thrilled to get out of the rain, but it would have been worth it on the prettiest day as well. Our guide was very thorough and knowledgeble. So glad we happened upon this worthwhile, educational treat

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kristina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    47
    33
    16
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“noon on the 8th flr”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

noon the organ is played. song of yesteryear & the acoustics unbelievable. there is also the state library where you can look up old micro-scripts of historical articles & photographs! there is also coffee shops (2x) & you can get a bite to eat as you enjoy the noon performance!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 99801TinaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
403 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Alaska History Lives Here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We are history buffs and have toured quite a number of State Capitols, so we had to do Juneau. As expected, there is no dome and it doesn't compare in majesty to many others. We really enjoyed the tour and the guides' pride in Alaska's statehood. It was the territorial office building before statehood. From the ship it was all an uphill walk. We are really glad we had the opportunity to see it and it took maybe an hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnC576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
269 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“I almost walked into the Governor's office!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Coming from Michigan where we cannot do this, it surprised me that we were able to wander all over the capitol building on our own! We enjoyed the old pictures and reading about the history of the building but did it in about 20 minutes. Most interesting was how the governor's office was accessible and open AND there were no state troopers doing the TSA routine on entry!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“If you're into state capitols, this is one.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

A nicely done, simple tour given by a local. The legislature isn't in session much - so you're mostly getting a history lesson and a view of the building. As such, nicely done. Note: In Summer 2014 the building was under extensive renovation so there were areas we couldn't go, but we got to see the important things.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The State Capitol Building also viewed

 

Been to The State Capitol Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing