We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Home Away From Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Juneau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 26 Juneau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wrangell, Alaska
1 review
“Awesome Home Away From Home!”
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Dale and HoneyBee greeted and treated us like family, even after our late night arrival! The rooms are great with the quiet, comfortable and awesome setting right there on the lake. We loved the Alaskan theme of their house and the no pressure, come and go as you wish atmosphere. We have stayed there at least 8 different occassions and always give them a call when we know we will be in town. Two Thumbs Up...Thanks!!.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KemHaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    22
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
37
70
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We went to this B&B with friends. We have never been so disappointed.

We were made to feel UNWELCOME. We felt like intruders in a private home.
From the first moment we arrived, Dale made us feel that we were inconvenient disturbance to his day.

Although the house is set on a lovely lake in a lovely spot, the house is decorated like a gruesome museum with animal skins, stuffed elephant's feet, stuffed bears and animal heads. If you bring your children, be prepared for nightmares.

The bathroom was left dirty with hair in the sink and tub. The coffee pot in the room was left filthy with a rotted, moldy coffee filter festering inside. The washer and dryer were never available for use by guests since they were always stuffed with towels and sheets that were never removed until the next day. Every surface of the house was covered with dog hair. The dogs were allowed to roam the whole house and did their "business" wherever they chose. The walk to the lake is like a dog poop minefield.

There is no common area to sit or visit inside the house. On rainy days we were forced to either stay in our rooms or sit outside in the rain. The outdoor heater was not available because it had run out of gas and Dale refused to replace the tank despite several requests. We tried to barbeque, but the barbeque was filthy and, after cleaning, it ran out of gas half way through our cooking. You'd think we asked for the life of his first born child when we requested a change of gas tank. Dale stormed out of the house in a huff and banged the tank into place. When we offered to help, he snapped, "Do you want the tank changed or not?" Not exactly accommodating.

The hot tub was hot for our first night only, then it was shut off for the rest of our stay. One couple came down from their room to try out the hot tub but couldn't stand the icy cold water. They left the next morning.

The owner does put out muffins and coffee for breakfast for the guests' breakfast. He gets up at around 5AM to make bacon and eggs for himself, but he doesn't offer to share.

There are no sweeping views (as described) from the lakeside suite. You can catch a glimpse of the lake around a corner of the house.

The owner refused to provide a chair for us to sit on in our room. We were not allowed in the main part of the house after breakfast. That was "family time."

We went with friends expecting an intimate cozy retreat and instead we found rudeness and downright hostility. We left after only three days (we originally planned to stay a week) as soon as we could find ANYWHERE else to stay.

The other guests at the B&B had similar comments and we wondered just WHAT was the problem with Dale and Honeybee. We moved to a motel near the airport. It didn't have the view but we felt more personally welcome than we did by Dale and Honeybee.

Skip this place. Go ANYWHERE else. If you venture to this supposed B&B, you will be sorry. Not worth the money, even for free.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank INeverForget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 June 2010
It is amazing that people can write such a tale and not be accountable to anyone for fact vs. fiction. For the past 15 years, we have had the pleasure of meeting, hosting and entertaining guests from around the world here at Auke Lake. We have chosen to share our home with "strangers" (who beocme friends) because of the opportunity to share our lifestyle, culture and the essence of Alaska in exchange for learning more about their's. Each B&B has its own unique experience, services and personality. In our experience, that is why travelers choose this type of accommodations over a motel/hotel environment. Suitable expectations of these first time guests may be what set the tone for their visit. Anytime there is an oil and water situation like this in life, you can depend on two very different stories. Here is our response :
- This one starts at 9am in the morning, six hours before our check-in time, two hours before the present guests were even expected to check out... six guests arrive unexpectedly at the front door wanting their rooms. We always try to accommodate early arrivals or late departures if possible, but we ask that it be arranged ahead of time.
- We offered to take their bags and make sure the rooms were ready and cleaned when they returned at 3. They left in a huff and returned at 11am right when the housekeeping staff was beginning their daily routine. The staff was chided, treated rudely and asked to hurry through their chores... and giving "dissappointed" the benefit of the doubt, they may have missed a strand or two of hair in the tub drain. The moldy coffee filter... a figment of their imagination.
- You can go on our website to see the descriptions and photos of each of the rooms... the two rooms occupied by the two couples were the Serengeti Suite and the Lakeside Suite.
- This is Alaska... where hunting and fishing in the last frontier is a privilege and a favorite acitivty for recreation and subsistence. The natural history aspect of displaying incredible wildife mounts to help remember great outdoor adventures is not gruesome and is found enjoyable and educational by 99.9% of our guests..
- The laundry room is made available free of charge to our guests but keeping the towels and linens clean and ready are first priority for the comfort of our guests.
- The hot tub was occupied by their two young boys for 3+ hous the first day they were here. After it was nearly emptied by excessive splashing and playing as young boys do, I topped it off and cleaned/mopped up so it would be ready for the next guests. I did not discover until the next day that they had fiddled with all the controls and had turned off the heater. With the new water added (over 500 gallons) and the heat off, it was cold the next day. When the problem was discovered, it was resolved by resetting the controls but it simply takes time to heat a 650 gallon hot tub.
- The dogs do not roam the entire house. They are not allowed on the second floor where all the B&B rooms are... or in the kitchen. We have electonic collars set up to ensure that they do not go in those areas.
- Why would we have purchased and provided a propane heater, a propane firepit, a gazebo that has all the bells and whstles to enclose it if desired with a propane BBQ for our guests and then not want them to enjoy the use of them? There are rules and procedures to follow in operating any gas appliances... we simply ask our guests to abide by them for everyone's safety and enjoyment.
- We have never advertised full breakfasts but if anyone wants to share time in the kitchen with me between 4-5:30 am while I am baking fresh muffins and doing food prep, I will share eggs and bacon (I eat bacon maybe once a month) with them. The bagels, toast, english muffins, 3-4 varieties of fresh fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, 3 types of cereal, juices, coffee/tea and of course, the fresh muffins have been the advertised breakfast items since 1996.

I have been the tourism/hospitality business for my entire life and understand customer service and have always strived to have a great product and service as a cornerstone in the business plan. Have I batted a 1,000? No one has, that I know of... but this attack on our business and our family is not warranted. We pledge to give you a pleasant and warm welcome to Alaska and our B&B. Dale and HoneyBee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The rooms were not very clean (hair in bathtub, mold in coffee pot and toilet clogged). The rooms were adequate but there was not common area except outside. Our week was very rainy and cold and the outside area just didn't work. We did not feel welcome and in fact felt as if we were imposing even though we paid premium for the rooms. Location is very pretty but probably would not recommend to fellow travelers. We just felt too uncomfortable and certainly not cozy with all the stuffed animals staring at you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PunkinWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

The best thing about this B & B is its situation by the lake. But without a car you would be rather stuck as downtown Juneau is about 10 miles away and both airport and ferry terminal are a few miles away (in different directions). Our 3 night stay was on the whole very enjoyable but unfortunately marred by the unfortunate incident of a overflowing toilet on day 1. We were moved from the "Alpine Room" with the lovely view and the dodgy plumbing to a larger back room without the view. It was fortunate that the other room was available as the bathroom floor in our first room was covered in foul water. If one could be sure that this plumbing problem was a one-off then this is a nice, quiet place to stay but you do need a car.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We scheduled our visit to Juneau to come at the end of a two week trip to Alaska that involved a lot of hiking. We were looking forward to staying someplace that was comfortable (after a sketchy stay outside of Denali). Auke Lake B&B was comfortable and more - very quiet, clean and new with all of the amenities that you could want. We will definitely be back if we get the chance to go to Juneau again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We "found" this B and B because Pearson's Pond was booked for this day and moved us here so that we could complete our stay in Juneau with them later. I would never have found this bed and breakfast on my own but it was beautifully situated on Auke Lake with lovely views (we were in what I suspect was their best room with huge windows overlooking the lake and a big rustic wood bed).
Not conveniently located to downtown Juneau (15-20 mins drive away).
Definitely feels as if you are staying in someone's home. Our room had no convenient place to hang clothes, nor desk space to do work, but there was a private entrance so you could access the room without walking through the owners living quarters. The large stuffed game animals were a bit odd for those of us from the "lower 48" who do not routinely hunt, but the owners were gracious and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne P. T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
3.1 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
9.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#7 of 17 in Juneau
142 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn
Silverbow Inn
#4 of 17 in Juneau
303 reviews
10.2 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
433 reviews
10.0 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast

Property: Auke Lake Bed & Breakfast
Address: 11595 Mendenhall Loop Road, Juneau, AK 99801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing