We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable experience”

Adventures in Alaska
Book In Advance
More Info
US$189.00*
and up
Whale Watching and Wildlife Adventure from Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventures in Alaska is owned and operated by a local family. Offering a unique and personalized way to experience the wonder of whale watching in Southeast Alaska, we pride ourselves in providing you with a truly Alaskan experience. Our hope is that your adventure aboard the M/V SCANIA will be the highlight of your visit to Alaska. We offer the longest "standard" tours in Juneau at a lesser price per hour than the competition. This, along with the fact that we carry a third the number of passengers than most similar-sized whale-watch boats in Juneau, lets us provide real value to families and small groups. Our focus is on customer service, education and fun. Full refunds if you get seasick, or if we don't find a whale.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Unforgetable experience”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First we had to change the date for Scania's adventure ,because our cruise was cancelled so we arrived to Juneau three days later.The Scania family was quick and efficient dealing with this last minute change.
We went to sea with Cap Allan who welcomed us gracefully,and we felt immediately that there is someone we can feel safe with.The boat is an amazingly strong machine very fast and maneuverable which is most important for whale watching and extremely spacious.Then whales started to arrive,while Cap Allan lead the whole group of other boats to their position.We saw Killer whales which are rare at Juneau's waters,and later Humpbacks lots and lots of them.One calf even performed for us a double jump.We still carry the taste of Allan's crackers with the Salmon spread.After almost four hours we returned to shore with an experience lasting for lifetime.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Nachum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    8
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Commerce City, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whale watching with Cpt. Alan Corbett”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Whale watching on the SCANIA in Juneau Alaska with Cpt. Alan was the highlight of our cruise. We have been on this excursion three years in a row and will be booking our 2014 trip with Cpt. Alan soon. Our excursion in Sept was phenomenal as far as the number of humpback whales that we saw breaching and several whales passed close to the boat and allowed us to get fantastic photos. We also saw killer whales that put on quite a show for us. Cpt. Alan was just as excited as we were when two whales breached together close to the boat. We could not have asked for more perfect weather that day and are always amazed at the vast knowledge that Cpt. Alan has of Alaska and the wildlife. We have attached some of the pictures for your enjoyment. We look forward to our fourth trip on the Scania next Sept!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whale Watching Excursion”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just returned from a great cruise and land trip to Alaska. One of the highlights was our day of whale watching with Captain Alan Corbett. Capt. Alan can be described as Professional, Courteous, Hospitable, Patient, and very Knowledgeable about Alaska. We were able to see more whales than we ever imagined and even saw over 50 sea lion on a small island. The trip was FANTASTIC and I would absolutely recommend it over the excursions offered on the ships. We were only three on this boat watching the same whales that our cruise ship excursion were watching; however, there were about 50 on that boat. The personalized service was the best!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatest Trip Ever!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This excursion was absolutely the best I have ever been on. We were met outside of the ship by Capt Jack who drove us to the boat. Along the way he was very informative on the landscape and wildlife. We learned quite a bit about eagles. Once at the boat Capt Alan took over and gave us a very personal tour. We were told the boat usually holds 8-12 passengers so you receive plenty of attention. We saw boats with over 50 people all together trying to get that perfect picture. We were fortunate that our group of 3 were the only guest. We saw at least 10 humpback whales and Capt Alan took us to the area the sea lions hang out since we asked so many questions during the tour. We were all surprised to see an island full of sea lions sunning and playing. What was really special is that Capt Alan got as excited as we did every time we saw a whale or the sea lions. He really loves his job and made us feel special. This is a great company and a must do while in Juneau.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whale Watching in Juneau”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This was to be one of the highlights of our trip up the Inside passage on a day when our cruise ship docked in Juneau. I had booked the trip months before our cruise via Trip Advisor comments and we were not disappointed. Everything was perfect from the pick up from the quayside in the early morning, the journey to where the boat was moored,(lady taxi driver was very knowledgeable, told us lots about Juneau and its surroundings, also very good driver).When we reached the harbour we were met by Capt. Alan who took us straight to the boat, a twin hulled very fast boat and we were off ( 45mins from the cruise ship to Capt. Alan's boat). It appeared that we were the first out searching for Humpback whales and we found them after going in and out of sea fog. What an experience to see these magnificent whales in their natural environment, truly amazing. Capt. Alan was in contact periodically with other boats that arrived informing them of whale activity and vice-versa. He noticed that two corporate boats were stationary so we moved to see what they were watching and found to our amazement that a pod of Orca whales were swimming nearby. Capt. Alan duly informed all the non-corporate boats so that their passengers could see the Orca whales. We followed this pod of Orca's for over 45 minutes marvelling at them in their true environment, not in a Sea World location. All this time the Humpback whales all around us were feeding on herring, Time just flew by (3.5hrs) and soon we had to return to the boat mooring marina. This independent tour has to be the best there is, nothing is too much for the passengers. There were 4 in our party and we were all left spellbound by what we had seen, the smoothness and hospitality of the trip. A real winner.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank stuart6609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Adventures in Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing