We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Adventures in Alaska
Book In Advance
More Info
US$189.00*
and up
Whale Watching and Wildlife Adventure from Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Adventures in Alaska is owned and operated by a local family. Offering a unique and personalized way to experience the wonder of whale watching in Southeast Alaska, we pride ourselves in providing you with a truly Alaskan experience. Our hope is that your adventure aboard the M/V SCANIA will be the highlight of your visit to Alaska. We offer the longest "standard" tours in Juneau at a lesser price per hour than the competition. This, along with the fact that we carry a third the number of passengers than most similar-sized whale-watch boats in Juneau, lets us provide real value to families and small groups. Our focus is on customer service, education and fun. Full refunds if you get seasick, or if we don't find a whale.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Barrie, ON Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our group used Adventures in Alaska to go whale watching in Juneau, they were friendly and knowledgable, I found Alan's plastic whale show quite entertaining. They provide a great alternative to the larger whale watching tours with much more personalized tour and experience- It was like being out in a boat with some friends Alan and Jack were great hosts and I would recommend using them for Whale Watching or fishing, they were more than willing to answer questions about whales and the area in general. I found this one of the highlights of our Alaska cruise. I'm sure it helped that the whales were active on the day we were out (Sept 10-2013). thanks!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigGuyBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    8
    2
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Unforgetable experience”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

First we had to change the date for Scania's adventure ,because our cruise was cancelled so we arrived to Juneau three days later.The Scania family was quick and efficient dealing with this last minute change.
We went to sea with Cap Allan who welcomed us gracefully,and we felt immediately that there is someone we can feel safe with.The boat is an amazingly strong machine very fast and maneuverable which is most important for whale watching and extremely spacious.Then whales started to arrive,while Cap Allan lead the whole group of other boats to their position.We saw Killer whales which are rare at Juneau's waters,and later Humpbacks lots and lots of them.One calf even performed for us a double jump.We still carry the taste of Allan's crackers with the Salmon spread.After almost four hours we returned to shore with an experience lasting for lifetime.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Nachum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce City, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whale watching with Cpt. Alan Corbett”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Whale watching on the SCANIA in Juneau Alaska with Cpt. Alan was the highlight of our cruise. We have been on this excursion three years in a row and will be booking our 2014 trip with Cpt. Alan soon. Our excursion in Sept was phenomenal as far as the number of humpback whales that we saw breaching and several whales passed close to the boat and allowed us to get fantastic photos. We also saw killer whales that put on quite a show for us. Cpt. Alan was just as excited as we were when two whales breached together close to the boat. We could not have asked for more perfect weather that day and are always amazed at the vast knowledge that Cpt. Alan has of Alaska and the wildlife. We have attached some of the pictures for your enjoyment. We look forward to our fourth trip on the Scania next Sept!

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whale Watching Excursion”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Just returned from a great cruise and land trip to Alaska. One of the highlights was our day of whale watching with Captain Alan Corbett. Capt. Alan can be described as Professional, Courteous, Hospitable, Patient, and very Knowledgeable about Alaska. We were able to see more whales than we ever imagined and even saw over 50 sea lion on a small island. The trip was FANTASTIC and I would absolutely recommend it over the excursions offered on the ships. We were only three on this boat watching the same whales that our cruise ship excursion were watching; however, there were about 50 on that boat. The personalized service was the best!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
1 review
“Greatest Trip Ever!!!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This excursion was absolutely the best I have ever been on. We were met outside of the ship by Capt Jack who drove us to the boat. Along the way he was very informative on the landscape and wildlife. We learned quite a bit about eagles. Once at the boat Capt Alan took over and gave us a very personal tour. We were told the boat usually holds 8-12 passengers so you receive plenty of attention. We saw boats with over 50 people all together trying to get that perfect picture. We were fortunate that our group of 3 were the only guest. We saw at least 10 humpback whales and Capt Alan took us to the area the sea lions hang out since we asked so many questions during the tour. We were all surprised to see an island full of sea lions sunning and playing. What was really special is that Capt Alan got as excited as we did every time we saw a whale or the sea lions. He really loves his job and made us feel special. This is a great company and a must do while in Juneau.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Adventures in Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing