We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales Everywhere!! Amazing!!”
Review of Juneau Whale Watch

Juneau Whale Watch
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Whale Watch and Mendenhall Glacier Combo Tour
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: City and Mendenhall Glacier Tour with Seafood Lunch or...
Ranked #1 of 81 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get the most out of your shore excursion in Juneau with our central port pick-up, flexible schedule at the Mendenhall Glacier Park and deluxe whale watching boats!
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Whales Everywhere!! Amazing!!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My husband and I took the Best of Juneau Whale Watching, Mendenhall Glacier and Salmon Bake Excursion in Juneau Alaska. Wow, Great Excursion! Our bus driver was very knowledgeable and funny, we really enjoyed the ride over to boat, the glacier and back to the dock. The whale-watching boat and crew were awesome. The boat was roomy and very comfortable, we were sheltered from the cold by floor to ceiling windows where we could watch the amazing sights, whales and seals were everywhere, it was so exciting! You could also go up on the top deck to get better pictures in the open air. The hot chocolate was delicious! We also had a naturalist on board who shared some great information about the whales and the area. We stopped at an island cabin for a delicious meal (Salmon, Chicken, Cabbage Slaw, Macaroni and cheese and yummy warm brownies!). We also saw some Eagles while on the island. Mendenhall glacier was breath-taking, wish we would have had longer than an hour for this portion of the tour, that just wasn't enough time, 2 hours would have been perfect! We also got to see the Salmon swimming upstream which was so cool. We barely missed seeing the bear who had just recently partially eaten a salmon out of the stream, man, guess we will have to catch that on our next trip to Alaska :-). We had an awesome time on this excursion and highly recommend it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,212
    145
    24
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“whale watching and photo safari in Juneau Alaska”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I just returned from 7 DAY ALASKA cruise with Princess Cruises with my 8 year old grandson. We arranged a Photo safari and whale watching excursion with Gastineau Guiding in Juneau, Alaska, our first port of call. Our guide Brian Hild and out captain were awesome. Brian was patient, interesting and communicated excellent photo taking skills to our 11 person group and helped us all with our diverse cameras. We saw many humpback and killer whales as well as huge stellar sea lions. Our captain ensured that we travelled to the best locations to whale watch.
I can highly recommend Gastineau Guiding.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise-Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Humpback Whale Viewing”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My family and I took a 2-hour excursion with Juneau Whale Watch. Tetauira Putoa ("T") was our captain. He and the tour were great. We watched a dozen whales, often close up, for about an hour. 'T' also took us to see a couple of eagles and, later, a buoy full of sea lions. This tour was an excellent use of our vacation time and money. 'T' did a great job and added to the fun of the excursion.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good size boat and tour”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our cruise line had waitlisted us for a whale watch, so a couple of weeks before we got to Juneau we booked this whale watch via the internet. We wanted a boat large enough to be stable and small enough so it wasn't crowded. The boat was an aluminum catamaran of about 25-30feet and held about 20 passengers. It was a great size. They as well as others are at the main docks, Drove to Auke Bay to board, motored out the Saginaw Passage to Shelter Island to the "whale" area - a location where the outgoing tide brings bait fish to the feeders. Saw many pods of humpbacks, also some sealions (both in the water and lounging on the bell buoy/channel marker) and then some bald eagles. The boat is speedy, comfortable, had snacks and water, and had a great skipper and crew-Thanks for a good show!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparky6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby Hills, OH
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loving the Whales”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stopped in Juneau on our cruise & had not yet planned a shore excursion. Signed up for Juneau Whale Watch on the pier. The bus picked us up & took us to the tour boat.Our captain "T" and first mate "Gabi" were terrific tour guides. Fast boat; knew where to find the whales; involved all their guests in conversation & were engaging & informative. Saw numerous gray whales, diving (tail wave) and breaching, which was great. Saw eagles, as well. They even provided a snack & water, which some tours charge for. Great afternoon on the water on a sunny day. Well worth the money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Juneau Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing