We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whales!”
Review of Juneau Whale Watch

Juneau Whale Watch
Book In Advance
More Info
US$135.00*
and up
Juneau Shore Excursion: Mendenhall Glacier, Whale-Watching Cruise and City Tour
Ranked #1 of 86 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get the most out of your shore excursion in Juneau with our central port pick-up, flexible schedule at the Mendenhall Glacier Park and deluxe whale watching boats!
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Whales!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We saw at least a dozen humpbacks, with one breaching. It was a spectacular sight. The crew were very helpful and knowledgable. The trip was significantly cheaper than booking through the cruise line. After the whale watch, a bus dropped us off at the Mendenhall glacier, which I also reccomend!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lteitler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,781
    121
    24
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exciting”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a fabulous time with Captain Ken, Rachel, and Brenden on our whale watching adventure. The staff was especially polite and attentive and provided an excellent overview of what we were seeing. My children and I learned a lot and were especially impressed by the gracefulness of the humpback we saw jump out of the water!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great whale watching ”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Rachel and Captain Ken had a spidey sense for locating some great whales, even catching a breeching whale (I was looking for a sea lion so missed that special shot). We were all really impressed and had a great time. Top notch outfit. "So much fun!", said Josh, the 12 year old nephew.

Helpful?
2 Thank menardnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were on a cruise, but booked this trip at the harbour side. About half a dozen mini kiosks selling various trips. I normally steer clear of this type of selling, but the guy Cory was very friendly and wasn't at all pushy. The trip was about 30 dollars cheaper than if we had purchased on the ship.Decided to go ahead (particularly as they were offering 100% money back if you didn't see whales). We had a beautiful day and went out on a fast boat, where we saw our first humpback whale. Fantastic, so close to the boat. Moving on, we saw another whale close up. We then went to the area where they were feeding. Bubble net feeding it how it was described, where the whales dive down and blow bubbles up which bring the fish to the surface. Ten or twelve whales breaking the surface each time. Breathtaking and awesome! I am sure there are other companies that do trips, but these guys certainly know where to go for the whales. Do it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave932014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Tour Is Terrible...”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

... For people who hate seeing whales!

This tour was fantastic. My grandfather and I went for his 80th birthday as part of an Alaskan adventure. He is exceptionally hard to please, but he easily said that the whale tour through Juneau Whale Watch was the best part of our whole trip. Michelle was our Naturalist and Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Whales. She was very informative and could answer all my questions, which is great! Because I knew nothing about whales. We saw a baby humpback whale breach, and it was one of the most breathtaking experiences of my life. Michelle restored my faith in tour guides. The experience would have been merely an empty husk of what it was without Michelle guiding us.

Thank you so much. 5/5 stars. Would do again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Juneau Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing