We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and perfect Whale Watching trip in beautiful Juneau with Moore Charters”
Review of Moore Charters

Moore Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore the best of Juneau Alaska with someone who lives it every day. Captain Grant has lived and worked in Southeast Alaska most of his life. Moore Charters boats meet and exceed U.S. Coast Guard safety regulations. When you go on a trip with Moore Charters, you’ll experience the local flavor that makes Juneau the most unique Capital city in the U.S. Whether it’s a day of fishing, whale watching or water taxi service, Moore Charters consistently provides a professional experience with local flair. Thanks,Captain Grantley Moore
Lake Worth
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic and perfect Whale Watching trip in beautiful Juneau with Moore Charters”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

June 10th, 2014 in Juneau, Alaska we experienced the perfect Whale watching trip with Moore Charters. This was absolutely the high light of our Alaska cruise and trip. We booked a private 6 person trip on the catamaran Equinox and it was by far the most amazing experience we have ever had. Every detail was handled efficiently and professionally. Years ago I had been on a very crowded 150 person boat in Juneau for Whale Watching and it did not compare with the smaller, personal boat. Captain Grantley made all the arrangements for the shuttle to pick us up at the dock and drop us off at Mendenhall Glacier at the end.
When we got to Auke Bay we met Captain Anies. He was awesome...the weather was beautiful, nice and cool with lots of sunshine. Captain Anies was extremely knowledgeable with the waters, whales, Alaska and so much more and so cute. The perfect guide and captain. The boat was very clean and perfect for whale watching. The scenery was so amazing we decided ALL of the whales we saw, tails and all were a bonus. We saw lots of whales, sea lions, bald eagles and breath taking scenery. I highly recommend booking a Whale Watch or fishing trip with Moore Charters in Juneau. I promise you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dviau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    5
    0
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Grant is a wonderful captain and Kate is a great young crew. His crew was on time, provided transportation for our ship and back, provided lunch and snacks. We enjoyed an entire day on the water, surrounded with wildlife. We tried, and tried to catch a fish story, but no luck, not that Grant didn't keep trying. All and all, a great time was had by all (6).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a great time! We saw whales, eagles, sea lions, and ton of different kind of birds, and the scenery itself was amazing. Thank you Moore Charters.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LuluGonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fishing and a show!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Grant and his team at Moore Charters helped us have a fantastic fishing experience, and we saw some whales along the way! We went out for the 6 hour halibut and salmon charter with Capt. Tyler. He was extremely knowledgeable of the area and took us to a great spot where we had the best chance of catching some halibut. After reeling in 2 big ones in the first half hour, we were shocked! The rest of the day was awesome. A couple guys on the boat caught some rock fish, and then we even ended up in an Orca pod with the most amazing views (whales were LITERALLY jumping out of the water). These guys are great and their prices are totally reasonable. Boats/facilities are clean, and they even provide drinks and snacks. They also skillfully clean and fillet your fish at the end of the trip which was really helpful. Wouldn't dream of fishing with anybody else!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
2 reviews
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I could not have asked for any better experience. I had never gone fishing and it was my first trip to Alaska. We booked Moore Charters with little knowledge of the business and we were so lucky to have chosen to work with them. We saw whales, learned so much about the area and caught halibut, rockfish and ling cod. It was a beautiful and exhilarating day!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moore Charters also viewed

 

Been to Moore Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing