We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as long as you don't hold strong political opinions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alaska's Capital Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 26 Juneau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed here twice in one vacation - before and after spending time in Gustavus and were happy that Linda was able to accommodate our request for a one-night stay the second time. We loved, loved, loved the inn and appreciated all the effort Linda and Mark put into its restoration. Also, many thanks to Linda for being so willing to discuss their renovation and share information and tips.

Linda and Mark were wonderful hosts - what I enjoyed the most was Linda's interest in what we did each day and how we enjoyed it. She was very patient in listening to our daily adventures and we felt like we were re-living them when we told her about our experiences. I'm sure she's heard it all a hundred times but still shared in our excitement. Linda also provides helpful insights and stories during breakfast. It's very nice that she sits with the guests.

We loved the room - we booked John's room both times. The public areas of the inn were very comfortable and filled with lots of reading material and reference books on Alaska. And their lovely Scottie, Duffy is a perfect mascot. (Too bad he didn't fit in my carry on!)

Linda and Mark hold strong political views which can be a bit uncomfortable. But otherwise, an absolutely enchanting inn.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joni*girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here albeit short. Breakfast wS fantastic. Linda & Mark have a gift of making you feel apart of their family and life. We had a perfect night & day with them and they even helped us get hitched! Thank you both and we can't wait to return!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank bwh1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here in early May 2014 (2 rooms for us and our daughter) and it was absolutely wonderful! Mark and Linda are both wonderful people and great hosts. They not only ensure there is coffee and breakfast early every morning, but they take the time to tell you about all the things to do during your stay. The house is really nice, but also very comfortable. I don't write many review (almost never), but this was so nice in hospitality, comfort, location, value, etc, that I decided to make sure others knew. Juneau is a great place to visit with so many wonderful people and one-of-kind places to visit (Glacier and Ice Caves were like no other - St. Therese shrine was so peaceful - the parks were like postcards). We'll be back... Thanks so much Linda and Mark!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were great... no issues!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A business trip to Alaska would not have been nearly as enjoyable if I had not been lucky enough to make this wonderful "find." You could not ask for a more pleasant B&B experience than that provided by hosts Linda and Mark, their dog, Duffy, the enchanting surroundings of the mansion they have painstakingly restored, the daily gourmet breakfast, and the little "touches and treats " that abound. Every need was graciously and expertly met, and every question answered. My next trip to Juneau will be for pure pleasure...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HajimeFridayHarbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is the ultimate in B&B experiences, in my view. Linda and Mark are extraordinarily adept at providing every possible thing to make you feel welcome and comfortable, while not being the slightest bit intrusive. They have a knack for knowing what you'll want before you do, keeping you company when you want it, and disappearing when you don't.

The property is beautiful, extremely well-kept in spite of its historic age, and located perfectly to explore downtown Juneau on foot. The beds are comfortable, the views are stunning, and the breakfasts will last you all day long. You will never walk away from the breakfast table hungry, I can promise you.

Even if B&Bs are not normally your thing, you owe it to yourself to try this one. The price is only a bit more than you will pay for an impersonal hotel room and a room service meal, and the value comes as unforgettable memories of inn-keeping the way it should be done.

Room Tip: The top-floor room is a long climb but it has an immersion tub, tons of carpeted space, and gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

For our anniversary we took a "stay-cation" and booked a room with this charming and wonderful B&B in downtown Juneau. It was great to pack a bag and enjoy the excellent hospitality and luxury of a cozy place to relax in our hometown. There was a large jet tub and fire place to take advantage of in our suite with a very comfortable bed and delicious breakfast served family style in the morning. The owners were very friendly and accommodating and I would highly recommend anyone looking for a quaint and quiet place to stay while visiting Juneau to come to Alaska's Capital Inn. In the heart of downtown with a great view of the mountains and short walk to local shops. Don't forget to say hi to Duff, the adorable Scottish Terrier that hangs by your feet at the dinning table!

Room Tip: Governor's Suite is worth the money, very private and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaska Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Alaska Capital Inn B&B this summer and we are still thinking about how nice the accommodations were. The room was a great size and the location was terrific. But mostly the kindness of Linda and Mark (and of course their dog Duffy) made the entire stay really enjoyable. A definite recommend.

Room Tip: We asked for the top floor and the better suite and we were really happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn
Silverbow Inn
#3 of 17 in Juneau
313 reviews
7.8 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
0.5 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.2 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
475 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaska's Capital Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaska's Capital Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 113 W 5th St, Juneau, AK 99801-1702
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Juneau
Price Range: £133 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alaska's Capital Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 to 2018, Gold level GreenLeaders, TripAdvisor: Arrington's Bed & Breakfast Journal 2003 "Best In Alaska" Lonely Planet 2017 "The attic suite is a priceless garret where the next Great American Novel could easily be written." Fodor's Choice! "Breakfast is a highlight, with a variety of seafood dishes." Frommers's Alaska 2017 "This scrupulously restored 1906 mansion offers constant surprises in its fascinating detail, rooms are sumptuously and comfortably outfitted, the price range defies categorization." Rough Guide "One of the more luxurious of Juneau's B&Bs" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Alaska's Capital Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska`s Capital Inn b&b
Alaska`s Capital Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing