We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill slide...............”

Canton Asian Bistro
Ranked #80 of 145 Restaurants in Juneau
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine casual dining
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Downhill slide...............”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We used to love coming here. The food was hot, yummy and full size. My last few experiences are not so good. I am not sure what is happening, but the soup may or may not be hot, the coconut shrimp has a completly different flavor ( not good) and they charge 18percent gratuity on a table of 5...... Hard to get more tea...... Bring back the service from before. maybe it's because they are hiring their relatives that do not speak english? I don't know, but please share this review with them. I used to go at least once a week, and now forget it. Oh the lunch crew like Ryan and the sushi guy Andy are still spectacular.... Don't go for dinner though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    20
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
city
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Beautiful interior, average food, poor "Westernized Wonton" for Occidentals”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Beautiful interior decorated by Bauer/Clifton that sets the tone visually before sitting down for a meal or their sushi bar. Ginger Halibut for lunch is good here for lunch at a better price. Combination dinners are a good value. Seafood Wor Ba USD 23.95, Tweetie Roll which includes a shrimp tempura, eel, avocado is USD 18, both was okay but not worth the price. What 's bad here is their wonton, skin hugely swollen, when I complained, was explained this is the Westernized version for Occidentals, rated unacceptable, there's no excuse.

The atmosphere/interior is excellent here, the food, service was below average/average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent meal with great service!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Had a Lunch meeting with clients (they bought!). Nice that the place is away from all the touristy crap number one. If you are not familiar with Juneau you would easily miss this restaurant. Plain building that doesn't even hint there is a restaurant in it. It very nice inside, very relaxing. No views but very good sushi (presented very well I might add), good Thai with excellent service. Pricy? Almost everything is in Juneau but it wasn't out of line. Will go again and try the Chinese food as well.

Helpful?
Thank PortugueseMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best chinese food in town”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

I would say this the best place to have Chinese food in Juneau. A good variety of dishes and drinks and the food flavor is good. I will come back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hot Fresh Food”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

June 3, 2014. After a long day of travel, and having airport food for breakfast and lunch, we want veggies and protein. This was within walking distance of the Best Western Country Lane Inn. Ordered Mu shu chicken and they brought out mu shu pork. They quickly remade the dish. The shrimp with mixed veggies was very good. Nice selection of veggies. Glad we had refrig in hotel room. Nice size portions. Good waiters and service.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BRubin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canton Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Canton Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing