We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best downtown Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria Roma

Pizzeria Roma
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Juneau
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pizzeria Roma brings the authentic taste of Italy to the community of Juneau. We're proud to bring a long tradition of fresh, authentic tasting Italian food to this town. We have been operating since 1998 in downtown Juneau, in Merchant's Wharf, cooking up fresh thin crust pizza, baking Italian bread and serving up a true taste of Italy including pastas. Comfortable and cozy, our pizzeria offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere for families, groups, or even business lunches. We also boast an impressive selection of Italian wine. Stop in for a meal today and sample a Mediterranean pizza, or create your own pizza. A wide variety of toppings and choices await you at Pizzeria Roma.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Best downtown Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great pizza and calzones. Can get really busy at lunchtime, service is usually good but they can get bogged down. Great Italian sandwiches, meatballs my favorite.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    44
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

WOW, this place was great! We were going to eat at The Hanger, but if of course it was packed. I am really glad it was because it gave us the opportunity to discover Pizzeria Roma. There was 4 of us and we all had beer, the Alaskan Ale, calzones, meatball sandwiches and a pizza. The calzones and sandwiches come with a little salad. I really was surprised on how good everything was. I will tell you if I was a local, this would be one of my favorite places!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pattypoo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

service was okay, atmosphere was okay but the pizza was delicious!!! Visited on a slow sunday, enjoyed football while eating the cheese pizza and the blanco pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bascombe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington
Level Contributor
438 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stopped here on our last night in Juneau and got the pizza Margherita to go. We took it back to our hotel room, and enjoyed it with beer. Best pizza ever - great toppings and thin crust...really hit the spot! This place is down by the cruise ships, but they were gone and the place was still busy. Cashier was not too friendly - we didn't even get a "thank you", but pizza sure was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KyBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Was better last time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

This place used to be the best in Juneau, but has slipped a lot in recent years. The sauce doesn't taste as good, and the crust has become horrible. Great service and location, and cool mural. Almost worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pizzeria Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing