We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thick crust pizza in town”
Review of Jovany's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jovany's
Ranked #100 of 141 Restaurants in Juneau
Cuisines: Greek, Italian, Mexican
Restaurant details
Juneau AK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best thick crust pizza in town”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I'm a pizza snob and Juneau isn't a great pizza destination, but I really like the crust; bready and chewy. Haven't tried other offerings in years so I can't speak to them.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

It was late and I needed something. This is close to the airport and easy to find.

The waitress was nice. The beer-battered halibut was flat and totally uninspired. The salad bar was minimal - at least there were a lot of tomatoes.

Decor is bare but clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DelightedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'll never go back”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I can't explain what was so bad about it. Perhaps it was the "salad bar" which was very little iceburg lettuce IN WATER. Apparently they put ice in with the lettuce and it had melted? I have no idea but it was beyond rediculous. You want me to fish lettuce out of standing water and you call that a "salad bar?" I'll pass.

The pizza was burned around the crust and from the crust in there was no sauce or ingredients for a couple of inches in places.

ONE time I had a decent experience there when invited by someone else who has already selected the restaurant. I ordered the chicken picatta and it was "good" but it wasn't enough for me to change my mind about the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank 3_317537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Large portions of good, traditional Italian favorites”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Consider splitting an entree. HUGE portions of spaghetti and baked chicken parmesan were excellent. Service was just a little slow, but we would definitely go again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“It's food”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

To start off, looking for an Italian meal in Juneau can be difficult and rare. Standard angel hair pasta and marinera sauce not to be found. Sort of because it is a seafood industrial center.

Jovany's was standard Italian fare in a dated facility. Service was very good, Alaskan Amber wss very cold - guess we should have stayed with the pizza.

Costs were in line with other restaurants - high.

My suggestion - look for either a Mexican restaurant or eat a good pizza pie.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank big58ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jovany's also viewed

 

Been to Jovany's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing