We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alaska Salmon Bake”

Gold Creek Salmon Bake
Ranked #14 of 145 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$49
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: Alaska Travel Adventures:Gold Creek Salmon Bake/ Alaska Salmon Bake-A feast as grand as Alaska itself!The Gold Creek Salmon Bake is an event that’s been grilled to perfection for 35 years. Savor an all-you-can-eat adventure, in a unique outdoor environment you’ll find nowhere else.Arrive at a beautiful setting, in lush rain forest alongside a creek, under translucent domes that protect you from the elements, rain or shine. Savor the aroma of wild salmon, grilling slowly over fires of fragrant alder wood. And settle in for a feast for all your senses!The sumptuous spread has something for everyone. Choose from grilled salmon, Cheechako Chicken, Chilkoot Baked Beans, Tongass Wild-Rice Pilaf, Gold Rush Potatoes and a robust selection of other sides, salads and beverages. Beer and wine are available for purchase, and vegetarians, take note — there’s plenty to tempt your palate! Come back for seconds, or thirds, while a local musician sets a festive mood. And, just when you think you’ve had enough — bring on the blueberry cake for dessert!After dinner, roast marshmallows over a campfire. Stroll through the forest to lovely Salmon Creek waterfall. View the remains of the Wagner Mine and try your hand at panning for gold. Visit the trading post to purchase a souvenir gold pan or other memento.There’s plenty to do, and shuttle buses run regularly, so your visit can last as long as you like. Don’t return until your tastes have been satisfied — and you’re filled with great memories!
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Alaska Salmon Bake”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If there were negative stars this would definitely be in the negative! I wish I could get our money back on this one. They fed us what I call dog salmon (aka Chum). Everything else they served with the horrible salmon was either cold or dried out. I consider this an embarrassment to the great state of Alaska. We went figuring we would get some wonderful, fresh coho or chinook. Not the case!! Save your money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Msfishnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    81
    50
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Go to the waterfall”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

If you do nothing else in Juneau go see this waterfall, it is one of the most beautiful spots. You can pan for gold and see all the salmon spawning, its an amazing sight. Bring your cameras and enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaTravelAdv, Owner at Gold Creek Salmon Bake, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you on another Alaska Travel Adventures tour on your next visit to Alaska.
K. Grummett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We went to this as part of a whale watching, glacier tour. It was the last part of the day and we were one of the last people to eat. The food looked like it had been sitting out for hours and was marginal, except for the salmon, which was delicious. I did this salmon bake 12 years ago and remembered it fondly as a more home style experience. It has definitely been commercialized and is kind of hokey and much bigger now. I'm sorry I talked our friends into going.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank thegreendoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Salmon Bake”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had the best salmon I have ever tasted. The sauce was unbelievable. In addition to the salmon, the salmon caesar salad, clam chowder, cornbread, and blueberry cake were fabulous. Of course, we also enjoyed everything else on the menu, and there was a lot to choose from. We ended our evening roasting marshmallows over the fire, strolling along the pond, and then the river to an amazing water fall and some cold panning fun!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaTravelAdv, Owner at Gold Creek Salmon Bake, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We want to take this opportunity to inform you about our photo contest. Please go to our website for more details. Hope to see you on another Alaska Travel Adventures tour on your next visit to Alaska.
K. Grummett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss the waterfall!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

The Salmon was great!!! It makes me a little nervous about the other foods since they were sitting out but no one got sick and it was still delicious! After you eat and roast a smore, you must head down the trail like 100ft to the awesome waterfall, a hidden gem!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachyKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaTravelAdv, Owner at Gold Creek Salmon Bake, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. We want to take this opportunity to inform you about our photo contest. Please go to our website for more details. Hope to see you on another Alaska Travel Adventures tour on your next visit to Alaska.
K. Grummett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gold Creek Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing