We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique dining in Juneau”

Gold Creek Salmon Bake
Ranked #13 of 143 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$36 - US$49
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Reservations
Description: Alaska Travel Adventures:Gold Creek Salmon Bake/ Alaska Salmon Bake-A feast as grand as Alaska itself!The Gold Creek Salmon Bake is an event that’s been grilled to perfection for 35 years. Savor an all-you-can-eat adventure, in a unique outdoor environment you’ll find nowhere else.Arrive at a beautiful setting, in lush rain forest alongside a creek, under translucent domes that protect you from the elements, rain or shine. Savor the aroma of wild salmon, grilling slowly over fires of fragrant alder wood. And settle in for a feast for all your senses!The sumptuous spread has something for everyone. Choose from grilled salmon, Cheechako Chicken, Chilkoot Baked Beans, Tongass Wild-Rice Pilaf, Gold Rush Potatoes and a robust selection of other sides, salads and beverages. Beer and wine are available for purchase, and vegetarians, take note — there’s plenty to tempt your palate! Come back for seconds, or thirds, while a local musician sets a festive mood. And, just when you think you’ve had enough — bring on the blueberry cake for dessert!After dinner, roast marshmallows over a campfire. Stroll through the forest to lovely Salmon Creek waterfall. View the remains of the Wagner Mine and try your hand at panning for gold. Visit the trading post to purchase a souvenir gold pan or other memento.There’s plenty to do, and shuttle buses run regularly, so your visit can last as long as you like. Don’t return until your tastes have been satisfied — and you’re filled with great memories!
Southgate, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique dining in Juneau”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We've been here twice now. First time was 5 years ago and we felt this time was not as good/fun as last time but that could be because it was much busier than before. The Salmon and Chicken are very good as are the beans and the other sides. I do wish there was butter for the corn bread. Due to the increased patronage, it seemed like they kept running out of certain sides and the waitstaff was rushing around quite a bit trying to keep up. Last time, we missed the scenery after we ate (I don't think it was mentioned) but we took a nice walk after lunch and had a nice peaceful walk. All in all, while a little pricey, it is all-you-can-eat so bring an appetite and dig in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    78
    45
    17
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Most awesome restaurant in Alaska”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place is amazing - it's an outside restaurant in a rain forest settings. The fish is cooked on the grill right before your eyes. The fish creek is right there and you can watch salmon spawning. Bears are frequent visitors of that creek and you can enjoy your food and watch the bears fishing. A beautiful waterfall is only a 2 min walk from the place. There is an old mine near by with abandoned equipment, so you can try gold panning if you want to (if you lucky and you know what golden nuggets look like, you may even get something). Don't forget to try the blueberry cake - one of Alaskan favorites! We go there every summer with the whole family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cool_alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaTravelAdv, Owner at Gold Creek Salmon Bake, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you on another Alaska Travel Adventures tour on your next visit to Alaska.
K. Grummett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Salmon Bake, Pretty Location”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was an enjoyable experience! We were picked up at the pier near our ship and taken to the salmon bake & were especially lucky because we arrived before other buses and had the place almost to ourselves!! The location is pretty and you feel so secluded even though you are close to businesses and traffic. We walked to the small beautiful waterfall first and my husband tried panning for gold (unfortunately, he didn't come up with a large nugget!) We then went back to the salmon bake, found a table near the stream and enjoyed watching the ducks. The food was all very good but I did find a number of tiny bones in my salmon (I don't know if this is common in salmon since I don't eat it very often). The glaze was excellent.

My only disappointment was that on their website they said they sold the glaze in their gift shop, and also gold mining pans. They were out of both and the employee said they weren't going to get any more in becausse it was near the end of the season. We were there late August so they had another month of tourists, I would think they would keep their gift shop better stocked.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GABelle34778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaTravelAdv, Owner at Gold Creek Salmon Bake, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us overall. You are absolutely correct that we should have our gift shop stocked appropriately all summer! I am disappointed with what you were told, and can assure you that we did not go through the rest of the season without restocking these items. We actually sell our salmon glaze throughout the winter. The glaze package has a reorder form on it, and we have customers who have been ordering the glaze from us for years. Please contact us if you would like to purchase some and we will get it right out to you. You can email Juneau@bestofalaskatravel.com or call 907-789-0052.

K. Grummett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok, but food was "meh" and 'entertainment' was "BLEH!!"”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

...When you first arrive, you are handed a cup of very creamy clam chowder that honestly didn't taste all that different from Progresso clam chowder with some extra herbs thrown in for good measure. Long lines (and I strongly dislike long lines!) wrap around to all the stations, including the general food buffet line and the grill where two guys were basting and flipping salmon on large metal racks. Luckily the eating area was mostly covered by plastic umbrella shaped things over the tables. The buffet included a lot of food that had Alaskan themed names- but weren't much different from what you would eat at home. (For example, the "Miner Baked Beans" were simply pork and beans with grilled hot dog thrown in for good measure.) Warning- do NOT eat the blackish looking pasta salad. It has some sort of balsamic vinegar/soy sauce flavor that is absolutely terrible and no one I saw ate it! I liked the gravy covered chicken, and the salmon, though a teeny bit over cooked, was decent...I was also pleasantly surprised that I liked the Alaskan Blueberry Cake. Apparently, blueberries (and huckleberries) are to Alaska what peaches are to Georgia and oranges are to Florida....You can read more about my experience on my blog: http://fiftystates5years.blogspot.com/2013/09/my-first-salmon-bake.html

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 50states5years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Salmon Bake”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Arriving early (1130) we had the outdoor restaurant to ourselves. The Silver Salmon was cooked to perfection over an alder wood fire. The side dishes were freshly made and very good as well. The only limit to what you could eat was your own appetite. There were heaters above the tables for additional warmth. We could have done without the hippie-style music.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskaTravelAdv, Owner at Gold Creek Salmon Bake, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our tour. We appreciate your comments and are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope to see you on another Alaska Travel Adventures tour on your next visit to Alaska.
K. Grummett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gold Creek Salmon Bake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing