We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty and history combined” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perseverance National Recreation Trail

Ranked #20 of 78 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beauty and history combined”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This trail is one of many in the Juneau area that remind us of the mining history on which Alaska's economy was built. The trail winds along the side of Mt Juneau, through mining relics and the beauty of a South East Alaskan rainforest. Marmots, porcupines, birds and an occasional bear add to the beautiful excursion.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Aukenessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Level Contributor
437 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“nice path for a day's walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We walked this trail on our last day in Juneau. The weather had been beautiful up to this day, but this day started off raining, and never stopped. The trail was very doable in the rain, but far off scenes were wiped out by the fog. We encountered many hikers, and even some runners on this trail. Lots of wildflowers, birds, and waterfalls. A great way to spend a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KyBoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a view!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We went on the White Pass train. The train went through the mountain and through the original bridge.The view from 3000 feet up was amazing. One I will never forget.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Happy1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our Juneau Favorite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We started at sea level in Juneau and hiked to Abner Falls. The views were FABULOUS, but this is Alaska, right? Wild flowers were everywhere and a handful of other hikers were on the trail at the same time. We covered 8 miles by the time we finished. Great morning or afternoon trip. It has several Jurassic Park/Lord of the Rings type of locations on the trail. I'd say it is a must do if traveling to Juneau. Read up on the history of the Perseverance Trail first if you want to know the history of the trail because there are no "informational" stops along the way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hiking for all abilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

The trail has two entrances. I usually park at the far "entrance," and you will get to see a little mining history. Beautiful wild flowers and a steep switchback start the hike and once you get tot he first viewing point it levels out a little and you get a great view of water falls. If it is wet or rainy WLAK THROUGH THE PUDDLE, do not scurry around near the edge where it can be slippery and people have fallen. Be alert for mountain bicyclists. If you take the path, be cautious. Once at the falls there is a picnic bench and wading pools...watch your children. THere have been deadly accidents. This is a relatively safe trail, you just have to be smart. As you continue back on the trail, there will be options to Granite Falls, which is one of my favorite hikes. I recommend you read about the trails on-line or in a bool BEFORE you go. Be safe and have fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gastineaugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perseverance National Recreation Trail also viewed

 

Been to Perseverance National Recreation Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing