We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good atmosphere, great value”
Review of SamovarsS Russian Food Juneau - CLOSED

SamovarsS Russian Food Juneau
Cuisines: Russian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good atmosphere, great value”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My friend had not eaten since breakfast and after her guiding people in the PM, she was hungry. We were the only people there. Staff were responsive, polite even though it was late and they were about to close. The food was tasty, and promptly served with good proportions for the price. We will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLPBCPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is a brand new restaurant, so understandably the menu is a little limited at the moment. They plan to expand it as time/money permits. We tried the Borscht soup, which we loved since we like soup with a light broth. Although flavorful, I did notice that the soup was just barely warm. I loved how friendly the staff is, though! I also asked about their Russian dumplings, and the woman working said that they make them from scratch right there and do not freeze them, as Pel Meni's just down the street does. So, we plan to try that next!

There is plenty of seating inside and two tables outside. I liked that they were playing Russian music, and had some Russian decor inside. It made for a nicer atmosphere :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaya029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the limited Juneau restaurant scene.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Samovar's proprietors are friendly and eager to please. We had the stuffed cabbage and blintzi.
The stuffed cabbage was tasty and the cheese blintzi divine!
I will definitely encourage other Juneauites to visit and will return soon myself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So So and Mo”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

In their defense, they had just opened. Bugs likely needed to be worked out. The food was just okay. A couple things a bit cold. The communal bread sticks was a bit tacky. The people were friendly. It needs a combo plate instead of ala carte. The prices were okay but add up fast if you want to eat enough to be satisfied. I'll go there again soon but if it hasn't improved, I likely won't be back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Texaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SamovarsS Russian Food Juneau also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing