We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twin Glaciers”
Review of Sawyer Glacier

Sawyer Glacier
Highland, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Twin Glaciers”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

At the end of the long and amazing Tracy Arm, which is like a northern grand canyon you find the two Sawer Glaciers. there actually two glaciers thee one out of the East and one out of the North.
These are very busy and active glaciers with lots of calving all day long. They turn the calving off at night!! Hope you don;t believe that.
Usually your boat or ship will focus on one of the glaciers and some have small boats to give yo better access to the glacier and the ice flows.
You will be dodging small to very large icebergs.
Combining the experience of the glaciers and the weaving through Tracy Arm is a fantastic day of adventure.
On one of my trips we had the company of a pod of Orcas for most of the journey
Don't miss this adventure

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Although we were disappointed that there was little calving going on (late September), the glacier viewing is outstanding. Sea lions were abundant on the icebergs.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bhjj99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigneau21
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Seals everywhere!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Although we did not see any calving, which we were looking forward to it was absolutely beautiful. The water changed colors at least 3 times and was so calm you could see the reflection of the surrounding mountains in it. Just beautiful!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vigneau21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were fortunate to see the face of this glacier and calving while on our Holland America cruise. Our day included cruising into Tracy Arm Fjord and then turning the ship around at the opening of the Glacier and cruising back. It was a simply amazing day and made some amazing photos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jchuran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Such a Serene Place”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The trip through Tracy Arm Fjord to get there was a beautiful experience. The wilderness area is so serene.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gawildcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sawyer Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing