We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike and Brew Tour”
Review of Cycle Alaska

Cycle Alaska
Ranked #42 of 72 Outdoor Activities in Juneau
Attraction details
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bike and Brew Tour”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had a very nice tour with the Bike and Brew team. Amy was our naturalist. She was interesting and informative. All of the guides were happy to share information, answer questions and take pictures. The bike ride was pleasant, and the views were beautiful. When we go to the brew portion of the trip, we were able to sample 4 types of 'Alaskan' beer. Overall it was a great way to experience the glacier. I would recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    5
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The extra mile”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I did the bike and brew tour while on a cruise during our honeymoon. We really enjoyed the trip, taking in some breathtaking views & a very interesting review of Alaskan beer. We were having a great time until I realised part of my gps watch set up had disappeared...the tiny little foot pod. Despite a look around, we couldn't find it & headed back to the cruise ship, having resolved that something that small wouldn't be found.

A few hours later I received a call from reception & there, in a little pouch, was the missing pedometer. Apparently on hearing what I had lost, Russell carried out a search of the bus to find the dime sized little module, before getting it back to the ship before we set sail.

We were really so impressed at the lengths that CycleAlaska would go to to ensure that it's customers were happy & left us with an enduring good memory. Please support these guys - you'll have fun in the process!

Thank you so much!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveanicemeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good bicycles. Helmets smell terrible.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I have rented bicycles here on two occasions after arriving in Juneau on a cruise ship. Service is very friendly and knowledgable. It's much more enjoyable to cycle to the glacier than take a tourist bus. They provide a lock, helmet, repair kit, snacks and water with your bike rental. My only complaint is that the helmets smell horrible and need to be cleaned better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coalharborvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Try the Bike and Brew Tour!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We signed up for this tour and arrived in Juneau in a downpour of rain. Nevertheless, the Cycle Alaska staff did an outstanding job of getting us suited up in rain gear and set up on great bikes. Jeanne, Amy and Brittany did a wonderful job of taking care of our group and making sure we had a fun ride. It went by too quickly and we would have liked to ride longer. The Brew was good too!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SLKspingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort St John
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Owner is great but the staff is unorganized”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Took many phone calls back and forth to book bikes ahead of time. The owner was great at returning calls as we played telephone tag. Seems to be a very busy fellow. When we arrived at the shop, they were unaware of our reservation so scrambled to get us bikes. Didn't have all the ones we wanted (4 of us) so had to get sizes that were there we could work with. One staff member was more interested in talking to the female that he had sitting in his office. Took about 45 minutes to get us up and running. I think it is just kind of a layed back atmosphere. We ended up having 2 flat tires and the spare they gave us had a hole in it. We called the shop and the kid working basically told us we were on our own. After getting a little frustrated with him he called his boss and things were taken care of very quickly by him. Thanks for that because we 20 miles out town and had a cruise ship to catch. Biking was an excellent idea. Be prepared to be patient. Deal with the owner directly!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cycle Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing