We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great trip up the inside passage”
Review of Tracy Arm Fjord

Tracy Arm Fjord
Ranked #2 of 84 things to do in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great trip up the inside passage”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We sailed on the Carnival Miracle through the Tracy Arm Fjord and it was an amazing experience. One of the best parts was Carnival having a naturalist on board, who was on the ship's PA system, giving us a running commentary of what we were seeing off the sides of the ship. We ran into icebergs at one point, and were disappointed to see a smaller ship able to go further up the Fjord than we did. However, we found out later that they got into a bit of trouble. While they were able to go further, they had a hard time turning around to get out, without scraping on the icebergs. There was a tour ship that actually picked passengers off our ship, while sailing through the Fjord. It didn't even occur to me to look for excursions on an "at sea" day. Won't make that mistake again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,761
    183
    26
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisberry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Alot of blue”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We saw Tracy Arm Fjord from our cruise liner, and the views of the fjord were amazing. I took video, as well as many pictures. The blue color of the ice was amazing! What a great experience, the beauty is worth the trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were on a cruise ship and paid $185 to board a smaller boat and go down the Fjord. We saw 2 dots in the water we were told were seals. We did get close to the Fjord and it was a sight to be seen. Lots of ice in the water

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank larma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a must see”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Wow, the Tracy Arm Fjord is a must see in a life time. Before this beautiful place is no longer here, please see it, it is breathtaking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichiganLoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

See other reviews for how amazing this trip is. We took Allen Marine tours for this tour as well as a whale watching excursion. They did an awesome job on both. Nice ships. Kid friendly.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank optimist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tracy Arm Fjord also viewed

 

Been to Tracy Arm Fjord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing