We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not great”
Review of Salt

Salt
Ranked #12 of 145 Restaurants in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good but not great”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It was my first time here. The prices were a little on the $$$ side but average for the area. A little disappointing in the entrees to choose from. The only seafood entree was a chowder, Except for the special. The desserts were exceptional. It wasn't overly packed. I would probably give it one more chance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveltech311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    63
    33
    23
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I really want to like this restaurant but it has let me down -- twice. I went there for the first day of their public opening for my husband's birthday. It was a big disappointment.

Today I stopped by to get dinner because I didn't want to cook. The chicken was well seasoned but dry dry dry. It came with a side of yam purée that was tasty, but there was (seriously) about 2 tablespoons in a small plastic container.

I sat at the bar and had a glass of wine while I was waiting. I waited about 35 minutes and other than the bartender handing me a glass of wine and taking my order, not one person acknowledged me. Not a hello, not a nod, not a would you like a glass of water, not a smile -- nothing. I doubt I'll be back. Ever.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank FromAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food & Ambience”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I travel to Juneau often and was thrilled to find Salt. I walked in on a Saturday night and the Manager, Sam, quickly made a table for me. The cocktail and wine list is extensive and I enjoyed a delicious, creative drink. I especially appreciated an epicurean, vegetarian entree (as a vegetarian, I find myself asking for entrees to be modified often the result isa pasta dish with meat plucked off while still paying full price for the entree).

The service was friendly, prompt - clearly this is a happy staff with good management and a skilled chef. This will be my first stop on my next trip to Juneau!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SBB407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, New Mexico, United States
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Upscale/Casual Spot”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

From the carefully-prepared and wide-ranging appetizers to the excellent and thoughtful main courses, this restaurant is pretty much universally acclaimed as tops in Juneau. The service is highly professional while remaining friendly, food is brought out at just the right temperatures, and if you are racing to a show downtown, the staff keeps an eye on the clock for you. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zihuatanejo, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent addition to the Juneau dining scene.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had dinner here for the first time since the old Zephyr became the new Salt. Delicious food, great service, and the price was not out of line for fine dining in Juneau.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing