We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale Watching with Harv & Marv's”

Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska
Ranked #3 of 81 Tours in Juneau
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Harv and Marv’s mission is to provide the highest quality, personalized, Alaskan outdoor experience available; and do so in an honest and sincere way.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Whale Watching with Harv & Marv's”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We took this tour in late May. We saw many, many humpback whales. The Captain was Steve. He was very knowledgeable and knew just where to spot the whales. The highlight was a calf with the mother at the end of the tour. We thoroughly enjoyed this whale watching trip. There were only 4 of us plus the Captain. This boat holds a max of 6 people - unike some of the other tours which take 100+ people on a big boat. We can personal attention and information. Very enjoyable.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryr1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    48
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Team : Harv & Marv Tour”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Harv & Marv are an EXCELLENT tour operator. They have definitely earned a 5-star rating. My wife & I from Australia, went for the Alaskan Cruise. We enrolled with Harv & Marv for the Whale-Watching side trip. Liz, our captain, did a fantastic job bringing us out for the whale-watching. There were 6 of us on board her spacious boat. She was very accomodating to our enthusiasm and our every needs. We had an awesome experience on this trip. Thank you Liz, and thank you Harv & Marv.
However, due to a small glitch in the transportation, we were not taken to Mendenhall Glacier for a quick photo-stopover. I raised this point with Harv & Marv and was surprised to receive separate emails from the partners apologizing for the miscommunication with their coach drivers. Liz, our Whale-watching captain, wrote a separate email apologizing for the oversight. I was shocked to receive a FULL refund of the tour within 2 days of my raising this issue. The owners have definitely lived up to their reputation as 'extremely customer-focused', and 'customer-satisfaction guaranteed' motto.
I am extremely impressed by their commitment and their strive for excellence in their 'Customer-Service', 'Customer-Satisfaction' approached. Thank you, you have definitely lived up to it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PlacesVisited2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Learned about Harv and Marv from trip advisor and we were not disappointed! It's the highlight of our Alaska trip. We went on a six people boat with Captain Steve, who is very friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable about whales and the area. He went all the way getting us to different close enough spots to see the whales, while explaining their breathing patterns, etc. We also saw seals and dall's porpoises along the way. One of the biggest advantages of going on a small boat is that you can enjoy whale watching and take pictures totally hassle free, which would not have been possible in a larger group. The boat is also clean with fresh water and snacks provided. It was a very enjoyable experience!!! Would highly recommend this company and Captain Steve.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank roxychan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the highlights from our trip!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The whale watching experience was by far one of the highlights from our Alaska cruise last week - HIGHLY recommend Harv & Marv!! I found this company from TripAdvisor and started contacting them months prior to our trip. Callie was great to work with! I did not want to be rubber necking trying to see whales with 50 of my closest friends....so our 6 seater little boat was perfect! We had Liz as our captain and she was awesome! Capt. Liz is an expert in finding, explaining, and observing for all kinds of whales and the different wildlife in the area. We spotted tons of pods of Orcas and 4 different humpback whales as well as an Eagle who caught a fish within 20 feet of our boat. I have some of the best pictures I could have asked for thanks to this trip. Capt. Liz allows you to go out on the bow of the boat...DO IT! I loved learning all about the different humpbacks in Juneau and being able to spot the ones we saw with the poster Liz keeps posted on the boat. I hope to make it to Hawaii one day and do another tour with Captain Liz there too! Highly recommend this company if you are looking to do whale watching while in Juneau.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rissa204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Whale Watching - Harv & Marv”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Great excursion!! If you want to whale watch with just a few close friends or family this is the way to do it! They take you out in small boats (not too small) that will only hold about 8-10 people max. This allows you to get closer to the whales then the HUGE boats that the cruise lines support and you don't have to worry about looking over the top of people like you have to on those large boats! They are a top ranked attraction for a reason!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Harv and Marv's Outback Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing