We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desk clerks are clueless about basic customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here 3 nights because our first options were booked. On check in, the bag porter forgot our room and put our bags in an empty room. After a while I
Went to the front desk and a bearded guy acted like it was no big deal. We were on the second floor and the drunks from the bars kept us awake. Checked out after one night and then had to go back 5 days later. We had picked up some fresh bread made down the street and I went down to ask them if I could get some
Butter from the resteraunt or
If they had a in house store where I could buy some. She pulled out a map to a grocery store 8 blocks away. I went upstairs to get my coat but went back down to ask them again if I could just get butter from the cafe rather than walk to the store in the rain. She said " oh, well I don't know... Go in and ask the girl at the desk" why she could not have done that the first time or just got it done herself was shocking. Lazy staff...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magugin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel, we really do appreciate getting feedback from all our customers. It is not the normal practice to provide condiments for food purchased outside of our hotel, but I am so thankful or staff was able to accommodate you in our restaurant.

Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro


…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

345 - 351 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Please don't stay here! Yes, I know it has history and lots of famous (political) people have stayed here, but it's so NOT worth it! It's extremely old, outdated, and overpriced. The staff needs more training.... they have no idea how to be fast, friendly, or helpful. We stayed here on two separate occasions and the 1st time they lost our luggage. Really! The guy delivering the bags - gave them to other guests in the hotel. Grrrr We tried to go to another hotel, but the town was full. Stay somewhere else....cheaper.....actually, anywhere else would be better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shanaka99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I stayed in the Baranof with a friend who is living there for the summer and working in the tourist industry. I am always reluctant to stay any where but my own bed because I'm kind of a wimp when it comes to sleeping but this bed was really, very comfortable. I'd stay there in a heartbeat if I needed to again. However the walls were thin. One wall looked like a very fancy temporary wall (it did not have a seem on the inside) and the other had a regular door adjoining it to the next room. I could hear every conversation held on the other side. Luckily my neighbors on both sides were pretty quiet. Minor complaints- my overhead light would go out without warning because of the wiring and one of the elevators was broken for several days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offdisplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Stayed one night in June and thank goodness it wasn't more. The room was large, but dusty and dirty and really old. Being the "last frontier" is no excuse for worn out looks, poor upkeep, and unfriendly staff. Lots of noise outside, late at night. This is a Holland America property and tells you a lot about the company.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two days. The location was great for exploring downtown. The hotel may be considered more grand in days gone by, but as others have mentioned, this is the last frontier not a huge metropolitan area with lots of upscale options. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable with all the usual amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohiotraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed for 2 days in May. The hotel is well located and convienent to shops & restaurants. The rooms were comfortable but I suggest you skip the breakfast as service is very slow. Only complaint was the yelling and screaming at 2:00 in the morning when people leave the bar down the street..this occurred both nights. Coffee available in the lobby early morning, until the restaurant opens. I suggest the management have the coffee available in the lobby even after the restaurant opens as some people enjoy only a cup of Coffee in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front street...it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krnviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The last reviewer makes a point lost on a few the others. You're not in Chicago, or San Francisco, or Seattle, okay? Alaska. Let that sink in. Juneau has a population of about 30,000 people, and though it gets more visitors than its population in a single summer week, 99.9% leave before the sun sets. If it sets at all....can be hard to tell this time of year. March into the Baranoff expecting a rustic version of a Four Seasons and it'll be downhill from there.

So I would put "considering" after my "very good" when I rate this hotel--and uptick it to a 4 1/2. You are not the tourist this city's hospitality industry is set up to serve, but the Baronof will give you what passes for elegance in small cities north of the 45 parallel. You'll step into a gracious lobby from an earlier era, with a comfortable bar off to one side an decent food to the other. The rooms are small. The bathrooms have been thoughtfully remodeled quite recently with space and comfort optimized. The Alaska Airlines flight crews stay here when they overnight and if you travel much that should tell you something: in the lower 48 you'll find them at the Doubletree, the Red Lion, the occasional Hilton. Airlines pick places comfortable and a "cut above," but only flirt with luxury.

There isn't much to see out any of the windows, but that's Juneau--truly breathtaking beauty in every direction, but you must leave your room to find it.

The hotel is friendly and efficient. Unpacking in our room we soon found that it had been "tidied" but not cleaned. Minutes later we were re-ensconced in better digs with apologies and (only) modest chagrin. There is no fawning here. The staff is informal but attentive. If I left Chicago for the 49th state and ended up in a clone of the Whitehall, what would have been the point in leaving at all? But if you appreciate any of the Windy City's boutique hotels, this is where you'd stay in Juneau.

When you tire of breakfast off the lobby, there are five or six places within two of three blocks, none of them bad. Try the Silverbow around the corner for breakfast or lunch, and if your timing's good you can find a cinnamon roll still warm in the tiny bakery right up the hill. Relax and enjoy the 20-hour summer days. It's what everyone else in Alaska is doing.

Room Tip: Any view at all would be to the west, looking over the sound at Douglas Island--the higher the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDWfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

I really appreciated your positive review about our hotel and thank you so much for pointing out that we are the contracted hotel for Alaska Airlines. You are a very eloquent writer and I am so thankful for your attention to detail describing our hotel.

I feel that you are spot on in describing the Westmark Baranof and pointed out some good information, helpful to other trip advisor readers.

Sincerely,


Dana Ruaro


…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 463-3083 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn
Silverbow Inn
#3 of 17 in Juneau
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Address: 127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £86 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing