We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Friendly, Standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Spokane, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, Friendly, Standard”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Our group stayed here for the week. Everyone seemed to have a nice experience. The rooms were fairly standard, nothing special, nothing out of the ordinary. Nice staff. The fish and chips at the bar were amazing! Also loved the salmon at the main restaurant.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JennetteP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the fish and chips at the bubble room lounge, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable. Since your stay we have updated 70 rooms with new carpet and are continually working on updating our hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    144
    141
    60
    32
See reviews for
67
140
30
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is one of those places I wanted to give a good review to but, there are to many things to overlook. First the good, this is a really old hotel by Alaska standards so it hold a,ot of history and charm. The lobby and bar have lots wood and are nice places to sit and spend time. The Rooms are old but remodled and beutiful, not run down. The things that should be left alone they have like the interior doors, and the windows still open all the way.
But the two rooms I have stayed in are small, very small. Sound proffing is non existant, we heard every conversation in the hall. We heard every flush of the toilets in the adjacent rooms. The first morning I was woke up by showers and toilets and by the guy the next door asking Rod where he wanted to get coffee!
Parking is a night mare, in fact some one ran into my car and the lady at the car rental said it is the site of the most damage.
To be fair Juneau has old narrow streets on steep hills, made for foott traffic not cars.
The strength of the is place is the staff, they will go the extra mile to make your stay the best it can be.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodsthegame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from. Sometimes in the summer it is quitter on a higher floor.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.


Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

As others have said, there aren't many choices in Juneau for hotels. I chose this one mostly for its downtown location, which was very convenient. The first room we were given -- King suite on the 6th floor -- was pretty dismal. Out of date, smelled bad. We asked for one of the renovated rooms and were moved to a king suite on the 7th floor. It was better and provided us with a clean, functional place to stay for 6 nights. The management at the desk made an effort to give us a room that we would be happy with, and the housekeeping staff are really great -- very clean. Our room faced the back, so it was very quiet. The bed was comfortable. Our heat stopped working in the middle of our stay, so the management delivered a space heater. This hotel should be a lot less expensive for what you get. A decent 2.5-star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banditkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

We continually renovate our hotel and have all new bed’s and top of the bed program. We are in the processing of installing new carpet this week! Another project we anticipate in the spring will be a newly painted Westmark Baranof!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

In Juneau there are not many choices - keep this in mind. Rundown:

Room: When I checked in I was given a king suite. The room was not remarkable - I would compare it to a Fairfield Inn. It was about low end average. It was clean and the room was fairly large. Basically a very small one bedroom apartment. I had a corner room and it was very drafty. It did not really bother me but I could see it being a problem for some.

Wireless: It worked well.

Location: Downtown - you could walk everywhere.

Food: I ate at the diner for breakfast, it was not great at all and a little rundown. I would probably go elsewhere to eat, there are other options in town.

Parking: The lot is in back and it is extremely cramped. If you have an issue w/ this sort of set up I would look for another option.

Bottom line - I'd stay here again due to the options in this city. It is an old hotel and you can tell an effort has been made to keep it up. Historically it is a good place to stay as far as saying you did. For this city it probably deserves a four star but compared to other cities - high two star low three.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowingtheEquator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our housekeeping staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable
We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I spent 3 nights there this past weekend. The room I was in had a nice view of the water. One of the down sides of having a room facing the water is that you end up hearing all the noise from the street. I was woken up a couple times during the night/early morning by people talking as they were walking down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Mountain side if you want to sleep through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfausmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Baranof Westmark as your home away from home while in lovely Juneau and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from. Sometimes in the summer it is quitter on a higher floor.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you’ve been to Juneau before or follow Alaska politics you’ve heard of the Baranof. The first time I stayed there I remember my room being gray and showing its age. This year (Feb 2013) I was in a 3rd floor room and it was spruced up—the paint was a cheery yellow, the bathroom had been overhauled, and the bathroom floor felt heated. The first room assigned to me was right across from the elevators and ice machine. I requested a move to a quiet location and my wish was granted; I recommend the mountain side of the hotel. The café offers a great breakfast. The Gold Room is great for dinner—you may need a reservation, especially during the legislative session—and they have a signature salad that is really terrific. The hotel is in a great location if you want to see downtown, especially on foot. Parking is free but very limited.

Room Tip: Request a mountain side room for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paxson_ak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Baranof Westmark as your home away from home while in lovely Juneau and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We’re elated to hear that you had such a pleasant time during your recent stay! We set out each and every day to create unforgettable experiences to our guests and from the looks of it; you were able to accomplish exactly that!! Its reviews like yours that keep us all inspired and committed to providing the best possible service to all our guests!

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.


Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Alright.... We do not even know where to start....
1. Parking lot is too small and everyone parks too close to each other.
2. The restaurant is extremely overpriced.
3. The room was way too small and outdated.
4. No ventilation anywhere with mold in the bathroom.
5. Small beds with not enough pillows. (We had to exchange the pillows because they were too old)
6. Room temperature impossible to regulate ( it was way too hot and stuffy)
7. Overall service terrible and unfriendly.

Finally, the ONE bright spot of the whole hotel is the breakfast/ lunch cafe. Great food, great service, great environment!

Highly recommend to stay at any other hotel and stop by for the breakfast here.

If all the other hotels are booked, stay in your car! About the same size with better air!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekaterina-William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property.

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Property: Westmark Baranof Hotel
Address: 127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing