We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in downtown Juneau” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westmark Baranof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
259 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best hotel in downtown Juneau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Stayed in a renovated Queen-view room for 2 nights. Room was clean and the hotel was in walking distance of the waterfront and shopping. The café in the hotel serves a good breakfast as early as 6:30am. Ask for a room on a high floor in a quiet location. You can get a 10% discount (AAA) if you book directly with the Westmark hotels.
You might want to order a taxi to meet you at the airport or transfer you to the ferry terminal.--
as taxis can be scarce.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzannePC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    123
    129
    54
    30
See reviews for
57
124
26
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I had paid in adavcne for my room and yet a depsoit of 200USD was demanded as secuirty for incidentals when I checked in. I paid cash and asked for a receipt. When I checked out the girl at the desk knew nothing about my deposit and when I showed her the receipt she was unable to refund me without the manager's assistance. He kept me waiting for 20 minutes before he attended to this and refundnd the money without apology for the delay or the slightest grace. This was not the only problem. I had beeen given when I checked in a voucher entitling me to 15% off my first meal in the restauarant. This was not given to me even after I presented the voucher and I was overcharged in addition to this. I had a steak which was advertised in the hotel lift at 25USD and was then charged 28US in the restaurant. I paid cash but the bill, which I had to ask for a copy of after I had paid showed the meal had been charged to my room. I was refunded in full when when I complained at reception, but again no apology was given for the mistakes and the refund was less than gracious. The room showed obvious signs of wear and a coffee cup and the shower both had cracks in them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was the 2 nd stop on the trip. Although nice it was old and the rooms are tiny. The restaurants were nice and the lobby was clean. it looks like they built this with limited space and tried squeezing in as many rooms as possible. It is close to everything which is nice. At night thought the drunks and bigger drunks are everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

This is a well kept up OLDER hotel with limited room options. We were able to get a room with a queen and a sofa bed for our grandson. No A/C and it was quite warm the first night, ~80. Nicely located, with a short walk to the cruise ship docks and capitol. Clean room, comfortable queen bed but limited electric outlets. Good breakfast room. Quiet hotel except you have to keep windows open for ventilation. Still it was quiet until ~7am or so. Personnel were friendly and helpful. I'd like to give it a 4th star, but can't quite accept it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosshorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobar, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Located one block from the main tourist precinct. Close but far enough away so it was nice & quiet. Rooms were clean & comfortable and the staff very helpful. My only criticism is that the walls are very thin & therefor you can hear your neighbours.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BecEvans2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

At least that's what we were told upon arrival. We booked our reservations in February 2013 for two beds (one double/one twin), reconfirmed on July 1, 2013 and then showed up at the hotel for our July 6, 2013 stay. It was very frustrating for two friends traveling together to be given a room with one double bed. It took 20+ minutes at the front desk for the two gentlemen to finally find a room with two beds, even though we were told multiple times that though we reserved a room with two beds, no such room was available. The less than genuine "enjoy your stay" as we were handed our key cards to a room with two beds was the final straw. We would not stay here again.

Good location in the center of town. Small rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor at the back of the hotel. We didn't have any issue with street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Helpful staff. Very easy to walk to all the major sites from the hotel including cable car - the last block is a bit rough, I was travelling alone, not sure i would have walked it very late at night, but there were plenty of people around in general. Ate there once and wasn't too impressed with the food. Room was fine, bathroom could do with maintenance but was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Property: Westmark Baranof Hotel
Address: 127 North Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing