We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Level Contributor
216 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This past week I was in Juneau attending a conference at the Baranof hotel. I spent one night at the hotel and found that the rooms were very nice. The first room that they gave me had two twin size beds. After taking with the front desk they were able to find me a room with a queen size bed which was a better fit for my as I am 6' 3" tall.

Our lunch was catered by the hotel and the food was very good.

Room Tip: It can be noisy on the street side of the building so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfausmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

Thank you for sharing this with us!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations
Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    124
    129
    54
    30
See reviews for
57
125
27
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
WA & HI
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Fast check in and our room was tiny but very cute & clean. We stayed on the 6th floor and had a view of some cruise ships arriving/departing. As we got dropped off the taxi driver told us the food at The Capital Café (next door) was excellent. We ate there every morning for breakfast as the food and service was excellent. Each morn we got greeted by Holly and everyone gets well taken care of in this café. This hotel was convenient to town as we walked everywhere. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel and enjoyed the food at our Capital Cafe, as it means we achieved our goal of giving each guest a memorable stay. Holly is one of our employees of the month at the Westmark Baranof.

Also, we recently replaced all of the mattresses and box springs and have updated the top of the bed program. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door. We hope to see you again very soon!

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable
Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Baranof's architecture and decor downstairs is a look at Alaska's history with arches, wood everything and attention to detail. While the rooms are old and needing updating throughout the hotel, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I'm in Juneau.

Room Tip: Request upper floors, if you want quiet at night, request at the back of the hotel rather than above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable. We are gradually doing renovations on our rooms and recently replaced all of the mattresses and box springs and have updated the top of the bed program.

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
326 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

So the choices in Juneau, AK are pretty slim when it comes to hotels, the Baranof is probably the nicest in town. Many years ago, I believe it was actually a Westin, but this was MANY MANY years ago. The rooms are not luxurious by any means, however they have recently added new beds which are very comfortable. The hotel has good wireless in all the rooms, just expect to hear the noises from the room next door.

Room Tip: If it is spring or summer ask for a "Front" room so you can see the water. If it is snowy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

Thank you for sharing this with us!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Most of the Juneau hotels are rather mediocre but if you want something just a bit special, check out the suites at the Baranof Hotel (they also have cheaper, older rooms but for special occasions, reach up a bit). The upper floor views are incredible, the rooms spacious and well laid out. They have customer service nailed and are very accommodating.

Conference and banquet rooms are available for events and a full service restaurant for breakfast (there's also a nice Heritage coffee shop across the street) and lunch and the Gold Room for supper. They also have a nice lounge with the occasional pianist on the grand piano. Parking can be tight but seemed adequate. You'll spend a little bit more for the experience but if you're looking for something special - here it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AKTraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay. We have a wide variety of rooms at the Westmark Baranof – some rooms are our economy rooms and they are located on the 2nd floor and are a bit more noise because they are located near the street. We sell our economy rooms at a discount and that is why you will see some complaints on trip advisor.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable

Dana Ruaro
…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottershaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked the hotel with apprehension having seen some of the reviews but were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was not huge but comfortable and clean and we were not disturbed by the noise some other reviewers have mentioned. It is a classic hotel with an art deco dining room which is well worth a look even if not eating there. About a hundred metres away from the centre of town ( it is hard to call the Alaskan capital a city !! ) and so quieter.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

Thank you so much for addressing our incredible customer service – We take pride in our hotel!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Could hear, in all too much detail, the noise of the hotel patron in the next room relieving himself. My supposedly fresh new towel had a dirty brown smear stain across the part I was about to dry my face with,..though fitting given the neighbouring symphony. Did get the wake up call,..however when it's 15mins early at 4am,...minutes seem seems like hours in the packed, dressed & ready precious dark. Return business,..pft,..who needs it!"

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank time2travel4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. We have a wide variety of rooms at the Westmark Baranof – some rooms are our economy rooms and they are located on the 2nd floor and are a bit more noise because they are located near the street. We sell our economy rooms at a discount and that is why you will see some complaints on trip advisor.


Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
8.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#7 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goldbelt Hotel
Goldbelt Hotel
#5 of 16 in Juneau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#9 of 16 in Juneau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Property: Westmark Baranof Hotel
Address: 127 North Franklin Street, Juneau, AK 99801-1280
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing