We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, small rooms, few amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“great location, small rooms, few amenities”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed here, downtown, for 3 nights. There is no hotel shuttle from the ferry, so expect to pay $33 for a taxi (the airport is nearer, I don’t know what that charge would be). The room (two twins) was small, clean, no refrigerator or microwave. They provided a fan and the window opened for ventilation, but there was some noise from the back of the building. Free wi-fi. It’s very convenient for exploring downtown and catching tours of Tracy Arm Fjord. The city bus stop is a few blocks away. It doesn’t run all the way out to Mendenhall Glacier (drops 1.5 miles from visitor’s center) or the ferry, but it’s one way to cut transportation costs.

consider what you're paying for extras such as breakfast and transportation when you choose a place to stay.

They do provide storage for luggage if your departure is later in the day

Room Tip: front of the building may be quieter;
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeying_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your experience when staying at the Baranof Westmark.

We have a variety of rooms at the Westmark. On your next visit to Juneau I would like to give you a tour of our rooms and show you the different room types we have to choose from.

In the past several months we upgraded all of our hotel rooms with new mattress and flat screen TV’s and newly carpeted 70 of our rooms. We recently upgraded our elevator and we are continually upgrading the property. Please contact me anytime and thank you for your input.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review for the historic Baranof Westmark Hotel & Conference Center!
Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    144
    141
    60
    32
See reviews for
67
140
30
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel has a great location and very friendly staff. They are currently renovating the lobby, and there is a dumpster outside the front door, so it's not the most welcoming entrance. However, the rooms were nice with good workspace. The hotel feels a little old, but it was very nice for the area. The staff were knowledgable and helpful. I did not eat there, but they do have a restaurant on site and a coffee shop on the way. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay. We have a wide variety of rooms at the Westmark Baranof – some rooms are our economy rooms and they are located on the 2nd floor and are a bit more noise because they are located near the street. We sell our economy rooms at a discount and that is why you will see some complaints on trip advisor.

It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our staff, it is our mission to keep our facility updated and rooms comfortable

Dana Ruaro
…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The Baronof provides you with all you need for a comfortable stay in Juneau. The hotel is clean, the breakfast is solid and the bar is friendly. New Starbucks going in, would also like to see some new investment in the workout room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkerw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our portion size in the café. I will bring up your comments about our work out room at our next staff meeting.

We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. We have a wide variety of rooms at the Westmark Baranof – some rooms are our economy rooms and they are located on the 2nd floor and are a bit more noise because they are located near the street. We sell our economy rooms at a discount and that is why you will see some complaints on trip advisor.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed 1 night May 31, 2014. The lobby was ok, but there was construction. The room was small and there was no thermostat. It was too hot in the room because the heat was on too high, so the bellman suggested we just open the window. We had to keep it open some all night. That made it noisy and the view out the back was not good. It was in a very convenient location for us - very close to our ship, shops, and restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on trip advisor.

Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door. We hope to see you again very soon!

Sincerely,

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stay here for almost a week . The place looks like a whole town - pretty weird .
Honestly - the location is a best ..nothing to say ...very closed to everything in DT .

But it's just next by a local natives park and these guys are pretty noisy even in a nighttime .
The grates "minus" is - they (hotel ) does not have a shuttle from/to Airport like Golden Belt has .
It is very uncomfortable because the taxi is not too much available if you arriving by the evening .
We were waiting half an hour at least to have any oportunity to go to hotel .

The building is under some minor inner construction which promiss to have a Starbucs here ... Not a big deal -both ( the construction and the starbucks as well :-))

It is 7 or 8 store building which has very ...buy very thin walls and you can hear everything may happen in your neighbour room . Thanks God - nobody young and sexy lived there in my case . But some angry dude noked to a wall when I just spoke with my wife by phone and that's (believe me was not too loud at all (my voice) .

This just to let fellow travelers know - what adventores you can face here .

Anyways - the good things are definitely here ....for sure :

1. Very good and not too pricy kitchen in cafe(restorante ) inside the hotel . They have good luck having nice chef ... 20-25 bucks tip included ..and it is good enough to stay alive till the evening . I-damn like to eat , but hardly getting hungry after such breakfast ..even til the late night ...
2. No bad smell at all - both hall, rooms and whewe ever. That's pretty surprizing .
3. The rooms done pretty clean and looks way better than whole hotel and the hall as a part ...
4. Pretty friendly staff . They are ready to assist even if you're not really a guest here at the moment ( I had an issue require their help recently )

So, letb me tell you - not bad ,just be ready for some uncomfortable small things .
Thanks and sorry for my poor English .
Alex

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
It is very important for us that our guests feel welcome and comfortable within the whole hotel area and I am glad to hear that we succeeded. Thank you so much mentioning our portion size in the café.

We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. We have a wide variety of rooms at the Westmark Baranof – some rooms are our economy rooms and they are located on the 2nd floor and are a bit more noise because they are located near the street. We sell our economy rooms at a discount and that is why you will see some complaints on trip advisor.


Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Probably best in town, probably the best of Westmark Inn in Alaska
Well located - in the heart of AK capital
Close to government /state buildings and tourists attractions
excellent in service, food, views from the top floor

Room Tip: take top floor they have two lifts and good view from the top location as in the government :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to offer us your valued feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Being centrally located in downtown Juneau allows our guest the flexibility of visiting shops and the water front all within walking distance of our front door.

Thank you for sharing this with us!

We hope to see you again very soon and appreciate you recommendation.

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were staying at this hotel many years through out summer time. It wonderfully located in the heart of Juneau about 20 min ride from the airport. All hotel stuff are very friendly and making sure, that you will have fantastic stay and great experience. All, both restaurants and a bar/lounge offers delicious meals. The rooms are nice and clean, the beds are comfortable, so you can get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana R, Director of Sales at Westmark Baranof Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
I want to thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion and for sharing such a positive comment about the Baranof Westmark on tripadvisor.com. I am pleased to hear that we could fulfill your expectations during your stay. We have a wide variety of rooms at the Westmark Baranof and we are continually updating the hotel.

Also, thank you so much mentioning that our staff being A+ - I will share your praises with all of the employees at our weekly staff meeting.

Dana Ruaro

…………………………………………………………….
Regional Sales Manager, Westmark Hotels
127 N. Franklin Street
Juneau, Alaska 99801
(907) 463-6208 Direct
(907) 789-0430 Fax
(800) 544-0970 Central Reservations

Druaro@hollandamerica-princess.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#5 of 17 in Juneau
149 reviews
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
#16 of 17 in Juneau
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Property: Westmark Baranof Hotel
Address: 127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing