We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
116
163
159
68
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
163
159
68
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbubble roomclassic hotelin townolder hotelhotel restauranthigher floorheart of downtownjuneau hotelbellapatcapitalplugsplumbingdockskitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
484 - 489 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This hotel likes to market itself as one of Juneau's premier hotels, and its anything but. I have no complaints about about the wonderful staff, service, location, upkeep, or cleanliness of the establishment, but the rooms themselves are best described as nonsensical.

First, the layout of the rooms consists of a small space, with an overly large bed, storage bench, television, and tiny desk all shoved in one room. If you have any girth on you, its impossible to open a drawer or pull out a chair to work. Second, what should be closet space is an unusable nook with a microwave, mini-fridge, and sink right next to the bathroom, also with an impossibly cramped layout.

Second, the rooms have overly thin walls. If your neighbor is arguing with his wife, watching internet porn, or just snores, you are going hear every ugly minute of it. Its no wonder the FBI chose this hotel to sting corrupt Alaskan politicians, because if something is going on in this hotel its hard to avoid hearing it.

Third, there's no environmental controls in the rooms at all. If it's hot, you broil, if it's cold, you broil, because they heat the entire floor with central heat and the only way to regulate the temperature is to open a window.

So, this would be a decent hotel, if it wasn't for the fact that the rooms seem to have been designed by a midget race of aliens from a desert planet with no sense of privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBearAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed two nights, Sept 1 and Sept 4. While there were some paint nicks and rug stains, overall the rooms were clean, well furnished and very comfortable. Both nights were very quiet and we did not experience the noise some guests are reporting. Perhaps they had the misfortune of being there when a rowdy crowd was present. That can happen anywhere.
The staff was very courteous and helpful, even to the extent of storing our luggage when we arrived at 4:45AM on the ferry and then flew out that afternoon to Gustavus. On the night of our first stay, the Gold Room served us a King Crab Leg feast equal to any we have ever had even though it was not on their menu that night. Not many restaurants are willing to do that.
And what would a trip to Alaska be without enjoying the signature dish, sourdough pancakes? The Capitol Cafe next door with entrance from the hotel lobby opens at 6:00AM and serves the most authentic sourdoughs I have eaten since I worked on a track crew of the Alaska Railroad in the 1950s

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonDakota33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

A lady friend and I spent a week at the Baranhof July 1-July 7. The hotel was clean and neat. Staff were friendly, warm and helpful from check-in to check-out. As a Juneau descendant, I was attending the Juneau International Family Reunion, where the hotel was our "home base". Service was excellent at the reception in the Banquet Room as well as Express Breakfast and the lovely Dining Room. When my friend needed medical attention, the desk clerk directed us to Urgent Care, where we received immediate help. The central location made this ideal for us to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go.
A very special treat was the 4th of July parade and celebration of Alaska as the 50th state to join the union. It seems the entire town turned out to see this! What a sight!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyjo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

First of all, this is in "the historic" downtown, which is a fun place to stay. I stayed in this hotel for two nights (one before and one after my ferry trip down the inside passage). I went back the second night only because I had a non-refundable "deal" through Priceline. The hotel rooms need lots of refurbishment: the cheap wallpaper is pealing, the carpet is stained, and the wooden baseboards were obviously battered and repainted many times, very badly. One side of my room appeared to have a fake wall, a sort of divider, perhaps. This was supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, but cigarette smoke drifted into my room at least twice on my second stay. Also, on my arrival on the second night, the hostess scowled at me when she said, "May I help you," perhaps because of my backpack, though my clothes were clean and neat. The canopy above the inside door to the cafe was faded and very dusty, which turned me off eating there. If you can manage all this, I should say that the housekeeping in the room was good, and the bathroom and linens clean and fresh. The bathrooms appeared newly refurbished, and if the rest ever gets this attention, this could be a nice place to stay in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MillValleyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Great location, good cafe, clean rooms. Thin walls, staff a bit flightly. Overall an OK hotel, it's just surprising that it's the nicest hotel in Juneau since it's just ok.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderLSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews