We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveller rating
117
165
159
70
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
165
159
70
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bubble room classic hotel in town older hotel higher floor heart of downtown juneau hotel bella keli pat capital plugs plumbing docks mt folks kitchenette
Filter
Updating list...
485 - 490 of 548 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We had a great time staying at the Westmark Baranof in Juneau. It's a convenient place to stay, being central to downtown restaurants and bars. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds here were wonderful, and we found that was a good staple of all the Westmark Hotels we stayed in, the beds were always good. The staff were fine and the food from the restaurant downstairs was really good. The thing that did amaze us about the Westmark Hotels in Juneau and other places was the noisy toilets! You can hear them going in surrounding rooms, but this was no great problem, quite amusing really. We very much appreciated being able to check in so early after arriving on the Alaska Ferry before 7am! We would stay here again, and as Juneau is such a gorgeous place, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groover-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

I actually travel a lot to different countries, but found that Juneau is very unique. The Baranof worked with me on a surprise Limo pickup. It worked out perfect and what a surprise she received. We watched the whales jump out of the water, took a cruise to see the Glaciers chip off, took a helicopter ride on top of the Glaciers and walked and filmed several bears at the Mendenhall Park! Juneau is definitely a little ragedy town, but it has soooo many good qualities about it. I'm tired of people downing Baranof and Juneau. The Baranof is a nice hotel for Juneau's stay!!! Have fun!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank WorldWidePlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

One thing you should know about Juneau is that the cruise lines own a good deal of the town, so when possible, buy local, as the locals don't benefit much from the businesses that are cruise line owned, and the mark-up on what is sold is incredibly high for what you get - typical tourist trap stuff. I mention this because this is true of the hotel, the Westmark Baranof. Billed as a ritzy, luxurious hotel, it's just a plain, kinda old hotel with small, ordinary rooms - though the prices were definitely those for a luxury hotel. It's tolerable, but not much more. It was clean. But parking was kind of scary (tight) and the staff were - well, they gave the impression of being underpaid, overworked, and bored. Except for this one guy who was very helpful, everyone else was just marking time. I will say the breakfast cafe is not bad - locals even like it, and the prices, service, and food were decent. But don't bother with dinner - for those prices (outrageous) and less-than-enthusiastic service, you can do SO much better, and within a couple of short blocks. Try Tarantino's Italian, on Seward and 4th, just two blocks away - really good, fresh Italian, or Wild Spice, about a block and half's distance on Seward between 2nd and Front Street. or, take the cable car up to the top of the mountain side (across from the cruise ships) and eat at the restaurant there. Not only a spectacular view, but the food was fabulous - fresh, local cuisine, reasonable prices, and a view - coming, going, and while eating - that is incomparable. The cable car ride costs about $30.00, but it's totally worth it - there's trails and a gift shop and - that view. Juneau is a very small town, but it has a lot to offer in the area - Mendenhall Gacier, whale watching, etc. I was there on business and lucky enough to stay a weekend. I don't generally get a lot of choices (my employer determines which ones I can use) when it comes to htoels, but I would definitely choose something else next time - and I'd check and see who owned the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolEPBayarea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Giving two stars instead of one only because we received a good price and the hotel is in a handy location, but poor quality will keep us from returning to this hotel.

The Westmark Baranof is in an old historical building so it is okay that the room was very small. That is to be expected in historical buildings unless the owners do a major remodel.

An "upgrade" got us a King size bed, but the bed was old and uncomfortable so we woke up each morning with aching backs. There wasn't even a nice plush mattress pad on the bed to help counteract the too old mattress. The pillows also were old and flat.

The carpet needed vacuuming and as soon as we entered our room we found a large toe nail laying on the floor between the bed and the TV, right at the foot of the bed. The corners, moulding, and fixtures need a good dusting, and splatters of gunk on the wall at the bathroom sink should be wiped away between guests. A light bulb was out in the bathroom light fixture. The bathtub was a miniature. I've never seen such a small tub! It was too small to bother trying to soak in because one couldn't even lay back but would have to sit straight up.

The window in the bedroom opened but it had no screen so even though the small room was stuffy and too warm, we couldn't keep the window open without bugs entering the room. The drapes were missing sheer panels behind the heavier drapes so we couldn't open the drapes and still have some privacy from the houses and the parking lot outside our room.

There also was no air system to turn on to cool the room or circulate the air, only a heater that we didn't need. At least there was a clean, portable fan that worked well we could turn on when we went to sleep. It was relatively loud but it helped.

Small, old fashioned TV, but it worked and we weren't in Juneau to watch TV anyway.

A reservation for two put us in a room with only two towels, one black tea bag instead of two.

The breakfast in the cafe was good if a little pricey, but pricey is normal for Juneau's historical district.

Despite the good price for the room, we won't stay at this hotel again. It is better to pay a little more to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lookwestward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This hotel likes to market itself as one of Juneau's premier hotels, and its anything but. I have no complaints about about the wonderful staff, service, location, upkeep, or cleanliness of the establishment, but the rooms themselves are best described as nonsensical.

First, the layout of the rooms consists of a small space, with an overly large bed, storage bench, television, and tiny desk all shoved in one room. If you have any girth on you, its impossible to open a drawer or pull out a chair to work. Second, what should be closet space is an unusable nook with a microwave, mini-fridge, and sink right next to the bathroom, also with an impossibly cramped layout.

Second, the rooms have overly thin walls. If your neighbor is arguing with his wife, watching internet porn, or just snores, you are going hear every ugly minute of it. Its no wonder the FBI chose this hotel to sting corrupt Alaskan politicians, because if something is going on in this hotel its hard to avoid hearing it.

Third, there's no environmental controls in the rooms at all. If it's hot, you broil, if it's cold, you broil, because they heat the entire floor with central heat and the only way to regulate the temperature is to open a window.

So, this would be a decent hotel, if it wasn't for the fact that the rooms seem to have been designed by a midget race of aliens from a desert planet with no sense of privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews