We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel In Juneau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I had a lot of trouble choosing a hotel in Juneau and turned to reviews to make my choice. The reviews were all negative and not very helpful. I chose the Westmark Baranof based on price and security. I made the right decision. The hotel is the best in a very small area. It's perfect location in town allows you the luxury to be close to the docks, restaurants and shops. The rooms were clean, comfortable and large enough for two. The bed had clean linens and was layered with enough blankets to keep you warm on a cool night. The bathroom was a decent size, with enough space to spread out toiletries.
The lobby was very nice and the bar/food was great. I enjoyed a generous pour of wine and sandwich before going on an excursion. The hotel is secure for those that may travel alone.
Don't have high expectation of finding a spa type hotel in Juneau, and know Westmark Baranof is a solid choice when staying in Juneau.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caymus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2010

We had a great time staying at the Westmark Baranof in Juneau. It's a convenient place to stay, being central to downtown restaurants and bars. The room was very spacious and clean. The beds here were wonderful, and we found that was a good staple of all the Westmark Hotels we stayed in, the beds were always good. The staff were fine and the food from the restaurant downstairs was really good. The thing that did amaze us about the Westmark Hotels in Juneau and other places was the noisy toilets! You can hear them going in surrounding rooms, but this was no great problem, quite amusing really. We very much appreciated being able to check in so early after arriving on the Alaska Ferry before 7am! We would stay here again, and as Juneau is such a gorgeous place, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groover-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2009

I actually travel a lot to different countries, but found that Juneau is very unique. The Baranof worked with me on a surprise Limo pickup. It worked out perfect and what a surprise she received. We watched the whales jump out of the water, took a cruise to see the Glaciers chip off, took a helicopter ride on top of the Glaciers and walked and filmed several bears at the Mendenhall Park! Juneau is definitely a little ragedy town, but it has soooo many good qualities about it. I'm tired of people downing Baranof and Juneau. The Baranof is a nice hotel for Juneau's stay!!! Have fun!

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank WorldWidePlayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

One thing you should know about Juneau is that the cruise lines own a good deal of the town, so when possible, buy local, as the locals don't benefit much from the businesses that are cruise line owned, and the mark-up on what is sold is incredibly high for what you get - typical tourist trap stuff. I mention this because this is true of the hotel, the Westmark Baranof. Billed as a ritzy, luxurious hotel, it's just a plain, kinda old hotel with small, ordinary rooms - though the prices were definitely those for a luxury hotel. It's tolerable, but not much more. It was clean. But parking was kind of scary (tight) and the staff were - well, they gave the impression of being underpaid, overworked, and bored. Except for this one guy who was very helpful, everyone else was just marking time. I will say the breakfast cafe is not bad - locals even like it, and the prices, service, and food were decent. But don't bother with dinner - for those prices (outrageous) and less-than-enthusiastic service, you can do SO much better, and within a couple of short blocks. Try Tarantino's Italian, on Seward and 4th, just two blocks away - really good, fresh Italian, or Wild Spice, about a block and half's distance on Seward between 2nd and Front Street. or, take the cable car up to the top of the mountain side (across from the cruise ships) and eat at the restaurant there. Not only a spectacular view, but the food was fabulous - fresh, local cuisine, reasonable prices, and a view - coming, going, and while eating - that is incomparable. The cable car ride costs about $30.00, but it's totally worth it - there's trails and a gift shop and - that view. Juneau is a very small town, but it has a lot to offer in the area - Mendenhall Gacier, whale watching, etc. I was there on business and lucky enough to stay a weekend. I don't generally get a lot of choices (my employer determines which ones I can use) when it comes to htoels, but I would definitely choose something else next time - and I'd check and see who owned the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolEPBayarea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Giving two stars instead of one only because we received a good price and the hotel is in a handy location, but poor quality will keep us from returning to this hotel.

The Westmark Baranof is in an old historical building so it is okay that the room was very small. That is to be expected in historical buildings unless the owners do a major remodel.

An "upgrade" got us a King size bed, but the bed was old and uncomfortable so we woke up each morning with aching backs. There wasn't even a nice plush mattress pad on the bed to help counteract the too old mattress. The pillows also were old and flat.

The carpet needed vacuuming and as soon as we entered our room we found a large toe nail laying on the floor between the bed and the TV, right at the foot of the bed. The corners, moulding, and fixtures need a good dusting, and splatters of gunk on the wall at the bathroom sink should be wiped away between guests. A light bulb was out in the bathroom light fixture. The bathtub was a miniature. I've never seen such a small tub! It was too small to bother trying to soak in because one couldn't even lay back but would have to sit straight up.

The window in the bedroom opened but it had no screen so even though the small room was stuffy and too warm, we couldn't keep the window open without bugs entering the room. The drapes were missing sheer panels behind the heavier drapes so we couldn't open the drapes and still have some privacy from the houses and the parking lot outside our room.

There also was no air system to turn on to cool the room or circulate the air, only a heater that we didn't need. At least there was a clean, portable fan that worked well we could turn on when we went to sleep. It was relatively loud but it helped.

Small, old fashioned TV, but it worked and we weren't in Juneau to watch TV anyway.

A reservation for two put us in a room with only two towels, one black tea bag instead of two.

The breakfast in the cafe was good if a little pricey, but pricey is normal for Juneau's historical district.

Despite the good price for the room, we won't stay at this hotel again. It is better to pay a little more to be comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lookwestward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

This hotel likes to market itself as one of Juneau's premier hotels, and its anything but. I have no complaints about about the wonderful staff, service, location, upkeep, or cleanliness of the establishment, but the rooms themselves are best described as nonsensical.

First, the layout of the rooms consists of a small space, with an overly large bed, storage bench, television, and tiny desk all shoved in one room. If you have any girth on you, its impossible to open a drawer or pull out a chair to work. Second, what should be closet space is an unusable nook with a microwave, mini-fridge, and sink right next to the bathroom, also with an impossibly cramped layout.

Second, the rooms have overly thin walls. If your neighbor is arguing with his wife, watching internet porn, or just snores, you are going hear every ugly minute of it. Its no wonder the FBI chose this hotel to sting corrupt Alaskan politicians, because if something is going on in this hotel its hard to avoid hearing it.

Third, there's no environmental controls in the rooms at all. If it's hot, you broil, if it's cold, you broil, because they heat the entire floor with central heat and the only way to regulate the temperature is to open a window.

So, this would be a decent hotel, if it wasn't for the fact that the rooms seem to have been designed by a midget race of aliens from a desert planet with no sense of privacy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBearAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed two nights, Sept 1 and Sept 4. While there were some paint nicks and rug stains, overall the rooms were clean, well furnished and very comfortable. Both nights were very quiet and we did not experience the noise some guests are reporting. Perhaps they had the misfortune of being there when a rowdy crowd was present. That can happen anywhere.
The staff was very courteous and helpful, even to the extent of storing our luggage when we arrived at 4:45AM on the ferry and then flew out that afternoon to Gustavus. On the night of our first stay, the Gold Room served us a King Crab Leg feast equal to any we have ever had even though it was not on their menu that night. Not many restaurants are willing to do that.
And what would a trip to Alaska be without enjoying the signature dish, sourdough pancakes? The Capitol Cafe next door with entrance from the hotel lobby opens at 6:00AM and serves the most authentic sourdoughs I have eaten since I worked on a track crew of the Alaska Railroad in the 1950s

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonDakota33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
7.2 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn
Silverbow Inn
#3 of 17 in Juneau
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Baranof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Baranof Hotel

Address: 127 N Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £85 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westmark Baranof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Largest hotel Juneau – Located in the heart of town. - The historic Westmark Baranof Hotel is centrally located in downtown Juneau within walking distance of the Centennial Hall, waterfront, cruise ship docks, shopping, state capitol and government offices. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. •Convenient Downtown Location•195 Rooms and Suites•Cable TV•Room Service•In-Room Coffee Makers•Channel and Mountain Views•Walk to Historical & Cultural Sites and Cruise Ship Docks•Gold Room Restaurant & Bubble Room Lounge •Banquet/Meeting Rooms•Fitness Center•Free Parking•Free High Speed Wireless Internet available in all Public Areas•Free Internet Access in Lobby for Hotel Guests•Westmark Guest Rewards•Alaska Airlines Mileage Plan•A FEMA Certified Hotel•Smoke Free Environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Westmark Baranof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Baranof Juneau
Westmark Baranof Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing