We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bar is real and the band tried hard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I actually thought the Alaskan Bar was fun. The bartenders were quick and friendly. The price of a vodka soda ($5) is a lot cheaper than say oh in Manhattan! And it was fun having a margarita and a Manhattan (the drink) in tumblers. The small band tried hard and did some good covers (well those I could recognize). And there were even some women in the bar. Until then I had assumed Alaska was only for boys. Both Yael and I got a bit tipsy so we left feeling quite positive about our Alaskan Bar experience.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

After a miserable time down the street at the cesspool/Dump of Red Dog Saloon (see review) we walked up the street to this warm and friendly crowd at the Alaskan. Great selection of beer on draft and we could have a free sample to try one we like. At Red Dog Dump I wanted to try a sample / taste of their Micro beer and the Bartender asked "Do I come to your house and ask for free beer? We bought 2 pitchers (Sorry red Dog) you did not get my money. and proceeded to have a great time with classy people. Blow off red Dog and come to a place that treats you like a friend.

we were here in Feb 2011 (Drop down Travel Menu only goes back to April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceskydup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I love the charm and decor of the Alaskan. Although, basic amenities are lacking (examples: Rented a Kitchen room with no dishes or microwave provided, could not get a hair dryer or an ironing board). It takes the right kind of person to enjoy the loppsided hallways, shared bathrooms and the unique vibe of downtown Juneau. Cheers Alaskan I'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are a bit different
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllAroundWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I simply am impressed with the management and staff. As historic as a hotel comes, conveniently located in the downtown area, close to restaraunts, library, shopping and nightlife. Upgrades/new carpeting, clean and comfortable beds with cable TV/High Speed internet and every thing you need to be comfortable and enjoy Junea, and at a price that is not matched by any other hotel in Juneau. I read the other review's, and have to totally disagree. Perhaps the high end, big money hotels would suit them better. I know this hotel to be a good experience, kind staff and a good nights sleep. Bear viewing has been my experience on top of the comforts here. You will not find a better bargain, or find more true genuine Alaskan's than here at the Alaskan Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robertinalaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

If you are looking for a Holiday Inn, this is not for you but if you would enjoy a taste of the Alaska goldrush days this fits the bill. The 100 year old hotel is authentically renovated with lots of carved wood, stained glass and period furniture. The location in downtown Juneau is excellent. Step out the front door and you are in the center of the action. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bar downstairs has live music and lots of charm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helene33145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I too stayed here after reading reviews about a lovely historical hotel in my travel guide. I booked room 311 which has it's own bathroom and kitchenette including microwave, fridge and stove. Rate online said $120 incl tax...not true. $134 after tax per night plus $50 deposit.
Be prepared to haul your luggage up the stairs with no assistance.
The hotel stinks. It is supposed to be non-smoking, but people smoke in the shared restrooms. The smell was making my kid's and my eyes burn. The halls smell bad. There is no moldy smell in this room though. The room has curtain rods, but one window is bare. There are no mosquito nets so you cannot leave the windows open at night. The room is quite warm...and the mosquitoes are huge! Closets are missing knobs, pictures have screws sticking out of them, handle of stove is loose. Bed cover is stained and does not smell very good.
There is no hairdryer available for use. The room has a scale though...in case you want to weigh yourself.
Laundry facilities are available, but the hot water to the washers has been disconnected. Load $1.50.Dryer $2.
This room does not have as much bar noise as one of the others.
Desk staff not too helpful and have limited English.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GinaUys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Why didn't we read TripAdvisor first?? We arrived at 7:30pm on a Wed night; no one was at the desk. Eventually a young man appeared and tried to help although he was not an employee (he later was the guy who parked his two bikes in front of the stairs totally blocking access). Later a young woman appeared and seemed to know a little and was able to check us in. Parking is two blocks away. Once the cruise shIps leave, the businesses close and the area becomes very seedy. No woman should stay there by herself. As mentioned before, there's a $50 damage deposit, the doors are locked at night, and no one is available from 2am-8am (at 8am an employee goes around knocking on doors to see if you've left - tells you something doesn't it?). The hotel smelled (like stale beer my husband said), it is not restored in anyway, when we opened the door to the room it crashed into the bathroom door, the bathroom door couldn't be opened all the way because it ran into the foot of the bed, there was very LOUD music from 9:30-12:30. When we went down to the desk to complain the young man there said we should just hang on until 12:30. There is no sound proofing at all! Our room was advertised as a kitchenette: apparently that means two electric burners with the cord wrapped in electrical tape, small fridge, microwave, no dishes or utensils or linens, NO COFFEE POT. Oh and by the way, NO ALARM CLOCK. The hotel could be quite cool with a little effort but obviously the owners don't want to put in the time. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spinachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 17 in Juneau
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#7 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
8.1 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
0.1 mi away
Silverbow Inn, a Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alaskan Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £63 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing