We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July in Juneau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Spent 4th of July in Juneau. This is a old hotel built in the 1900's. nothing fancy but, fun for a place to crash and convenient to walk everywhere downtown. No elevators and not for those expecting top of the line accommodations. The front desk folks are all international and a little hard to understand for instance I asked where the closest laundromat was only to find that I had coin operated facilities on my floor. There's a pretty happening bar downstairs with lots of live music, so worthy of a nightcap.

Room Tip: Pay extra to have a private bathroom, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pattislater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar in June and could not have asked for a cooler place. Great for the independent traveler. The location can not be beat. The room was comfortable and had the feel of yesteryear. The bar was great and a lot of fun with live music and nice friendly people. The decore with its stained glass lamps, rich dark wood bar and old pictures certainly brings one to imagine this gem in its heyday. Thank you Ken for a great stay. We would definitely stay at The Alaskan if we find ourselves in Juneau again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

(This review is for the hotel only, not the bar.) I recently stayed at the Alaskan Hotel on a quick visit to Juneau, and found it to be an amusing experience. The hotel will be 100 years old in 2013, and you can tell. The floors are creaky, wallpapered halls are like something from a horror film, and the rooms are cramped. On the upside, I didn't hear any noise from the bar, my bed was comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure. Don't expect any perks like tiny shampoos, but come with a sense of adventure. The hotel is located right downtown on Franklin Street, within easy walking distance of the shops, restaurants, aerial tram, and other highlights. For a traveler on a budget, this is a fun choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not directly over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrainReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Didn't have super high expectations given price for such a great location, and noting it is above a popular bar. However it is not a place to stay if you plan on sleeping before midnightt or 1am. Unfortunately the entire building vibrates with the heavy base in the bar (I was on 3rd level) until 1am most nights during the week, and much later on Friday/Saturday nights. Can easily overlook the odd-smelling room and questionable cleaning of linen for dirt cheap cost, but when you can't function during the day because of noise in the room, it is just not worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfit_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

So we get off the cruise ship and aren't much in a mood for doing cruise ship excursions. And after wandering around Juneau, visiting the Legislature building, finding an interesting used book store, and avoiding the tourist shops like the plague, we feel a need for someplace that actually seems local, interesting and capable of serving a beer. The place has clearly been around for a while. But that just makes the bar area interesting. It's actually a really beautiful back bar. And it happens to have friendly people, from the bar maid to the locals we ended up talking with. Good prices, nice atmosphere, and even had music the afternoon we were there. The guitar player / singer was about the size of a local brown bear, and seemed to be playing mostly for the double shots that seemed to come whenever he complimented the barmaid, but he also happened to be a good guitar player and not a bad singer. Highly recommend the Alaskan as a place to soak up some local color, to meet some very nice people and enjoy a beer or two.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I actually thought the Alaskan Bar was fun. The bartenders were quick and friendly. The price of a vodka soda ($5) is a lot cheaper than say oh in Manhattan! And it was fun having a margarita and a Manhattan (the drink) in tumblers. The small band tried hard and did some good covers (well those I could recognize). And there were even some women in the bar. Until then I had assumed Alaska was only for boys. Both Yael and I got a bit tipsy so we left feeling quite positive about our Alaskan Bar experience.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

After a miserable time down the street at the cesspool/Dump of Red Dog Saloon (see review) we walked up the street to this warm and friendly crowd at the Alaskan. Great selection of beer on draft and we could have a free sample to try one we like. At Red Dog Dump I wanted to try a sample / taste of their Micro beer and the Bartender asked "Do I come to your house and ask for free beer? We bought 2 pitchers (Sorry red Dog) you did not get my money. and proceeded to have a great time with classy people. Blow off red Dog and come to a place that treats you like a friend.

we were here in Feb 2011 (Drop down Travel Menu only goes back to April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceskydup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Juneau
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
7.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Juneau - Shell Simmons Drive
7.3 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alaskan Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £66 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing