We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like living 100 years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's like living 100 years ago”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel impossible renovated recently. The front desk staff was polite & tried to be helpful but could not help with the loud neighbor & the lack of internet connection. The bed was u shaped. I was locked out after 2am when the bars close @ 3am - yes, I enjoyed the night life! It is what it is - 100 years old.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank JLPBCPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your comment. The hotel now has 24 hour desk clerks on duty. I am puzzled about the lack of internet connection as we have wireless to all the rooms. Also, I spotted two rooms that had beds that seemed to collapse in the middle and replaced them.
Thank you for your insights
Bettye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    43
    20
    24
    32
See reviews for
21
40
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

any questions/ just write and ask me. decent room, shared bath.
shower.
for my 68$ per night, well worth it!
i had stayed for a couple of nights in a hotel and just didnt feel ok about it.
went out walking into town and came upon the hotel. had read about it. was weary because of
the bar scene potential.
walked bravely in, and after i saw a room, i went and got my bag and checked out of the "hotel"/
i was very happy about my change...

Room Tip: doesnt matter. i stayed on the first floor up the stairs. im a single female traveler. over 55.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buildingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Sometimes trip advisor reviews can be deceiving, but take these at face value! The downtown location in a historic hotel is priced accordingly, as it is a bit rundown and being above the bar is truly sleepless. Do note that most of the rooms share a bathroom down the hall.
Our first room was occupied with a sleeping girl when we arrived and the staff was nice to upgrade one of our rooms for the inconvenience. And the next morning staff was nice and understanding when we checked out after one night.
There are other downtown historic hotels if that is what you are looking for. Your experience and sleepwill be a better one for a few more bucks.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your comment. Just to let you know we are the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of Alaska.Since you stayed in the hotel the TV show "Hotel Impossible" on the Travel channel did a show on us and remodeled 8 rooms. This was a catalyst to continue with what they had started. We have quiet rooms toward the back of the hotel and on the 3rd floor.
Thanks again for your comment.
Bettye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Juneau hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I also thought I knew what I was gettng into.....historic hotels that claim to be restored are often not, and I expected it to not be great. This was a little worse than expected, tho. We reserved a non-smoking room with private bath. The lobby was beautiful - the old restored hotel we wanted. The stairs were beautiful for the first THREE flights. Then another flight to apparently reach the 3rd floor annex, which wasn't so nice. On the way by, we looked into the shared baths and other rooms. The rooms looked okay, but the baths were defineately not touched by restoration, and looked worn and a little dirty. Our non-smoking room with private bath was very minimal. The bathroom floor had been re-tiled and was nice, and they had very nice towels, but that was the end of it. Was not very clean, the carpet was scary, bed and linens worn out. There was one of those one-piece "kitchenette" units taking up a large portion of the room, and a microwave that had to be unplugged or it stayed on. Housekeeping arrarently didn't know we were there, and did not show up while we were out all day. Mostly, tho, it was just run down and not cared for. Also, Juneau is a cruise ship town. This hotel is located in the middle of downtown, where businesses cater to the cruisers. Way too many jewelry and t-shirt shops. Once those ships are out every afternoon, the downtown area turns into a pretty sad place. Lots of homeless, the nice places shut down and the dives get busy and the drunks pour out onto the streets. Quite uncomfortable walking down the sidewalks at night. Really no nice reason to be downtown at night, so staying downtown only makes you stay in, and the room doesn't welcome spending much time in. Better to stay at a hotel out of downtown and visit.

Room Tip: No elevator, and as typical in old buildings, the stairs are steep. Hauling much luggage isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lainey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
I wanted to let you know that the Travel channel show "Hotel Impossible" filmed a show on the Alaskan Hotel and remodeled 8 rooms. We have continued on with the remodeling that they inspired. We are the oldest continuously operating hotel in the state of Alaska so we are worth preserving.
Thank you again,
Bettye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I write this while lying here wide awake at 3 a.m. because the drunks, "music" and fireworks from the bar downstairs and the street make it impossible to sleep. Thursday night was bad but tonight, Friday, is impossible. The hotel is surrounded by bars, and drunks stumble around the streets even in the afternoons. The drunks in the room next door just came in, loud and obnoxious.
The staff is clueless and of no help. They stare at you blankly when you ask them a simple question.
The place is too shabby and run down for me to consider it quaint.
If you can afford an other place, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MSM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Two months after you stayed in the Alaskan Hotel, the Travel Channel show "Hotel Impossible" filmed a show about the Alaskan. They remodeled 8 rooms and we have been inspired to continue on with this. Sorry that you had a bad experience
Thank you for your comment,
Bettye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

i will start by stating that I did my research and thought I knew what I was getting into. A hundred year old bar and hotel celebrating its anniversary complete with thin walls, music until the wee hours, slanted floors, no elevator and shared bathrooms. What I did not expect was filthy 1960's style acoustic ceiling tiles that threatened to fall from their supports, a broken chair, windows that had to be propped up with cups to allow any ventilation into a musty, dusty room AND above all RUDE, LOUD staff. We were provided with a room that was below the staff housing. At twelve midnight when the stomping and yelling that began at nine pm continued we were told it was "Birds" After appealing to the front desk politely three times, nothing was done to accommodate our family's needs. In fact the noise and stomping increased in volume and it seemed someone was turning the faucet on and off over and over just to make more pipe noise. We requested our money back and were told no. It was so intolerable that I found another hotel by one am and moved my entire family out via taxi into a cold and rainy night just to escape this establishment. We can not say enough to discourage anyone considering staying here to find another hotel.

Room Tip: Do not go to this establishment, I would recommend asking locals for help. The Prospector Hotel just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lily405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Center great location, and very cool old vibe. Since we were not drinking we skipped the bar. The room was hidden on the third floor and it was ok. We enjoyed it even if we had some problems with the bathroom door and with the tv maybe with the micro as well if I remember well:-) But it was still fun and worth every penny. But dont expect any modern comfort.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beavisnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
327 reviews
7.3 mi away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#9 of 16 in Juneau
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alaskan Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Property: The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing