We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very helpful in hotel, especially regarding parking, rooms were clean, although with shared facilities. Bar had great selection of beers and very friendly staff. It was after if the whole premises has Bennett locked in time

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaki28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

First, I must say that I disagree with vardis3, who called this hotel a "smoker's paradise." I stayed here in May 2014, and neither the hotel rooms nor the public places smelled of smoke. The location is great, the rooms were as clean as 100-year-old rooms could be, the bed was comfortable, the towels were fluffy.

That said, the hotel is not fancy. If you are looking for a romantic retreat with mints on your pillow, this hotel is not for you. If you're traveling with kids, the rooms are probably too small for you.

But if you want an idea of how people lived 100 years ago, this place is interesting and has a lot of character. The next time we visit Juneau, we'll stay here again.

Room Tip: My travel guide said that the front rooms could be noisy (street noise), so we got a room near the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel was above expectations. Picked up at dockside by courtesy car, assistant at harbour ticket office works at the Juneau Hotel so expert assistance given. Reception at hotel was very friendly. Room consisted of full kitchen, sitting room with TV, washing machine and dryer, 2 queen beds and excellent WIFI reception. Only problem no wine glasses! Loved the shower curtain.
Great location very close to supermarket and downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Magpie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

i tried to stay here in 2009 , every room on every floor stank like 100yrs of cigarette smoke , it was horrible the odor permeated everything in the hotel , i really wanted to stay in a historical old hotel .... i just couldnt it - if your bothered by cigarette smoke odor dont go here

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank vardis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

I want to thank you for your comment regarding the odor of smoke in the hotel. I thought it over and have since made the whole hotel NON SMOKING. I have posted large signs in every room plus a penalty is charged if someone does smoke in their room.
Again thank you ever so much
Bettye
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I am a seasoned traveler who has stayed in all levels of hotels, from the high ends in NYC and Vegas to the budgets. I stayed in the Alaskan on my second trip to Juneau, just before they were featured on Hotel Impossible. Yes, the place desperately needs some TLC, but I will stay here again. I live in a beautiful home. When I travel, I just want a place to sleep and shower (I always take shower shoes). I want to spend my money on helicopter excursions to glaciers, not on a hotel room. This place is rich in history and character. If they continue the renovations that they started on the show, it will be a true gem. I WILL be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttu2479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel impossible renovated recently. The front desk staff was polite & tried to be helpful but could not help with the loud neighbor & the lack of internet connection. The bed was u shaped. I was locked out after 2am when the bars close @ 3am - yes, I enjoyed the night life! It is what it is - 100 years old.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank JLPBCPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for your comment. The hotel now has 24 hour desk clerks on duty. I am puzzled about the lack of internet connection as we have wireless to all the rooms. Also, I spotted two rooms that had beds that seemed to collapse in the middle and replaced them.
Thank you for your insights
Bettye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

any questions/ just write and ask me. decent room, shared bath.
shower.
for my 68$ per night, well worth it!
i had stayed for a couple of nights in a hotel and just didnt feel ok about it.
went out walking into town and came upon the hotel. had read about it. was weary because of
the bar scene potential.
walked bravely in, and after i saw a room, i went and got my bag and checked out of the "hotel"/
i was very happy about my change...

Room Tip: doesnt matter. i stayed on the first floor up the stairs. im a single female traveler. over 55.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buildingnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#7 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Juneau
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.4 mi away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#11 of 17 in Juneau
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alaskan Hotel & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £63 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing