We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay in an emergency”
Review of Breakwater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breakwater Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed here for two nights while my wife was in hospital. A grim looking run down place which is very noisy if you stay in a room overlooking the main road. It was very hot but there was a fan in the room. The bar was welcoming and the drunks were friendly!. Only Asian food or burgers etc available in the evenings. No breakfast at hotel so had a ten minute walk towards downtown to supermarket for food. Found out later the hotel is on bus route. I paid by credit card for three nights when I checked in. I only stayed for two nights and when I checked out at 10am the "manager" made as if he was doing me a big favour by refunding the charge for the third night. I shall keep a check that it is refunded on my credit card. Luckily I was able to make alternative accommodation arrangements in Juneau before we flew home. Local people I spoke to about the Breakwater Inn had good things to say about what it used to be like so I assume it has recently gone downhill. Only stay in an emergency.

Room Tip: If you have to stay then stay at the back. A half hourly bus service runs along Glacier Ave at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here for only one night coming from the East Coast and starting a cruise the next day. We had to get in a day early to make the embarkation on a Friday, June 8th. Unfortunately our timing couldn't have been worse. It seems that many cruises started the same day and many people stay over before the cruise. There was also a Native American bi-annual celebration taking place starting Thursday and running through Sunday. Every hotel room in Juneau was taken. We felt lucky to get a room at all. We were not looking forward to staying at the Breakwater Inn after reading the many negative reviews. Our room was not fancy but clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nothing special but adequate and clean as well. We were on the mountainside so we didn't have the street noise as many complained about. The on site restaurant was pretty sorry. Very limited menu and most of it Asian. Only one other couple came in while we were there. We ended up ordering a burger. It was less expensive than most of the hotels in Juneau. OK - for one night.

Room Tip: Definitely get a mountainside room. It is very loud on the harborside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

the only nice thing i can really say about this hotel is the view over looking the ocean.
other than that the rooms were old & run down with paper thin walls.
smokers from the pub were noisy as they smoked on the deck infront of our door too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This place used to be a good old fashioned, rocking joint! It was called Troxels for a brief period and was great! Six nights a week there was a line at the door. Now it is no more than an obvious attempt by the dude that owns the realestate to replicate what Troxels was pulling off. A crying shame that any local would ever step foot into this place. Try an go see Rob and crew down at the Hanger. They are just as consistent and as good as Troxels was.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skippy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We had a bad experience at the Breakwater Inn. Here is what happened:

We spent a totally sleepless night at the Breakwater Inn (BI) because of rowdiness in the next room (loud music, loud voices, arguments, pounding on wall, floor & furniture, etc.). Although we called the reception desk three times to complain, the noise continued through the night and was still going on when we got up at 4:00 am to catch an early flight. It got so bad that the police was called in and as we were leaving (5:00 am) policemen were escorting a woman out. When we asked the reception clerk for a refund for that sleepless night, we were told the manager would call us later. He never called. We sent him an email to explain what had happened and to request a refund. We got no answer. We wrote to him by regular mail and again we got no answer.

The BI advertises “Free Shuttle to the airport,” but during our stay that service was not offered before 6:00 am. If you need to catch an early flight, you will have to call a taxi. When you adjust the advertised room price to reflect this extra cost, there are better deals in Juneau.

Depending on where your room is located in the BI, your “No Smoking” room may be fed smoke from the rest of the hotel via the air system, and through your bathroom. We spent three nights with smoke coming through our bathroom. A week later, we were in a room which was apparently sheltered from smoke. But that was the room where we had to listen to noise all night long.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 154945Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Dirty, nasty, icky, gross. If you are a person with extremely low standards who doesn't mind a totally dirty place, you'll be ok. This is one of the worst places ever. The website is terribly misleading. The place needs a paint job inside and out. It needs cleaning inside and out. The "private balcony" statement is a total fabrication...they have one long balcony with a low railing separating one unit from the next. Avoid this place. We checked out 30mins after checking in. We only stayed that long in order to make other arrangements.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TroyD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Didn't get picked up at the airport because the young receptionist messed up names. Had to take taxi after hotel let me wait more than one hour at the tiny airport (how can you miss a arriving guest??). Not a sign of appology. Hotel promised refund of the taxi, but credit card billed showed the refund withdrawn AFTER I left the hotel one day later. Wifi only works at the reception, not in room, noisy room, very unpolite staff (but not all, depending who was at the desk).
A long way from the town. Next time I'd spend an extra 20$ for a most likely way better accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank France77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
0.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Juneau
0.4 mi away
Juneau Hotel
Juneau Hotel
#6 of 17 in Juneau
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Juneau
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#10 of 17 in Juneau
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silverbow Inn, a Boutique Hotel
7.1 mi away
Best Western Grandma'S Feather Bed
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Inn

Address: 1711 Glacier Ave, Juneau, AK 99801-1470
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Juneau
Price Range: £83 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakwater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Hotel Juneau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing